We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gastropub on John St.”

Open Door Gastropub
Ranked #2,309 of 13,687 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Financial District
Description: The Open Door is a Gastropub, which is a pub that serves high quality pub food. We have an extensive beer list with almost 30 beers on tap and over 60 by bottle, many of which are hard to find. Our menu features duck sliders, truffle blue cheese fries, Monkfish 'n' Chips, Duck Confit, Salmon, Scallops, and Black Truffle Mac 'n' Cheese just to name a few.Hope to see you soon for a beer.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great gastropub on John St.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Terrific pub on John St. near Gild Hall hotel. very good food; not your average pub fare. Try the truffle oil french fries and the mac and cheese.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly Irish hospitality”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

There is a great selection of beers the wine is also good value and good quality. I had a fun evening with a couple of friendly locals at the bar. One a celeb. The landlord and staff are v friendly and make sure the right games are playing on the two tv s
The food was really good. Try the French burger and have enough beer before so you dont think of the ingredients. A smattering of French extravegance and what a result.
I did not try the Guinness but noted the glass settled too quickly for it to be the best.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcopolo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food, superb service”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Had a wonderful lunch at the Open Door - the steak sandwich was divine and served with lovely crispy fries and a delicious pomegranate martini. My companions were suitably impressed with their dishes and the service was top notch with everything arriving promptly and with a smile. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Chic and classy”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A very welcome and pleasant stop after intensive shopping! Bright modern high ceilings give a great airy atmosphere to the bar. Extensive selection on the food menu. Good variety for a family of 5 including children and portions were more than adequate. This place is sophisticated but still friendly and we found it very calming after the bedlam of the city. Lot of Irish staff and their friendliness and warmth added to the visit. No problem recommending this restaurant

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Orielpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food/Service/Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Fantastic Brunch that included a Bloody Mary. Large Omelet freshly prepared with great home fires with a hint of bacon. Fresh biscuits and a fruit salad made this the most perfect way combine breakfast with lunch. The Irish owner welcomed all the guests as if they were coming in for dinner at his house! He even sat at our table to shoot the breeze and then offered us a wonderful shot of 15 year old ALE. Wow, never in my life has the owner done this...especially to strangers. The service was professional, friendly and genuinely caring. The food was of high quality and presented beautifully. Without a question, I would head over to the Gastropub any time I am in the Financial District. It was the best way to start of a perfect Saint Patrick's Day!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gymguy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Door Gastropub also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Open Door Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing