We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't say much to fault this hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #71 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Can't say much to fault this hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Pricey, but excellent. A room could set you back 600 bucks but then it is NYC! I used to stay here on business prior to moving to NYC and always enjoyed it. Good celeb spotting place too with lots of photo shoots held there. I got a suite once and it was sweet, bigger than the majority of NYC apartments! I wish they had some more chocolate in the minibar but I won't hold that against it. It's super modern-chic with nice staff. My only issue is that there isn't a great lobby to relax in, just an uncomfortable bench area that always seems to be crowded. Call me old fashioned but I also like some form of check in or concierge desk but this hotel has chosen to have staff wander about with iPads. But, it seems to work. I like it.

Room Tip: Get upgraded! Honestly, ask for a room on a high floor if you are sensitive to street noise cause it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,608
    505
    158
    57
    30
See reviews for
486
927
135
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

My first stay in this hotel was in the depth of winter and the hotel was an oasis of warmth. Great staff, tremendous suite, super restaurant, nice lounge and a great bar topped it all off. Sure the location is excellent, yes the suite was very well appointed but really what makes this property stand out in NY is the staff. From the Manager to the front desk and onto the housekeepers, everyone is nice, engaged and very VERY helpful. This is my new go to property n NY. It just gets everything right.

Room Tip: a suite upgrade is worth the splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinf8ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Kevinf8ca,

Thank you for your feeback! We're honored and delighted to be 'your perfect hotel in NY".
Hoping to see you again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Ratna Steden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent our anniversary in NYC and stayed at the Hyatt Andaz 5th Ave. The hotel staff was fantastic - they upgraded us to a loft and remembered all of our personal details when we were coming / going. The staff also surprised us with a bottle of champagne and chocolates. Needless to say the staff made me look like a great boyfriend - add on the Hyatt diamond perks - Breakfast, wine happy hour in the library and late checkout and this was a weekend made by Hyatt to remember.

Quality of the rooms 10/19
Service 10/10

My only regret is not being able to experience the bar downstairs as it was closed during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear justinhoff,

Thank you for staying with us on this very special occasion. Happy anniversary!
I'm glad to hear that you had such a great time.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Ratna Steden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

One week before my arrival I was contacted by the hotel asking for my time of arrival.

When I arrived around 6 PM my room was ready and check-in formalities took no time.

I was given a room on the top floor facing the New York Library - the view was amazing.

I have stayed at this property regularly in the past and the room had plenty of storage and the Andaz 5th Ave signature bathroom. When I build a house it will have a bathroom like this.

The hotel staff always greated me by name.

For breakfast I highly recommend the hot chocolate and strawberry orange juice.

The gym is equipped with all essential equipment and usually not busy.

During happy hour the hotel offers free wine and softdrink in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for Library view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msprenger001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a friend's wedding. I love the property and the location. It was our first stay at an Andaz property, so now I am hooked. I love the non traditional check-in and the friendly staff. I will definitely be back when I visit NYC next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the library
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Unfortunately I spent only one night in this hotel, my last one in the US before flying home. My first impression was not very good, though. There is no reception in the traditional sense, just a large table with laptops, served by the staff. I was asked to sit down and have a drink while I'll be checked-in. I was thinking please not another pretentious hotel that needs to reinvent the idea of hospitality. So I drank my cappuccino and waited and finally after approx. 15 minutes somebody came and accompanied me to the room. I have no idea what happened in those 15 minutes.

However, from there it went only upwards. My large loft was fabulous and LARGE. I loved the functional and minimalist design, the bathroom was a dream (and the folding bathroom door!), I enjoyed the footbath, the complimentary mini bar (very unusual), I loved the gadgets.

I liked the design of the hotel, the kitchen used for events, the Japanese style atrium, the wine racks in one of the meeting rooms (I could see all this from the hallway through the glass walls as I went to my room). I popped to the Shop restaurant at 10 p.m. for a quick dinner - the Roasted winter beets with kale & pistachios were to die for.

Overall, this is a grown up hotel that does not need any gimmicks to attract guests. The location is classic NY, close to the Grand Central (go to the Oyster Bar in the basement), to the Rockefeller Center, the Library is opposite the hotel. There is a good deli at the next corner.

I wish I stayed here longer. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend after Valentines day. The staff is very friendly, check us in right away, and we always find the staff helpful throughout the stay. The lobby is small, but have everything you need. I personally like the free phone charging drawer. You can lock it with your card, so you can leave your phone there, print your boarding pass, enjoy free drinks in lobby and read a couple books available on the bookshelf.

Location is just perfect. Close to everywhere, sitting next to the public library so it does not get noisy at night.

The room is above average. We stayed in the "standard " room, the bed is comfy and the room is reasonably sized. We absolutely love the complimentary mini bar. We also like their breakfast. It's not complimentary, but worth giving it a try.

I would say the shower area can be improved. The water does not stay at constant temperature so we need to keep adjusting. Also, the overhead shower head is leaking.

Would consider stay here again next time visit NYC.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Jeff L.,

Many thanks for the great review-in particular about our friendly and helpful staff!
Sorry to hear about the shower experience. We'll certainly looking into and fix the temperature inconsistency & leak. Would you mind sending me a note to cornelia.samara@andaz.com with the name on the reservation so we can find out which room you were in. Please also let me know the next time you're visiting so I can say hello and thank you in person!

Very Best,
Cornelia Samara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,267 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing