We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely PERFECT- Quality service one of a kind!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #20 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Absolutely PERFECT- Quality service one of a kind!”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Recently stayed at The Setai Fifth Avenue with my two daughters in April... I have not stopped raving about the fabulous experience we had at The Setai. After taking the red eye from the west coast the night before, we arrived in NYC at 6 AM which was not very pleasant. My daughter got sick on the airplane and we arrived at The Setai at 7AM and were greeted kindly and were allowed a very early check-in. We have NOT ONE complaint about our stay at the Setai. Complimentary mini bar refreshments in room, Nespresso machine, comfortable King beds.. everything was perfect and I will never stay anywhere else in NYC than at The Setai Fifth Avenue. Highly recomendad and well worth every penny!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ih1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,753
    283
    93
    39
    23
See reviews for
593
807
87
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2011

just back.excellent location.very nice aprtment suite.
very friendly and courteous staff.
would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j123coutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed 5 nights for an extended Easter long weekend getaway. Arrived at midnight. Check-in was a breeze. Immediately escorted up to our upgraded luxurious studio suite. Decor and furnishings were very much to our taste. Clean, sleek and modern Italian design. Lots of marble and panelling. Very spacious room, with the size of the bathroom/dressing room being almost half the room. Amazing Duxiana bed with Pratesi sheets--doesn't get any better than that in a hotel! As previous reviewers have already stated, loads of great little touches, from the Lorenzo Villoresi bathroom amenities and ultra thick and plush oversized bathroom towels, to the complimentary water and sodas in the mini bar. Oh, did anyone mention the comp pressing of 5 items upon arrival? Awesome HDTVs with loads of channels. Only fault was the inconsistent housekeeping service (the first day the room wasn't even serviced by 7 pm when we returned), but this improved greatly afterward when we complained. I must say that the staff all seemed like they really enjoyed working at the Setai. It showed.

Fantastic drinks at the bar. On the first night, we were able to get burgers and fried artichokes/fries at the bar after midnight. We were starving having just arrived from the West Coast. The food was delicious. Robbie at the bar was very friendly and a great bartender. Try anything he makes with cucumber--very refreshing.

Had dinner at Ai Fiori, the restaurant at the Setai and Michael White's latest restaurant, on Easter Sunday. Fantastic food. Amazing pastas. Beautiful room (IMO moreso than Marea). Very professional service. On this trip, we also ate at Le Bernadin, Eleven Madison, Esca and Quattro. Ai Fiori would be one that I would certainly go back to again. The pastas were truly memorable.

It was a real treat discovering the Setai. Very relaxed, unpretentious atmosphere. They definitely were sincerely very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GourmetTravel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

My spouse and I booked the Setai through Jet Luxury and saved a significant amount on the rates. We stayed 3 nights through the Easter long weekend, and we thoroughly enjoyed the Setai and it's central location. We walked to Times Square and the Flatiron district many times during our stay. The rooms were very modern and clean, and the service was mostly excellent. It's a little confusing as to what part of the building is a hotel, as there are residences in the Setai as well. In fact, our room appeared to have an owner's locker about the size of a closet. We don't believe there's a difference in service or access to hotel amenities by virtue of booking through Jet Luxury, or if all the hotel rooms have owner's lockers? The few issues we had with the Setai is that they're clearly not a five star hotel, so any mention of such status should be taken with a grain of salt. Maid service was spotty, and cleaning didn't occur until 5pm one day (and only after requesting a cleaning). Another time, a maid knocked on our door at 9:30pm to offer turn down service (you'd think that's a little late). On check-in, there's no designated waiting line, so it's a bit of a free for all to get attention. Another guest actually tried to bud in line and jump ahead of us to get served. The front desk clerks seemed oblivious to this chaos, as even one person behind the counter totally ignored the guests and continued to stuff envelopes. Another clerk simply walked away. The spa is fine, but not spectacular, as its a little sparse on decor. Maybe these issues are a litte picky, but if you want to be a five star hotel, such things shouldn't happen.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ggke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This minimalist chic hotel is perfectly placedon 5th avenue. Our room was hugeand excently appointed. We even had a separate lounge andkitchen.All possible creature comforts with perhaps the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Great views from the 19th floor and a bathroom todie for. The staff are courteous and helpful. We had one or two teething problems relating to the initial booking and final bill, but nothing which could dampen our experience. For sheer style andluxury The Setai should be highly rated.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2011

very nice rooms & suites. Almost no lobby. Food is mediocre and food staff seemed genuinely disinterested in their jobs -I haven't encountered that level of poor service in a hotel in years (not even in Paris). Very poor leadership.

Room Tip: ask to not face the construction site next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spalovvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The trip started off on the wrong foot - thanks to an error by Getaroom.com (stay away from this Website if you can) - as they had not coordinated the booking properly with the hotel. The Getaroom.com staff thought they could make it up by "we'll just cancel your booking, and allow you to book again" which was total nonsense, considering we were already at our destination (Getaroom.com Customer Service Agent, Gavin, felt that a 3-star property at the same price was a reasonable alternative).

Thankfully the Setai Manager, Grit, stepped in to negotiate with Getaroom.com, and accommodated us despite the mixup. She upgraded us to a suite which was the only room they had available (and maybe one of the few rooms available in NYC during this extremely busy period), and ensured that the rest of our stay was fantastic. Hats off to Grit and the Setai for their service!

I can't imagine that the Setai will continue to deal with agents such as Getaroom.com if they would like to maintain their 5-star reputation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIYatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 466 in New York City
4,022 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#28 of 466 in New York City
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing