We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #71 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel is very good clean and also the room are eccellent. Is the second time that I'm going at this hotel and what I can say Always very good. If we can say something the location is no the best expecially for some one that want to use a lots the subway. But beside this very good

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickyus-newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,611
    505
    159
    57
    31
See reviews for
490
928
135
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

There are so many things that can go wrong with a hotel stay, the staff at the Andaz appears to have considered them all and gone out of their way to eliminate them. Annoyed by long waits at check-in? Staff greets you with a drink and you are on your way in less than five minutes. Need water to take medicine or want a bag of chips but don't want to pay $17? Open your room fridge and it's free (and good!). The hotel bar, restaurant and cafe are all delicious and great scenes. From 6-9 nightly there is free wine in the lobby, great before going out.Our room was #306 which was a king on the lowest floor with a street view (I am Hyatt platinum and we were staying on points). You do get the street noise but the room is large and the bathroom amazing. The location is ideal, easily walked to Central Park and a game at Madison Square Garden. One delightful final touch was the "parting gift" a choice a chocolates, New York memento or an aromatic hand sanitizer. Love this place and will come back soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarkChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear MarkChristopher,

Thank you so much for your review!
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time.

Hoping to see you back soon.

Happy Holidays,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Normally our favorite place to stay in the city is around the Central Park South area- 59th-60th Street so I wasn't sure if I was going to like this area as much. We LOVED this location since it is more centrally located and near the subway and shopping. Walking distance from the Theater/Times Square area. The rooms at this hotel are large compared to other rooms in the city too- they live larger because of the tall ceilings. Very modern furnishings and great amenities. The evening wine reception is nice to grab a drink before you head out to dinner or a show. The refrigerators in the room are also nice. Love the large bathroom also. We had the standard king room and loved it. Service is 5 star at this hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetogoAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
888 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 927 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our second Christmas visit to the Andaz 5th Avenue and all I can say is that this hotel is just perfect in every way. This time we were upgraded to a suite with a large living room and bedroom, of course, the beautiful signature bathroom, which was very much appreciated. The only downside was that the room was on the Library Avenue side of the building, but absolutely no complaint about the accomodations. Usually, when we're in NYC we always seek out the best restaurants, but the weather was horrible while we were there this trip so we decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant and that was even good. We followed it up the next morning with breakfast and that was even better. Hats off to Michael Kim, the General Manager, for assembling a first rate staff and top quality customer service! We'll definitely be back next Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was my first experience with the Andaz brand, and I have to say that my wife and I were very thoroughly pleased with our four night stay. The Andaz 5th Avenue is located in a great location right across from the NY Public library / Bryant Park. Grand Central Terminal was very close by, and Rockefeller Center was fine for a walk even in the rain. With easy walking access to many sites and to the subways, we were able to cover a lot of ground yet were always within close enough proximity to return to the hotel to drop things off, take a rest, or change before heading out in the evenings for dinner. This was key for us to make the most of our trip!

Service at the hotel was very professional, and the hosts downstairs were always willing to assist with anything when asked. Drinks were offered at check in and wine was available in the area adjoining the lobby in the early evenings. Housekeeping was very attentive and the rooms were kept very clean and well stocked. There are snacks in the room (chips, chocolate, an energy bar) and non-alcoholic drinks in the fridge are free, which I enjoy having available. I believe Andaz tries to use local/regional products and the C.O. Bigelow bathroom products were first rate.

Housekeeping checked in a few evenings while I was in the room, and it was convenient to be able to request a few extra towels, etc. when needed. If I wasn't in the room and I didn't leave a do not disturb sign on the door, the bed would be turned down in the evenings. I usually travel with a tube of toothpaste that has been mostly used to reduce some bulk and I will often throw it away so I don't have to bother bringing it home. The housekeeping staff noticed that my toothpaste was low and left a new tube of Aquafresh for me which was a nice touch.

In summary, the hard product is great and the location is reason enough to stay at the Andaz 5th Avenue. The hotel is well run and the people definitely care about your experience during your stay. We would return here again for our next stay in New York!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xHypex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I stayed here for an overnight in December. Great mid-town location with keen staff who anticipate your needs. Room was loft style and very contemporary. Flexible checkout time for Hyatt Rewards guests. Car valet very facile to use. Restaurant fare was good but service was a bit disjointed. We would return to this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vjnitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I took our 11 year old grand-daughter to New York for a long weekend. We stayed at the Andaz and were very pleased with the hotel. The beds, pillows, and linens were fabulous. We were upgraded to a suite when we arrived, which was very spacious. The bathrooms were beautiful and spotless. Our grand-daughter loved the complimentary snacks and beverages. The only disappointment was the lighting, especially in the bathroom. The location was great. We were away from the crowds in Times Square but a short walk took us nearly anyplace we wanted to go in mid-town. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was right across from the elevator and we didn't hear a thing. If you have a family, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,283 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing