We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great rooms, and great service”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #87 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I spent 5 nights with my family here, and it was definitely a great overall experience. The staff are very friendly and really did take the extra mile to make our trip better, special mention to Joe (Johanson) who was exceptional!

The room we got was huge and very comfortable, and the location is probably the best thing about the hotel. A nice walk up 5th Ave to Central Park with the family or just cross Bryant Park to Times Square and even the walk down 5th to soho is pleasant.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuarterQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,559 - 1,565 of 2,588 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Rather than check in by standing in line at the reception desk, you'll be "adopted" by a host when you walk in the door. He or she will escort you to the lounge area, then run off to a nearby computer to complete the check-in process while you slurp down a cup of coffee. The Wi-Fi worked fine from my room. The room decor can probably be best described as Euro-modern: sort of an upscale version of an Ikea showroom. Everything is new and immaculate. The rooms are not enormous, but that's to be expected at any NYC hotel. They're perfect for a business traveler, with separate sleeping and working areas with a functional desk. The west side location is convenient to anywhere in mid-town. One warning: the hotel's website claims that the bathrooms are lined with travertine, but they actually appear to be onyx - just in case you're an obsessive-compulsive geologist.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hello MJPlante,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent trip to our hotel. It's great to hear you had an enjoyable time at the hotel and New York City. We definitely take great pride in providing you with warm and genuine service from the moment you walk into our home until you leave. For those who happened to be geology enthusiasts the stone in the bathroom is Inca Grey and the upper portion is Red Travertine. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff in this hotel are friendly , professional and helpful. We arrived at 5 am and they managed, with some creative thinking, to sort out a room for us so that we could have use of it after our flight. They managed to book restaurants for us that we had not been able to. The restaurant has wonderful food and the staff in it were lovely. The breakfasts are so good that we came again even after we had moved on to another part of town. the staff still remembered us and we got the same lovely attention. Really, I can't pay the staff in this hotel enough compliments! The rooms we had were a really good size and the bathrooms beautifully designed with good quality products. Cleanliness of a high standard and the fact that you didn't have to pay for non alcoholic drinks and snacks is a nice touch. In general this hotel feels generous and they are clever in not charging extra every time you want a drink. The location means that you can walk to the theatre district, shops and restaurants and having the Central Library across the road is classy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were visiting NYC for our honeymoon and decided to splash out on a king-size view room – totally worth it!

Pros:
* Huge room with king-size bed, comfy sofa.
* Brilliant location – corner of 42nd Street and 5th Avenue, walkable to everywhere.
* Great view looking down on to the Public Library – plus the windowsill was really wide and great for sitting and people-watching.
* Free wifi and non-alcoholic bit of mini-bar.

Cons:
* Very expensive food from room service and the restaurant downstairs – it wasn’t a huge issue for us, as we were eating out for every meal (but the expensive burger on our first night didn’t even come with fries!).
* Not much wardrobe space - again, okay for us, but might be a problem if you have lots of clothes to hang.
* The rooms are very plain and I agree with a previous review that even one black and white photo would make a real difference.
* My new in-laws decided to surprise us with champagne and nibbles. However, we weren’t told that we had this coming and it was all delivered when we ordered room service on the first night. I’m not sure when they would have delivered the stuff if we hadn’t ordered room service, so just a wee message that we had these items waiting for us would have been appreciated – we could have then decided when we wanted them.

In summary, the bad points are really nit-picking and I’d highly recommend the Andaz 5th Avenue to anyone staying in NYC.

Room Tip: Recommend a king-size view room, looking over the library
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Andaz. Staff were very helpful, room is very nice with modern style furnishings and twice daily housekeeping service. Free to raid the minibar at no charge except for the alcohol, including a Nepresso machine and espresso pods that are replenished daily. Our room included a small kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher.

Location is great. Right across the street from the beautiful New York Public Library and Bryant Park. Grand Central Station just a couple of blocks away.

Only negative I encounter was the ridicously high prices on the room service menu. I have stayed in a lot of Hyatt Hotels, at all levels, but this made room service so expensive, we got up and went out to breakfast.

Highly recommend the Andaz, except for room service.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kevinprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have never had such a poor stay at a Hyatt hotel. Basic requests like reservations for brunch at the restaurant were denied even though the place was no where near full (I was told this was because they didn't take reservations for brunch, even for in house guests). Staff took ages to deal with simple requests such as sending up some extra bath gel when I had run out. They kept trying to push the car service on me, which I thought was hardsell done in very poor taste of an overpriced service - especially when cabs and public transport as so easy to be had in the city. The "hosts" where arrogant and scoffed at me when I requested for direction using the subway - as if it were beneath them to do so. If you are a Hyatt loyalist, there are better options in NYC to explore.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank indianguy380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear indianguy380,
Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your stay in November. I cannot say how sorry I am for the perception we portrayed while you were with us. It is never our intention to push services onto a guest. Our goal is to provide every guest with uncomplicated and friendly service. This was not the case during your stay last year.

Please reach out to me at the hotel if you would like to discuss further. We would love if you would give us another try.

With warm regards,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The minute I walked into the lobby, the staff eagerly welcomed and assisted my family to check in to the reserved suite. The suite was very big for NYC hotel standard. What I love about this hotel was the cleanliness and the complimentary of free wifi and all the beverages. Everything is free except alcohol drinks. We really had good sleep as the beds were so comfy. The sofa bed in the living room was also great and comfortable. We ordered room service for breakfast and late night snack. The food were delicious. The rain shower was also great. One thing that I would like the hotel to add is "a shower cap". There was none. All in all, I have made a great choice on this trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRNTBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hello TRNTBangkok,

It is wonderful to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at our home. We take great pride to ensure all guests have a relaxing and memorable stay when they visit. I am glad that you were able to enjoy some of the complimentary items we provided as well as Room Service, the chefs here do an incredible job. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

have a wonderful day,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#145 of 471 in New York City
3,057 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 471 in New York City
6,708 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#30 of 471 in New York City
4,304 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $277 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing