We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“2nd review of this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #59 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mount laurel
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“2nd review of this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here last November as well and have to say that I love this hotel even more than before. Great staff, very friendly and helpful, nothing is a bother. We had a balcony suite on the 14th floor with a view of the NY Public Library. Nice amenities in the room, free soda, waters, snacks, morning paper(s), great bathrooms etc.(this comes with every room no matter the type). The location is great for theater or shopping or both in our case. Not the cheapest hotel but well worth the extra $.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    468
    136
    51
    23
See reviews for
431
855
123
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
600 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Over the years I have stayed in about 20 hotels in New York, some better, some worse. Lately I have grown to love and appreciate the Andaz hotel chian - I love the way they do things.The Andaz 5th Avenue is my favorite NYC hotel so far. The location is perfect: 5th Avenue at 41st Street, right accross the street from the NYC Public Library and Bryant Park, 5 minutes from Grand Central Station, a 10-minute walk to Times Square. The staff is young, energetic, and, most importantly, SMILING, PLEASANT AND HELPFUL. This does not feel like a huge, impersonal hotel. Our room, a Splash Suite, was HUGE, modern, elegant, with the centerpiece being a huge, kidney-shaped, free-standing bathtub situated in the middle of a huge dressing area. My favorite Andaz amenity: the FREE mini-bar, which is restocked daily. I love a hotel that does NOT charge a guest $8.00 for a bottle of water. The restaurant was, at first glance, a bit unusual, but after exporing it a bit we found it is a small farm-to-table restaurant. We ate 4 meals here and all were wonderful. Hearty, healthy breakfasts, strong coffee and delicious lunches, all with an emphasis on organic ingredients. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our suite had huge windows overlooking the iconic New York City Public Library - a million-dollar vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 493Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
275 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stay at Hyatt's all over the U.S. and have stayed at other Andaz properties. This was a nice hotel. My only significant complaint is that they don't have valet parking. We drive in from CT to NY all of the time and would definitely select a property that has parking versus one that doesn't. The staff was very attentive when we arrived. We were staying in a suite on the 14th floor and opted for a late checkout option. The room very spacious by New York standards. The shower was great! Light switches were a little oddly placed. I'm sure there are rooms you could request that provide you a nice view of the library.
The hotel is located in a convenient nice location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santucci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Santiccui 1,

Thank you so much for your nice comments about our hotel!
Great to know that you enjoyed your stay!

I'm so sorry to hear that you weren't explained our valet parking options. We actually offer this service to our guests! Next time you visit just approach one of our hosts and they'd be happy to help!
Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,
Ratna

Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Probably one of the best hotel in midtown manhattan. Very modern, friendly employees, comfortable and spacey rooms (rare in NY) and great location on the 5th just in front of the Library. The rooms are well equipped, bed really comfortable and well isolated from the street noises (a real luxury in NY). Even the check-out was a great experience (fast, friendly and a departure gift!). A little bit expensive but worth it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NomadeModerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear NomadeModerne,
I love that you had a great time with us!
You have a new home in NYC at Andaz 5th Avenue.
Hope to see you soon.
Be sure to ask for me next time so I can say hello in person :-)
My best,
Cornelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

By far, the Andaz 5th Avenue provided the most pleasant stay I have ever had in NYC. Check-in was a breeze. No waiting. Any staff member on the ground floor can check you in, take your luggage, or assist you in any other way. The standard room felt the exact opposite of cramped. The decor was modern, sort of like a Fifth Avenue boutique except that it is your clothes that are on display! The bathroom, featuring a double sink and separate toilet area, is enormous. The rain shower head coupled with the 12-foot high ceilings will have you off-and-running before your wake-up call. Although on a very busy street, the room was eerily quiet. And, hardly a peep from the hallway since a room key is required for elevator access. The light switches are really cool. Just press the name of what you want lit and voilà! I raided the mini-bar the second I got into the room and enjoyed every offering (apple juice, iced tea, soda, still and sparkling water, kettle chips, chocolate, and other snacks are all complimentary). The lobby lounge offers free wine in the evening, free coffee in the morning, and walnuts all the time. You even get a token gift of your choice (chocolate-covered Oreo, magnet, or hand sanitizer) upon departure.

Room Tip: While billed as 322 square feet, the standard Andaz King is cavernous and provides ample space to mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guestson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This centrally located hotel is very modern and the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. A must try is the free wine available each night between 6 and 9. Would definitely consider coming here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a great stay here. For Midtown it's a bit chill which we appreciated. The lobby staff works out of a kiosk in the middle of the lobby which makes for a botique/cosmopolitan atmosphere. The room is easily one of the biggest you'll find in NYC.

The location is nice if you're looking to spend time in Midtown with easy access to the subway.

Finally, the staff was very helpful for the entire stay and brought us complimentary champagne since we were celebrating our 5th anniversary.

I recommend staying here if you're in the Midtown area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west/north side face the chaos of 5th Avenue so keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 02Hoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,184 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,607 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#63 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#56 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,850 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#21 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing