We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar dining in an intimate setting”
Review of Recette - CLOSED

Recette
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Diner, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: Greenwich St.
Transit: The 1, 2, 3, A, C and E trains stop at West 14th Street.
Description: Recette is an urban American restaurant that marries traditional and progressive techniques and flavors. The sophisticated yet approachable menu is designed so that diners can order just as they please. Broken down into Snacks and Plates, the menu offers something for everyone while giving diners the ability to order several dishes, or if they choose, share amongst the table. The menu for Recette [Recipe in French] celebrates bold flavors and playful touches. Chef Jesse Schenker manipulates ingredients and temperature to create maximum flavor. Menus will change frequently to showcase fresh products and twists on seasonal American favorites. Here, guests may choose to start with dishes such as Kimpachi with uni, blood orange, jalapeno and mache or Duck Carpaccio with chicken liver mousse, apple and thyme. Larger offerings include Cod, olive oil poached with smoked bacon, savoy cabbage, shellfish emulsion and Braised Pork Belly with rock shrimp, baby turnips, romesco and Sherry caramel.
Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

Enjoyed a great "family style" meal with friends...dinner featured cod fritters in a lamb ragout, beef carpaccio surrounding luscious burrata, fresh arugula salad, skate, branzino, pork belly and duck breast. Dessert featured deconstructed s'mores and cayenne infused brownie bites. You can order the tasting menu or a la carte but the family style worked great for our party of 7. The food was stellar, the cocktails elegantly crafted and the service top notch. The intimate low key atmosphere lets the food, drinks and service stand out. A real find in the village, about a 5-10 minute walk south of the Whitney and meatpacking district.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank FJPinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2015

Recette is near the new Whitney Museum, and, like the rest of the neighborhood, is basking in the new influx of visitors. Recite offers original, and sometimes eclectic, takes on American food, with a bit of French flair. While it focuses on small plates, the portions are by no means miniscule. Our server's knowledge of the food and its preparation added to our experience. A definite repeater!

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2015

Everything we ate at Recette was outstanding. The small plate approach is, to us, reasonably sized portions. Particularly since you want to savor each and every bite. The combinations of taste are head spinning. The wine list is very good and the service very friendly and caring. Having come off a disappointing meal at the over-rated 11 Madison Park, we were thrilled by our meal at Recette.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2015

It's not often that you find a restaurant that satisfies on so many levels. Went to Recette for my birthday with my husband Friday night and it was SPECTACULAR. Although the seating is "cozy", the noise level isn't bad at all. The ambience is really nice, the restaurant is small, and the staff does a great job of giving just the right level of service -- super friendly but never intrusive. It just seems like the people working there are having fun. Since this was our first time, we asked for advice on ordering and ended up getting the 5-course tasting menu at $80. We were each able to choose 2 dishes, and then the chef would build 5 courses (4 and dessert) around our choices. My husband chose the lamb and foie gras, I chose the pork belly and grilled kingfish, but we shared bites of each dish. EVERYTHING was so delicious, and there was at least one or two amuse-bouches to round out a lovely 2 1/2 hour meal, paced just right. I felt it was very good value for the quality of the food. One of the challenges of the chef's menu is you sometimes are so full by the time the last 2 courses come that you can't enjoy them. The portions here are just right. Could not recommend this restaurant more highly -- hope I will have a chance to come back!

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MrsHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2015

Recette is a small restaurant in the West Village, which serves small but excellent dishes at elevated prices. It's cramped but the noise level in acceptable. Service is excellent and the food delicious. The clientele is upscale and most people seemed to were in their late twenties to early forties. Recette serves small dishes and has three tasting menus, but you can also order individual plates. The most expensive menu is in excess of 150 Dollars, the cheapest just under 80 Dollars. I did not order the tasting menu but two individual dishes, sweetbreads and stuffed quail, both were excellent.
This is not a cheap place, but its fun and the food is very good. I would go back.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dieter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Recette also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing