We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool hotel and huge suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #71 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cool hotel and huge suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

The Andaz was a cool place to stay for four nights as a family. We had a suite which was huge by any standards, and the sofa bed was very comfortable for our two young girls (aged 7 & 9). The location was very central, lots to do and see nearby, and the subway was only a block away. Free snacks and soft drinks is a nice touch, as is the library and complimentary wine between 6 and 9pm.

Even better if....

- the kitchenette was pretty useless because there is no kettle, toaster or oven. The coffee maker was nice, but we still ended up going out for breakfast, lunch and dinner because you couldn't cook anything.
- it took a while to work out how everything works in the room because it's so modern. Not a big deal, but we were always laughing when trying to turn the shower on, or turn the lights off, or use the TV. The DVD player only worked once you'd activated the entertainment package for $15 a day, which I thought was pretty steep (and they took it off the bill).

All up, a cool, well located hotel.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank StanandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,609
    505
    159
    57
    31
See reviews for
489
927
135
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Great place. Great location. Would stay again without question. Enjoyed large 2 twin bed room with twin roll away bed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CedarParkAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I am in NY often and have experienced several 5 * hotels. This has been the best one up to now. The room, with view to the Library was very comfortable. The staff was helpful but unobtrusive. Breakfast in the room was on time and very good. I tried the bar together with my daughter-in-law and also the restaurant for lunch. In both places the food was good, the service could have been a little more forthcoming. At the bar, what surprised me is that white wine was served in water tumblers! I wonder what Riedel has to say about this new trend. But all in all I felt very comfortable and will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GranmaAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We booked this hotel purely based on the great tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We visited NYC to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday and after getting in touch with Connie Wang we were upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking the library (just what I had asked for) but not only that, the next day we were sent a complimentary bottle of bubbly on ice as a birthday gift. The staff were unobtrusive but helpfeul when needed (just how we like it). The room was spacious and the bathroom amazing with double sinks, robes, state of the art three way shower. The free snack and soft drinks in the room were a great touch. The location (only 10minutes walk from Times Square) was perfect for us. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would definitely book again for my next trip.

Room Tip: Get in touch with Connie Wang
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Top location, friendly staff, great rooms and views

Room Tip: choose one of the XL view rooms, they are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wereldburgerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I have been travelling for business globally, around Asia, Europe and the US and I do believe that the Andaz at 5th Ave is rated among the best in the world. The staffs (I remember Meghan, Emillio, Danna and Anthony) are very kind and helpful. I stayed at the Andaz for 9 days and every time I went back from various and intense meetings across NYC, I felt like going back to a luxurious yet warm home, rather than another hotel lobby. I would recommend the Andaz at 5th Ave to any business traveller anytime, though I am certain that the place will be great for family vacation too. Kudos for the staffs at the Andaz!

Room Tip: The higher the better, you do not hear all the sirens of NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fauzi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I spent two days in this discreet and very comfortable hotel. It feels new, trendy and has great size bathrooms with rainshowers. Great breakfast room downstairs, high celings and very reasonable room rates.I would definitely come back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oleg_Myshkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,273 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing