We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #86 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Andaz is a unique hotel in so many ways. The rooms are gorgeous, the service from check in to breakfast excellent and the location is fantastic. The GM is Australian and you can see he has added little touches such as a good cup of tea that can really make a stay. The whole stay was seamless. I loved the free mini bar and wi fi. Nice work. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Views on 41st ave quieter than 5th
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,814 - 1,820 of 2,600 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

My firm is just down the block and having tried the three nearby hotels (Grand Hyatt and the Library being the other two), this is by far the best and my preferred place to stay. Having just spent two weeks staying here I felt very much at home, the service was terrific, and the little added touches like complimentary WiFi, sodas, iced tea and juice in the mini bar included, and some rooms I've stayed in also have the Nescafe coffee machines - really make a difference between a good hotel and a great one.

The staff in the restaurant are lovely, there's always someone available at reception to answer a question, when you call the 'host' your call is answered in two rings unlike other establishments I have stayed in where it practically rings out, and room service is very prompt (they often quote 40 minutes but it arrives in 20). The Andaz really is fantastic and by far my pick of the midtown hotels.

The only thing I don't like is the service from the girls in the bar area in the basement - just surly and sour. But all things said, overall the Andaz is terrific and while the room rate may be higher than other nearby hotels (aside from maybe the Setai) it is well worth it.

The only note I would make is that if I wasn't staying for work I probably would not choose to stay in midtown because on the weekends it's a little quiet and there's more action elsewhere. There's only so many times you can walk up 5th Ave before realising there is great (if not better) shopping elsewhere, or that the main areas of interest are either downtown/Chelsea/Gramercy/West Village or around Central Park for the most part. That said New York is very walkable, cabs are cheap, and the subway is both inexpensive and reliable, so even if you do choose to stay here the rest of Manhattan isn't that far.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 5th Avenue get an amazing view of the NY Public Library which is just beautiful when li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathanj78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My boss came here last year and had a negative experience but I wasn't going to let that put me off since my wife and I hosted our wedding reception at The Andaz Liverpool street last year and were impressed.

Upon arrival we were shown straight to our room, a suite. The same person who checked us in took us to our room and showed us how to operate the in room lighting and windows. Considering how close to fifth avenue and Madison avenue, I was able to fall asleep with ease and didn't hear any of the hustle and bustle.

The bathroom was as other people have previously described. One 42" Plasma in the bedroom and a 60" in the living room. Big.

The location is exceptional, opposite the New York Library. The staff were very friendly and attentive and definitely made us feel at ease.

Very happy with our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidechained
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

different concept of hotels, it’s a must that you sit in the reception and have a welcome drink from the fridge inside the lobby! The room and the bathrooms are very good. the fridge inside the room has free milk, chips and chocolate!
the location is great on the 5th Ave. I would come back agaian

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAZ040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Unconventional check-in that was made super special by the best hotel concierge I have come across - thank you Jo! He made our whole New York trip special from arrival to departure.
We loved the interior design - Tony Chi at his best. The bathrooms especially are wonderful but there is no element of the hotel that we didn't like. It blends the informality of a boutique hotel with the luxury of a top five star. It will be our NY base from now on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

A very enjoyable two night stay. The Andaz is extremely well located in mid-town, as it is on 5th, across the street from the Public Library and Bryant Park, a few blocks from Grand Central and Times Square and only 10 blocks from Rockefeller Center. The hotel is classy but low key with none of the chaos of the large NYC hotels. Our room was terrific - a large one bedroom suite with a private bedroom, an excellent sofabed, and a small kitchenette. Given it's location, it was also very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very comfortable and well-run hotel in a great position. Spacious and comfortable rooms with in my case a nice view over Fifth Avenue, including the wonderful New York Public Library and early 20th century skyscrapers beyond. Well done the hotel for little touches like free wifi and everything in the minibar being complimentary except alcohol. Great breakfast options in the restaurant. Just a few reservations: it's not obvious what the advantage is of having the free-floating reception 'island' instead of a more traditional arrangement - it was sometimes hard to tell who was an employee and who was a guest; also the offer of a glass of wine to guests who arrive at 'reception' late in the evening is probably misjudged - this may sound fusty, but our priority, late at night, was to get to our rooms, not to socialise over wine with the hotel management. The shower seemed unnecessarily complicated - water flow and temperature were somehow controlled by the same handle and took a long time to figure out. And there isn't a business centre as such, just a couple of lap-tops off the main reception area (printing involves emailing one of the staff). It works reasonably well as long as you don't mind the (quite nice) canned music. Although this hotel gives its address as Fifth Avenue, the entrance is in fact on East 41st Street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank higvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 473 in New York City
4,354 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#72 of 473 in New York City
6,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#155 of 473 in New York City
3,072 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 473 in New York City
3,840 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $330 - $751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing