We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asparagus time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Katja

Cafe Katja
Ranked #2,625 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Austrian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Asparagus time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Nice asparagus menu,the best thing about spring time. A party of four had all different dishes and we're all happy! Nice German beer or wine to go with it.

Helpful?
Thank Mikael Å
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Yeah! Good value and excellent service. Very loud restaurant though.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

This restaurant is LOUD! And cheezy music comes from the speakers which doesn't help the level of noise. We were all very happy with our food and the white wine recommended by our lovely waitress but I wouldn't go back unless they change the music which woud also help towards a nicer ambience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaValiente777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
417 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great Austrian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Small restaurant on Orchard Street in the now very hip Lower East Side of New York.There is a very active bar scene in the middle of the restaurant and tables, well spaced, all around. Our wait person was most pleasant and efficient, providing wonderful service.

We split 2 appetizers among the three of us. One was a delicious beet salad with goat cheese. The other was an excellent marinated herring with cucumber-potato salad in a mustard sour cream. For entrees we ordered the Austrian meat balls with roasted vegetables, wiener schnitzel and the buckwheat spaetzel special. Everything was delicious and the portions very generous.

We finished off with a delectable chocolate cake that the three of us split since we were so full but had to sample something sweet to end the meal. This was a real find and we all agreed we will put this on our list of places to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronco0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

My companion and I arrived at this restaurant with moderate hangovers. We were greeted by an extremely nice member of staff, who provided relaxed, friendly (but very efficient) service. The food was delicious, particularly the spätzle: the best you'll find this side of Salzburg. We passed on dessert as we were so full from the main courses, but were then treated to a complimentary shot of cinnamon schnapps, which rounded off our enjoyable experience. Many thanks to our server; unfortunately we didn't get her name. And well done to the chef: the food really was delicious, and beautifully presented.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuntJarrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The 'involuntary memory' of sausage will be triggered here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

If Proust wrote about sausages instead of madeleines, Cafe Katja would be the literary setting for its remembrance. Orchard Street looks a lot like the hip Marais district in Paris these days especially looking through the glass windows of this divine little restaurant. In fact the world seems better while sipping one of their refreshingly light tasting cocktails that perfectly lifts the meat-hearty menu. What a rainy day early feast we had--the sausages are sublimely light and herbally-blessed. I have had my guilty share of foie gras while living in Paris but Cafe Katja's liverwurst appetizer with red onion compote is a New Yorkers' dreamy alternative. You just must have the pretzel with it. Don't even question this point--slab the liverwurst on this warm, salty bread and you'll understand. The staff are dazzingly sweet. And the Underberg digestif at the end of the meal is invaluable. Not at all fancy, not fussy, Cafe Katja is welcoming-ly well done.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanT472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Katja also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Katja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing