We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another nice stay at the Andaz!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #67 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another nice stay at the Andaz!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite (2 couples) and it was excellent...complimentary champagne in the room to celebrate 2 of us turning 50 (requested by a friend and the Hotel obliged). Free soft drinks in minibar....free Wifi! Joy in reception was a fantastic host and nothing was too much trouble for her. A little expensive (it is on 5th Av so I guess you pay that for a good location). But all in all another great experience staying once again at the Andaz!

Room Tip: we were on the 10th floor and had no street noise at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,590
    496
    156
    56
    28
See reviews for
478
918
134
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We loved the room that was spacious and had high ceiling and huge window with a view of the NYPLibrary. It was definitely worth spending a little more to upgrade and get a room with the view. Also appreciated were the free Internet and minibar. There was not much closet space and the bathroom was a bit user-unfriendly. I had to kind of figure out how the shower works and I wished that the glass door was just a bit wider.

As it turns out, I left my iPad in the room when checking out. I called the hotel that night upon realizing this and it was handled most efficiently. Karmen from the housekeeping dept. was extremely helpful and professional in returning the iPad to me. Thank you so much, Karmen! You saved my day!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hkim41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I had very high expectations of this hotel, having read the great reviews online. The problem with overly high expectations is that few hotels can meet them, but this one actually did!

I loved the concept - no large lobby to remind you that you're at a hotel. It felt like you were going somewhere familiar, and the small size of the hotel helped staff recognize guests easily, which added to that sense of homecoming.

We got an Andaz large loft, which is actually a mini suite with a separate living area and a view of 42nd street. Great room with high ceilings that added to the illusion of space, which is especially welcome after a day out in the very crowded city that is NYC.

We had breakfast both at the restaurant and via room service, and the food was consistently good. I especially liked the lemon pancakes and the Greek yogurt with roasted pear.

Many thanks also to the staff who work here, all of whom were exceedingly friendly. Couldn't catch any names because they don't wear name-tags, so apologies for missing out on the few really exceptional ones!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinsgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

First time in New York and decided on Andaz 5th Avenue after reading so many good reviews. Stayed for 7 nights. The layout of the lobby is quite unique especially the check-in area. The room is great too and our room comes with free mini-bar and wifi. However, we find the glass wardrobe kind of small and after hanging both our thick jackets, there's not much room for the other clothes,

The bathroom is nice too with a big mirror and two basins so we don't have to fight! My only two complaints are the squeaky wooden bathroom door (kind of eerie at night) and the shampoo/condition/shower gel bottles (they are very slim bottles with a small base and they keep falling off the shelf in the shower area).

The location is great, walking distance to everywhere and we did not even need to get on the sub-way, we just walked everywhere and there was so many things to see along the way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovethebeach06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

As a Hyatt elite I was upgraded to a Large Suite. It was terrific. The service was superb. The location was fabulous. And I loved the food and service in the restaurant at breakfast. All in all I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I prefer the Large suite to the more expensive Splash suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredtraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at the Andaz 5th Avenue for two nights in mid-May and had a wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They accommodated my request for a quiet room at the end of the hall. The room was enormous and you couldn't hear a peep of noise. The room felt luxurious, with hardwood floors and a huge spa-like bathroom. The Andaz is very smart to provide free beverages and snacks in the mini-bar, as this probably costs them a very minimal amount but makes you feel indulged and appreciated. Anytime we needed anything (ice, a new hairdryer), they accommodated it immediately. Hyatt is almost always very attentive to service and this was no exception. We were always greeted at the door and throughout the lobby by all of the employees. My only complaints: The bed was really firm (I prefer a softer one) and the lighting is really bad in the room and the bathroom. Also, the shower looks nice but its so big (and has no door) that its hard to maintain any warmth. It looks useful for a two-person shower but they need to have shower heads on both walls instead of one big rain head and one wall head. If you run them both, you have to turn the water scalding hot on the wall-mounted head in order for the tall rain head to be warm enough. Its just not a well-excecute shower design even though it looks really nice. But overall, this hotel is one of the best in NYC. I've stayed at many and this is probably my favorite now. If you want to be in midtown, this is a fantastic location with great service and very nice rooms.

Room Tip: If you're noise-sensitive, ask to face the interior and ask to be at or near the end of the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear ginaing,

It is great to hear you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel. We are here for the sole purpose to make your stay memorable. I'm glad to see we were able to accommodate your request for a quiet room. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the bed and the bathroom. This is something we are looking into. Next time you stay with us please let us know ahead of time and we would be happy to try to make your bed a little softer. We look forward to welcoming you back to our home soon!

Joe

P.S. I love your Room Tip. Those are definitely the quietest rooms in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at this property for 3 nights in May 2013. Overall, the property presents well and is well maintained. Staff are friendly, helpful and accessible. The layout of the hotel is simple and different from conventional and traditional hotel lobbies. The hotel common areas are quite beautiful, spread out on 2 floors and comfortable. There are many opportunities to find a quiet place to settle and relax. For guests, the hotel provides complimentary hot and cold drinks in the lobby area, lots of reading materials, and at dusk, complimentary wine and networking opportunities. The restaurant is simple and well laid out. The menu is easy and uncomplicated. The food is well prepared and presented. Staff are friendly and helpful. Overall, a nice place to have a quiet or social meal.
Room:
· I stayed in a Large Loft room in the north tower that overlooked 42nd street. This room is quite spacious and the high ceilings certainly added to the bigness and brightness of the room. The windows were huge and tall and wonderful. As much or as little light to flood the room. The layout was simple and easy, with a fantastic and well thought out bathroom. Good size shower stall, 2 sinks, and enough amenities. Overall, the room had simple pieces of furniture that were functional and comfortable. The room didn’t feel cluttered. It was enjoyable to stay in this room type.
· The downside of the room was that there was very little storage space to put away things. Also as the shower stall does not have a door, it can get cool while showering.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HuarenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,214 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing