We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Setai Fifth Avenue exceeds expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #26 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Setai Fifth Avenue exceeds expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Setai Fifth Avenue (no relation to The Setai South Beach) is one of ten properties worldwide managed by Capella Hotels. The boutique hotel opened in late 2010 and is located in Midtown just steps from The Empire State Building and Bryant Park.

The Setai places a strong emphasis on service and style. Staff are universally attentive and guests receive a welcome call after arriving to ensure everything is to their satisfaction, rooms all come with free wi-fi and a turn down service which leaves nightly treats. Something I appreciated was the attention given to their furnishings which are both beautiful and comfortable; adding appeal to both the body and the eye.

The stylish amenities continue in the large bathroom which includes an oversized tub that even I could fit in comfortably, ample vanity space, and a soothing shower all within easy eye shot of a small flat screen T.V.

HINT: Business travelers will like the complimentary overnight shoe shine service (esp. when visiting NYC in the winter).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,488
    245
    79
    35
    22
See reviews for
493
689
71
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Came back to room after a long night out to find the room had not been cleaned...THOROUGHLY DISAPPOINTED and embarrassed to have to stand in our room while it is being serviced. To make matters worse Emir the night manager wants to fight with us. Way to go Setai!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank will463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for not having your guest room serviced prior to your return. We hope that despite this occurence, you enjoyed your time at The Setai Fifth Avenue.

We wish you a very happy new year!

Sincerely,


Anne-J. Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Setai. The staff were all quite professional and personable. Room service was delicious. Our room, a corner suite, was extremely clean and quiet. We appreciated the extra touches thanks to the personal assistants. Looking forward to our next stay in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahKNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Setai Fifth Avenue certainly exceeds the expectations. From the elegant decor to the fantastic service, this hotel is the prime choice for a mid-town stay. The rooms are spectacular, the staff is friendly and consistently goes above and beyond to make your stay the best possible experience. The food in the restaurant is spectacular, and their lounge provides a tranquil space while still providing a view of the city streets. My bartenders in particular, a girl named Emily and a fellow named Vinnie made certain my experience felt personal. I could not have felt more pampered and could not consider using another hotel after this experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InaraS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Excellent staff (they remembered our names from the moment our family walked in). Our original suite was overbooked, so we ended up in a much nicer suite (no complaints here). Extremely convenient location to Fifth Avenue shopping, restaurants, and subway system. Use the concierge, they worked magic throughout our entire stay. Regardless of whether we needed tickets, or merely a ride, the staff would go out of their way to make sure we were happy. Honestly will have trouble staying at any other hotel in the NYC area. Room service was superb. One of our family members forgot their toothbrush. We called downstairs and within 3 minutes, we had four.

For those who stay at this hotel, there's always a chance at a celebrity sighting. Our hotel neighbor happened to be Jamie Foxx, who was staying during his Django Unchained promotional tour.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 18-27 are suites. We stayed on the 18th floor in the one bedroom suite with a total...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breakonacloud-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Setai for 3 nights last week, as my company reserved a block for us. Although the hotel is not near Lincoln Center, which is where we shuttled to every day, I found the hotel to be a true gem. I have stayed at countless hotels in NYC and this is by far the best value. Loved the spacious rooms, modern furnishings and all the free offerings (mini bar, cookies, Internet, pressing). Regina/Chris in sales stayed all night to help coordinate my guests, and Brian/Matt/Louis from the front desk could not have been nicer. The door men were amazing- they assisted our last-minute transport needs with grace, special thank you to Joe, Mike and the security team. My boss is very hard to impress and he has already mentioned he would like to book again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank French1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day/3 night long weekend in NYC with wife and two (late teenage) sons. We stayed at The Setai and loved it. The rooms are surprisingly large for NY and beautifully appointed. All the staff were outstanding in their courtesy and helpfulness and the location is pretty good too!

A few tips:

* We all preferred to take breakfast in our rooms. For some reason it was just a better experience than the restaurant.

* Do use the concierge for tickets, restaurant and visitor recommendations. Everything they suggested worked perfectly and they enhanced our stay hugely.

* Don't be afraid to walk and when I say walk I mean stroll. Take your time, look around and you'll be surprised how easy it is to get to places on foot. Empire State Building is insanely close by, Madison Square Garden a short walk beyond that. Rockerfeller Center, Broadway and Times Square make an easy and fun circular route and you can stroll up 5th Avenue to Central Park and beyond quite easily.

* Subways are a nightmare to find if you're used to the clear signposting in London or Paris but once you done it once or twice you'll get the hang of it. The Setai is no more than a block or two in any direction from the subway.

* Taxis are a law unto themselves. You have been warned.

So....The Setai is just about as good as you can get in Mid-Town and every one of us would go back in an instant if we could. Enjoy!

Room Tip: 11th floor rooms on the Avenue side (1103 for example) have a broad wide, shared, terrace with a wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,177 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#18 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#21 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,183 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#58 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing