We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new go-to hotel for NYC”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #82 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our new go-to hotel for NYC”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The total package. Great location (across the street from the New York Library/Bryant Park), beautiful rooms, superior service (though at times it felt as if some of the staff were tripping over each other to take care of us). The ice-cold water on arrival was a huge bonus on a 100-degree day, and the personal tour of the room as we checked-in was welcoming, and necessary (given the tricky light switches and the non-traditional "free drinks and snacks" policy). Overall a great overnight stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneKnightOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,679
    530
    168
    62
    35
See reviews for
516
963
147
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed July 22nd with 3 friends as we were going to see the Yankees play. First of all, the hotel was beautiful and clean. The one thing that was a bit strange was that there wasn't a typical front desk area. I must commend Jef Sommer (our host). He did everything, checked us in, showed us to our rooms, arranged transportation to Yankee Stadium. He was awesome and a main reason we had a great time. The rooms were great, nice size for NYC. The bathroom was amazing, especially the shower. The bar downstairs was great, the people there were very friendly.
The only negatives were that we stayed only one night and that is was 104 degrees.
I'll be back to NYC in the fall with my family and this will be the place we stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Glad to hear you had a great visit! Thank you so much for recognizing Jef's efforts to make your visit memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

So, how's this for customer service....

Today's a pretty hot and humid day in NYC. The all-time record high for this date in NYC is 106. Today was 104.

Diamond GP member here. I have a reservation for tomorrow...it's supposed to be nearly as hot. I booked an award reservation for my parents...both of whom are in their mid-70s.

I called to cancel the reservation. I just don't think it is safe to have them in the city walking around doing tourist activities. I fully admit I am within the 24 hour cancellation policy. This trip has been planned for a while and they were really looking forward to it. Yes, I could have cancelled earlier. I realize that.

Despite the extraordinary conditions the manager, Florent, would not let me cancel the reservation. The Diamond desk called and he refused. I finally called personally and he still refused. After a long conversation he relented and said he would make a "one-time" exception...but, this wouldn't have happened without much effort by the Diamond line and my call.

Thoughts?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brxbmrzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Brxbmrzfan,
I'm sorry you didn't feel that we did not truly empathize with your situation even though an exception was granted. We do want you and your parents to come and experience our hotel, and hope you will contact me directly so that we can further assist!

Warm regards,

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed for a couple of days of shopping en route to a conference in Bermuda. Evening glass of wine and morning latte served complimentary made me feel at home. The free treats from the mini bar really made the stay special. A small thing really, but when I am travelling, I drink less water than I do at home and end up feeling rotten. The easy availability of the beverages kept me going all day and night! Very quiet and comfortable rooms. Never did figure out the fancy shower though. The location is not bad but walking is required to get to any shopping or museums.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsalotCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights and loved it. Definately non-traditional, but we loved how it was modern and hip. Host Eric and Manager Connie made us feel at home and took care of making sure our stay was memorable. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed at the Andaz hotel for 7 nights and it was great. The hotel is very clean, secure and the staff is very welcoming and friendly. They do whatever they can to make you feel comfortable. The assistant manger Laurent took care of our check in, he was very pleasant, very helpful, and gave us a great impression about the hotel. The rooms are very large for NY city. The negatives are: the lights are very dim in both the room and the bathroom, 2) they should provide a better quality of toilet paper.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fofa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
I am so glad to hear you had a great experience over your week long stay with us. Thank you for recognizing Loren, our Assistant Front Office manager, for his efforts to make your arrival smooth and comfortable. We are currently completing soft renovation of our bathroom lighting, and we are looking to be finished in September. We look forward to welcoming you back and showing you the new settings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed at the Andaz for 4 nights. The staff were very accommodating, the facilities were nice, there was a bit of a trek to get to the rooms as you have to use 2 elevators but it was not much of an inconvenience. On the main floor the restaurant/cafe was well designed and served good food. The rooms were modern and tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The large asian inspired shower room was my favorite part. If I had to say something negative it would be that the light control panel next to the bed was quite complicated and that the desk chair although visually interesting was very uncomfortable to sit for more than 5 minutes. And the room service breakfast was not very good but the hotel had not been opened long so I think there need to be a grace period to let things get settled. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try and get the suite room that overlooks 5th Avenue and you have a great view from the NY Library t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadicluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback, especially about the service provided by our staff. I am glad that you felt your bed and the shower were very comfortable, as those are key! If you would like to give me a few more details on your room service breakfast, I would love to follow up. Listening to our guests, we do have a few changes we are making to make our rooms more user friendly, even though we are brand new: 1) bathroom light (in progress), 2) easy to read light panel (starting next month), and 3) more comfortable chair (planning stages). Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,627 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4,018 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#121 of 467 in New York City
2,934 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#68 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing