We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #63 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The location is excellent - directly across the street from Public library and near the subway. The rooms are clean and stylish, and the shower is excellent. Very large room for NYC. The only criticisms are that the parking is difficult to find and the two-towered set-up does create for long walks to the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GG1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear GH1060,

Thank you for staying with us!
We're delighted to be your hotel of choice for your NYC visits.
Let me know next time you plan on staying with us so we can make sure to have a room in the main building for you! You can reach me at ratna.steden@andaz.com.

Looking forward to meeting you.

Regards,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    449
    134
    50
    22
See reviews for
407
827
120
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This trip was an introduction to NYC for our two daughters, ages 15 & 16. The hotel was absolutely perfect. The location was ideal, the four of us could easily walk everywhere we wanted to go. Both Times Square and Rockefeller Center were a quick and easy walk. The service was wonderful. Each staff member was extremely helpful and made us feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was beautiful--clean and elegant with a fabulous view. Our girls were thrilled with the free snacks, juice and tea from the mini bar! Thank you for helping us create a beautiful family memory!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a great stay at the Andaz. The room was very clean and spacious. We had an amazing view of the NYC Public Library on 5th Ave, and despite facing the busy street noise was not an issue. The staff was always willing to help with directions, recommendations or just about anything else we needed. We were greeted by Joy when we first arrived, she went above and beyond to make sure we had the right room, knew where we were going, had everything we needed on a daily basis...she was amazing. The location is also a huge plus...it's right in the middle of everything with a subway stop across the street at the library to quickly go uptown or downtown, and with Union Station a block away you can go anywhere in the City in minutes. The free snacks and drinks were also nice. We would definitely stay and the Andaz again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcaustin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

the room was large which is great for NY, we had two double beds which was strange, was expecting one large double as we're a couple. the bed was comfortable, slept well, did get some noise from outside. don't expect a view as you wont get one, floors too low for the hotel rooms-rest of hotel for business/apartments. room contemporary but too plain, shower room looked very classy. we got a good deal for the room months in advance on travel republic. agree with a previous comment that the room was too dark especially the bathroom. the shower door was a bad design, and a heated towel rail OUTSIDE the large shower cubicle would be better.
the location is nice but being wall street very business orientated with some meetings going on behind the service desk in the lobby. a female member of staff at the lobby desk was too busy looking at personal sites on the laptop to make eye contact when i had a query, i waited until she looked at me, made us feel if we were in 'suits' we'd have been treated more favorably.
the domestic staff were actually the most friendly and the room cleanliness was excellent. complimentary soft drinks and snacks was a nice touch, but no tea/coffee facility in the room.
would recommend the cocktails in the bar, a nice treat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is my second time staying here. Rooms are clean and showers fabulous. Wish bathrooms had more light. Staff fixed issue we had with stopped up toilet immediately. Free soft drinks and snacks in minibar and free coffee. Can easily walk to broadway shows. Great value for cost. Kid- friendly. We will recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mleleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My stay at Andaz was great. The room was really big for what I get in Manhattan at other hotels. The ceiling height also makes the room much more spacious. The overall interior of the room was also very well done. The Shop ( restaurant), In house dining ( 24hours) and the Bar in the cellar - my experience with all three was more than good. Overall loved the stay and am staying there again.

Room Tip: There is a good walk to the rooms in the Northern Tower. It's not a bad walk from one elevator t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Manjun,

Many thanks for the great review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you experienced all our food/beverage options! We look forward to hosting you again.
If you prefer to be in the main building, be sure to let the Reservationist know that when you reserve your next stay or send me a note so that we can update your profile information with your preferences.
Hope to say hello in person the next time you're visiting!
Best,
Cornelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband surprised me with a trip to NYC and when we pulled up outside the Andaz I thought it was a little unimpressive, the messy coffee shop on the corner and the huge, solid dark brown doors didn't inspire me at all but that was the last negative thought in my head. The lobby is a little trendy but the staff were very friendly. My husband had told them it was my birthday and we were given a complimentary upgrade to a 13th floor suite with a view of the Empire State, there was also a complimentary bottle of champagne in the room - I thought I'd died and gone to heaven. The living area was very comfortable and the kitchenette was very handy. The complimentary mini bar (not incl alcohol) was a lovely touch - the little bars of chocolate were very welcome after a long day of sight seeing! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very spacious with two sinks and a huge shower. The only thing was that the shower was either scolding hot or cold and it took ages to get the temperature right, I would also have liked a bath after a long day in the city but that is just a small thing, The hotel is perfectly located, just opposite the public library and just a short walk to Times Sq, Grand Central, Empire State, Rockefeller and of course 5th avenue shops. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view and if its a special occasion tell the hotel in advance they often upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahford31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear SaraFord31,

Thanks for the great review and I'm delighted to read that we helped make your birthday special.
The next time you visit, you may want to consider reserving one of our beautiful & spacious Splash Suites. Those suites have an amazing bathtub and oversee the NYPL.
Sorry to hear about the shower; that's definitely not normal. We have looked into this to ensure that it doesn't continue doing this in the suite that you were in.
Come back and see us soon!
Best,
Cornelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,084 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,512 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#68 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,543 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#55 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,677 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing