We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious rooms, friendly staff”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #94 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, spacious rooms, friendly staff”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Andaz and first time for New York.

Pros:
- Staff always available to help check-in or to get us complementary water, coffee, wine.
- Suite is spacious with long couch, very large tvs, large bathroom.
- Excellent location. Walking distance to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue, Grand Central, MOMA
- Complimentary water, soda, chips, chocolate is nice touch. Refilled each room cleaning time, but only enough for 2 people.
- Breakfast is excellent in restaurant, but not room service. Lattes are delicious and lemon souffle poppyseed pancake is must-have for foodies.
- Nice gym with new machines, headsets, and tv on each machine. Very clean and not crowded in the mornings.

Cons:
- No door to toilet. We figured to close the entire bathroom doors, which was 4 doors.
- Have to ask for water at front desk each time. Was kind of annoying. Wish they just left some out for us to take at our leisure.
- Dark bathroom made of back tile.
- Housecleaning did not replenish our toiletries.
- Staff is not warm. They are competent but have NY vibe.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,658
    529
    166
    62
    35
See reviews for
508
958
142
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here during Christmas week for a 4 day visit. We had reserved a Splash Suite, but they upgraded us to a Two Bedroom Suite which was amazing. The rooms were good size and the bathrooms were quite large. While the big open shower looks inviting, not having a door makes it difficult to keep the place warm.

The decor is very modern and european style including touch lighting and a master switch to turn everything off as you leave. The beds were very comfortable and service was always done on-time.

The location of this Andaz is wonderful and very convienent to the subway, Grand Central and many other places.

The lobby area has free coffee and hot chocolate with a Cafe for buying things to go. They also have a free happy hour and free drinks and snacks in the room which was a nice addition.

The two areas where they could improve are valet parking and and a concierge service. When arriving, it was difficult to find someone to help with Valet Parking. It is also difficult to find the hotel entrance as it is not well marked. While everyone was very helpful, they don't have a Concierge desk and the few times we asked questions, the information we got was not very good.

Overall a great place and would highly recommend to anyone traveling with kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bw411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just finished a four night stay at the Andaz 5th Avenue. The location was great. The staff was very efficient and friendly. The suite was huge. In addition, our two teenage boys had no complaints about the comfort of the sofa bed. It was as comfortable as any bed would have been. Overall, the suite was great, only the lighting could have been improved. The bathroom was the largest I have seen in Manhattan. The complimentary food and drink in the kitchenette were much appreciated. I would definitely recommend the Andaz 5th Avenue and plan on staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: High Floor facing Library Way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have tried many different hotels in NYC, and i have to say this one is extremely disappointing. For the same amount of money, you can get much better.

What is good about the hotel? Rooms are nice and big, and very clean. Very modern as well. Nice complementary beverages and snacks. And yes, this is on 5th avenue.

What is missing? The service is inexistent. They want to be super modern and funky by not having a reception...but that does not mean that clients should not be treated with excellence. When you get there, you have the impression that you enter a hall of a station. There is NO ONE to open the heavy door of the hotel, NO ONE to carry your luggage. I had done specific requirements about the room...none of them had been taken into account. The hotel philosophy should be revised...yes you can be modern, but that does not mean that service should not exist. They should also hire much more qualified folks. Last but not least, i am a hyatt gold member.... we did not receive attention. I told one of the staff member that my boyfriend and i were here for our anniversary....no attention whatsoever. There is more service and attention in a two stars hotel.
Then, beware, yes, it is at the heart of manhattan but this is SOOOOO noisy. Yes, NYC is noisy...but believe me this hotel is terrible from a noise pov.
I will not go back to his hotel nor will recommend it. For the same price, Crosby hotel or Setai are far better choices.
That s sad cause this hotel could be really fab.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing 42nd street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank STEPH_PARIS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was our first stay in this hotel in Manhattan. Beautiful modern design with many features (lighting, architecture) that are fun to discover. The pictures on Tripadvisor are quite realistic - the bathrooms are spectacular with a black slate / red granite theme as are the common areas. Free wine bar in the evening and snacks at the room are a nice gesture. Beds are comfortable and street noise in the room was minimal after we figured out that the windows had not been closed all the way. The fan / heating unit was quite loud though. Altogether a very pleasant experience and good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllieAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Wow, we really couldn't have asked for anything more from this hotel. We were checking out and another guest and I were talking about how we wouldn't have found this awesome place w/out Trip Advisor. The location is perfect for all tourists attractions in NYC and the 7 subway is literally a half block away and Grand Central is 2 blocks away.

From the moment you walk in you are greeted with coffee and water and there is no "front desk" but rather a station w/ mac computers where the "host" checks you in and answers any questions you have during your stay.

The rooms are great and worth upgrading to the "King View" so you can see the library and 5th avenue. The iPod docks are a nice touch as well. The free drinks also are that extra touch you aren't going to get at other hotels.

This was really one of our best hotel stays in the U.S., and the service here at this hotel is what makes the difference. Don't waste any more time looking to find the NYC spot, this is it!

Room Tip: The rooms are great and worth upgrading to the "King View" so you can see the library and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NachoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a great property in Midtown. We two different rooms different rooms during our stay. The first room was in the North tower, which was quite inconvenient. You have to go through the conference area to get to the north elevators.

The second room was the Andaz Suite. It was nicely appointed room, but the best part about it was the bathroom. From the foot soaking bowl to the bath products, everything about the bathroom was awesome!

Lemon poppy-seed pancakes are must haves at the restaurant. One of the best pancakes ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vuguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,590 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
3,982 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,917 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#122 of 467 in New York City
2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#51 Green Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing