We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #88 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

After staying at a number of high end and boutique hotels, I have found one that I can now call "home." Electic but warm, comfortable and unassuming, the Andaz strikes the right chord of professionalism and relaxation. The rooms have a very clean, zen and peaceful feel to them with a bathroom that put any of the other hotels in town to shame. Perfect to sleep or work in.

There is a whimsical, stylish English/Japanese feel to the lobby, the bar and the restaurant. The restaurant is top quality- fresh, organic and tasty. I loved it.

The location at 42nd and Fifth provides access to uptown/downtown, Grand Central and Times Square.

To me, this is a better version of the Peninsula or Four Seasons- smaller, more relaxed and just good energy overall.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,623
    516
    161
    60
    35
See reviews for
496
939
137
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Just an amazing experience at the Andaz. Loved the happy hour free drinks and free mini bar - nice touches. Services was exceptional. Rooms were lovely and for the superb location were not at all noisy. Happy to recommend this hotel without qualification. This is the best review I have ever given.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We really had a nice stay and it was located in a decent area. The hotel is about 20 or so min from times square and tribeca.

The room was clean and the lighting was great- you just need to move the tiny knob on the light switch up to make the lights brighter.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Great restaurant recommendations!

The only thing is the mattress was a bit too firm. It is more recommended if you are a couple or travelling for business.

Would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellehcim472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Enjoyed the modern design of the aesthetic And the alternative service by staff in checking in. Rooms are modern and comfy. one draw back, it's pretty noisy even at higher floors, I realize it is NYC but other hotels are just a bit more tranquil

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabs_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My travelling party and I had a fabulous stay at Andaz. From the word go, the staff were extremely helpful and obliging. The hotel is clean, modern and inviting. The rooms are great! Ours was huge, decked out with the latest technology (flat screen TV with Media Centre, touch pad lighting, etc.). The beds are comfy and the shower is a haven with its rain-head and foot-bath!!! Wireless and non-alcohol mini-bar items were complimentary, which was a welcome touch - as was the free wine in the evening! Location is excellent - opposite the NY Public Library, close to Bryant Park, MoMa, TOTR, and the 5th Avenue shops. The food in the restaurant was tasty, well-priced, and most importantly in New York, the portions weren't too big!!! In a nutshell - do yourself a favour and stay at Andaz 5th Avenue on your next stay in New York!! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear FMB_11,

Great to hear you had a wonderful visit. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and accomodations.

Warm regards,

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This past weekend my husband and I spent two nights at the Andaz Fifth Avenue. We were using a reward for two free nights for signing up for a Hyatt Signature VISA card. As soon as we arrived (on foot from Penn Station) we were offered a cold bottle of water in the lobby where they checked us in via ipads. We had some trouble locating the front door as this is a discreet, boutique type hotel with not a lot of external advertising. We were escorted to a corner "loft" suite on the 12th floor with a balcony, a living room with walls of glass overlooking the city, a mini-bar that is complimentary (except for alcohol) a nicely appointed bedroom and a gorgeous bathroom with a rain shower, foot bath and what appeared to be slate tiling. The staff were young and couldn't do enough for us. There was free WiFi and turn down service. We were able to walk to the theater district, restaurants, even down to Eataly (although that was a long walk down 5th to 23rd street). There was "library" off of the lobby (which we didn't really use) and a restaurant too. We only had breakfast there and sat next to possibly the world's most obnoxious man (loud, effusive and taken with himself). I would highly recommend the Andaz 5th Avenue to anyone traveling to NYC.

Room Tip: Not sure what the other rooms were like but this large loft on the corner of the building was fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noscreenname200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

From first walking through to the door to checking out I felt completely pampered. I was also very surprised! I hadn't heard of the Andaz before I'd stayed there and I was expecting to have the same kind of everyday normal hotel experience you have when traveling for work in NY. Instead I was in for a real treat!

The person who greeted me at the door took me through the whole check in experience (at an open island), got me a glass of wine, and showed me the fantastic room. The rooms at the Andaz are very modern, full of the latest tech, and the bathrooms are great! They even have a footbath in the huge walk in shower shower.

To top it all off the food at the Andaz is amazing. Breakfast is delicious and fresh - both days I had sliced avocado on toast with cilantro, and fresh orange juice. That's not easy to find in the US! I also had a lovely dinner there - locally sourced roasted chicken and yummy wine.

The location is perfect, right across the street from the Library and Bryant Park on 5th.

I would highly recommend this to any traveler whether you're in NY for business or pleasure (or both!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieAndKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,336 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing