We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem on 5th Avenue”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #79 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We almost missed this hotel when we arrived in the cab, but it's right across from the New York Public Library. We were unexpectedly upgraded to a suite!! It had two bedrooms and two baths. Even more fantastic--a balcony overlooking the library. As another review posted, the bathrooms could use a larger shower door and the lighting needs improvement in the bathrooms. But, each bedroom had a great flat screen TV, the living room was enormous and there was a full size refrigerator. I still can't believe how large the suite was--especially compared to other places I've stayed in NYC. It's also very close to Grand Central which was the main reason I chose it. The lobby staff was very friendly. Unfortunately, we didn't have time for the reverse happy hour--always hate to miss out on free wine! We also did not eat at the hotel, so I can't comment on the food quality. The free water and soft drinks in the room were a nice touch also. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Half_runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,197 - 2,203 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2011

We have just returned from a five night stay and really enjoyed it. We booked this hotel on the back of a previous stay with the Andaz London (equally great). We have previously stayed in hotels on the Lower East Side / Soho as we love the area & I was a little apprehensive that the midtown location would be too "touristy" given its proximity to Times Square. I didn't need to worry - it had a great laid back NYC vibe.

We had a loft suite which was refreshing spacious, loved the decor, the comfort level and the little spoils such as the mini bar drinks. Staff were very helpful and I like the little touches such as a complimentary glass of wine in the evenings etc (though we didn't partake). We ate in the restaurant & enjoyed great food and cocktails in the bar downstairs, and had takeout breakfast other mornings from The Shop.

My only gripe would be that at $400 a night no breakfast was included. I wouldn't expect a sit-down breakfast to be included - but some takeout coffee & pastries or muffins in the guest area may be more appreciated by some guests than a glass of wine in the evenings.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonmurray15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Our room was great, we enjoyed it very much.
The service was great too, they were very helpful and kind.
The restaurant was a little bit pricy and the bar was quite empty when we visited it.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glazier213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Just got back from a 4 night stay here.

Pros:
Nice design
Food is good
Location is good
Got upgraded from standard king room to loft king, which is a big room for NYC standards, two tvs, two vanities
The bar is really cool with good drinks

Cons:
Bathroom lighting is terrible
Shower needs a door so it's not freezing and water doesn't spill out everywhere
The "hosts" were clueless when I handed them a Platinum Extras certificate
Service at breakfast was terrible
Did not refill toilet paper during the stay
Only did turndown once, and I had to call and ask for it, and all I could tell that it was was folding the duvet back. No chocolates, no new towels, nothing.

Would stay there again, despite these issues.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nashvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Thank you for your feedback! I am happy that we were able to give you an upgrade, although disppointed we did not recognize your Platinum Extra's certificate immediately! I have followed up with our team and made sure everyone is aware of how to handle these.

We are also working on a solution for increased bathroom lighting based on what our guests are saying. A new lighting mock-up design has been created in one of our rooms, which I can assure you has wonderful light, and we are in the process of replicating this throughout all the hotel.

I apologize for the lapse in service at breakfast, and with housekeeping....sincerely. Please feel free to email me directly at connie.wang@andaz.com so that I can remedy these directly and personally ensure your next visit is perfect! I greatly appreciate your "pros and cons" list, and hope to turn the cons into pros!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel we were warmly welcomed in to a stunning lobby and fabulous surrounds. Keen as we were to get out and explore the magic New York has to offer, we were reluctant to leave this cool hotel!

So we stayed and enjoyed a fantastic lunch featuring organic produce and impeccable service, meanwhile the fabulous staff booked our Empire State tour.

The rooms overlooking the NYC State Library were luxuriously appointed, supremely comfortable and the mini bar was filled with delicious complimentary goodies. We experienced the ultra groovy bar downstairs as well as visiting the second floor with it's own kitchen and entertaining rooms all of which are so stylish.

Our stay at the Andaz 5th Avenue absolutely made our visit to New York far more exciting than ever before, and we could never stay anywhere else in New York but this brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Glad you had a great time, and for your kind comments!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

My husband and I just got back from the Andaz 5th Ave. I stayed at the Andaz Wall Street a few months ago and was very impressed so my husband and I decided to check out the newer 5th Ave location. The staff was very friendly throughout our entire stay. Our room was very large compared to other NY hotels and very cool looking. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very modern. Free mini bar and cocktail hour in the lobby were really nice touches. The location is also perfect for 5th Ave shopping. Highly recommend this new line of hotels by Hyatt.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stayed here for four days and the hotel is amazing. At first my driver couldn't find it but then we figured out where this gem is hidden, on Library Way, the minute I got out of the car a concierge opened the doors and helped me immediately.

There was a slight wait checking in but the concierge upgraded my room from a regular room to a king suite. Which was amazing, the light switches alone in the hotel will have you taking a picture of them. I really enjoyed every minute spent here. The room is immaculate and everything is spotless and luxurious, I will definitely stay here again. And the room has the best complimentary mini bar you will ever find.

From the hotel bar with Reverse Happy Hour, to the the Chocolate Ganache dessert and coffee. The restaurant faces the NYC Public Library and you cannot ask for a better view for just relaxing and people watching. The entire staff from concierge to housekeeping everyone is so pleasant and helpful, and any question they will find you an answer immediately.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxetravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Thank you for visiting us, and for sharing your kind comments about our staff.
I am glad you enjoyed the Reserse Happy Hour, which we recently began. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,786 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#126 of 470 in New York City
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#69 of 470 in New York City
6,658 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 470 in New York City
2,963 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 470 in New York City
4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $277 - $898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing