We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #82 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Everything was perfect for my wife and I . The room was comfortable,super clean and quiet.
I don't know how they do it but this is not a small hotel, yet it feels intimate . I suppose the care the staff takes with it's visitors has a lot do do with it. Additionally, the restaurant is terrific, so you should at least try one meal on site.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogukulele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Rogukulele,

Thank you for the compliments!

Hoping to see you back again at Andaz 5th Avenue soon.

Best regards,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,679
    530
    168
    62
    35
See reviews for
516
963
147
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Picked this hotel based on trip advisor and location and not disappointed.

Location is excellent, very central, close to Grand Central for subway etc.

Lovely rooms, clean, very modern in design but please note that they don't have baths. Also a bit neat on hanging and storage space. Free wifi is convenient.

Staff lovely, complimentary tea & coffee, wine in the evening and minibar soft drinks are useful

As it is city centre, then road noise is to be expected

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gg13533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear gg13533,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review.

It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Next time try out one of our Splash suites with bath tub. They are really beautiful and extra spacious and have a gorgeous view of the Empire State Building!

Let me know next time you're around so I can say hi!

My best,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I like this hotel very much, and it's a good value for the price.

Key benefits: bright spacious rooms w/ high ceilings, great design, nice lobby area, very friendly front desk staff. Location is terrific right by Grand Central. Great bar in the basement, which is also where the gym is. Card key system in the elevators is good for security.

A few things I might like to see better: when house keeping arrived it was great service, but I had to ask repeatedly for housekeeping. Some nights there was no turndown at all. Also, be aware that in a standard room, there is very little storage space.

Room Tip: Avoid the north tower, which is a hike to get to. The higher the floor, the better off you'll be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TransConFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

After one terrible first night at The Quin Hotel we checked out immediately and tried Andaz for the first time.
The best decision.It ranks high on everything particularly cleanliness, service and amazing views. So good we even want to stay 2 more nights. I've stayed at more expensive hotels eg The London NY etc. Andaz beats them all. SUPERB! service from Isaac and Philip at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jisola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear JisolaR,

Thank you for the great feedback.
Happy to know that you found your new favorite hotel in the city!

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Coast
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just spent 4 nights at the Andaz and loved every minute! Unbelievable 2 bedroom apartment/suite on the 14th floor - spacious and modern with views of Empire State Bldg., Freedom tower, etc visible through the wall of windows - truly spectacular view. Staff is very welcoming and helpful and we loved having a little kitchenette with a fridge. highly recommend but definitely need to be as high as possible due to usual street noise.

Room Tip: Book as high as possible - the two bedroom suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairwind12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Fairwind12,

Thank you for your nice review.
I'm very happy to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed your beautiful 2 bedroom suite!

Hoping to see you again soon.

My best,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed at this property for one night for leisure. The room decor was very contemporary. I was impressed by the size of the shower and sink area. However, there were little imperfections that prevented me from giving a 5 star rating. The toilet didn't flush properly (I wasn't sure if I wasn't using it right, then realized it just wasn't working). Also, house keeping came at 11:15 am sharp (I wasn't aware of the "earlier" check-out time, I'm still used to a noon check out.) I called the front desk for a late check out and informed the housekeeper. I went back to snoozing and then was woken up 5 min later with a call from housekeeping confirming my late checkout. This seemed a little excessive. Also, front desk wasn't able to see that I was a Diamond status member at check-in and check-out. I'm not sure if this is because I booked the reservation through an outside agency (didn't think this would be an issue.) But as a result, I didn't get a lot of amenities offered to me upfront (late check out, free breakfast, etc.) I will return again if the opportunity arises and hope that my experience will be 5 star worthy!

Room Tip: Ask for the non-alley-way-garbage-pit view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saisailup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear saisailup,

Thank you for staying with us at Andaz 5th Avenue and for being a loyal Hyatt Gold Passport Diamond member. My humble apologies for not recognizing your Diamond status right from the beginning. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon so that we can make up for our faux-pas. Glad to know that you enjoyed the room and the hotel.

Let me know next time you're around so I can say hello.

Kind regards,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Aside from the one misstep on our way out, our two night stay was fantastic. Booked a terrace balcony suite that was a modern minimalist dream. Plenty of room, great views of the old library on 5th Ave. (Booked my brother a standard King. Was nice but modest.) Service in lobby and at front door was casual but warm and friendly. Location is perfect for theater, museums and accessing Grand Central for traveling further afield. GLARING PROBLEM: if you want breakfast between 10:30am and 11:30am in either their coffee shop or restaurant, your outta luck. They stop serving hot food for an hour. So breakfast before going to airport/train station requires going elsewhere. Major hospitality screwup for Hyatt. Breakfast is a 24/7 necessity when you're traveling internationally or transcontinental and having an hour when you can't get any hot food in a New York City hotel is unforgivable. SAVING GRACE: Ratna, the kindly Director of Rooms, had them briefly open the kitchen to make us two to-go breakfast sandwiches. That gesture alone is worth four-star rating. We'll be back in the Fall!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImLivingMyDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review and the compliments ;)

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

My very best,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,627 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4,018 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#121 of 467 in New York City
2,934 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#68 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing