We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was worth the long wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Craft

Craft
Reserve with OpenTable
Craft is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Park Avenue South and Broadway
Transit: 4,5,6,N,R to Union Square and 6,N,R to 23rd Street
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Was worth the long wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had booked for 8. 30 pm for a party of 7. We knew that in NY you always have to wait to get to the table but this time it was difficult for us we had just arrived that same day from Europe.
The service was incredibly good. A terrific wine list, the oysters were fantastic, the food was great. The suckling pig dish was delicious. As dessert the tarte tatin was delicious. A cozy but very modern atmosphere. I would certainly come back, without a jet lag .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geniesserin-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    134
    54
    22
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
350 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent restaurant with a superb wine list, however expensive. Great chef! Side dishes are worth a try, excellent! A nice muffin for breakfast next morning is a plus...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Homero V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
689 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 518 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our family of 5 dined last Saturday during the snowstorm and the staff opened a little early for us and then provided outstanding service to all--including our one-year-old delight. Menu is a little unusual--including much "bone-marrow"(??) and sides are definitely enough for 2+. Okay for a one-time visit, not sure it could be a regular menu option.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
211 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“second visit (excellent)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I had an excellent meal again at Craft. We had duck for the main course (split it). I had the skate sashimi (yum) for appetizer. My wife had the tarte tatin for dessert (delicious). Service was great. There was a bit of a breeze from the front door so you might want to request a table farther away if it is a cold night. I will definitely want to go back to Craft though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ipeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great experience crafted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was hands down a highlight of a two week vacation in NYC. From our welcome at the door to the complimentary muffins to take home we enjoyed this restaurant immensely. The food was exceptional, simple flavours with fine produce, service was exemplary and wine list exhaustive. A restaurant at which food is shared amongst the table everything from oysters to duck was fresh and exquisite. Total with wine was around $500 and worth every cent. As it was a family occasion (my wife's birthday) she was wished a 'Happy Birthday' by all staff and was given a beautiful complementary chocolate birthday cake with candle. This is one of those restaurants that you will remember details of, long after the visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilyfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craft also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Craft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing