We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Soup at a Great Price”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hale & Hearty Soups
Ranked #4,890 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Soups
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Red Hook, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Soup at a Great Price”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We enjoyed a quick but totally satisfying and very reasonably priced lunch at the Hale & Hearty location in the Grand Central Terminal food court. My husband had the chicken & corn chowder and I had the wild mushroom & tortellini soup. Both were well-seasoned and delicious, and included a hearty chunk of multi-grain bread. The only drawback was that the chowder was barely warm. Other than that, we would definitely go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CiaoBella112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Delicious, Healthy, Fast”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A very large variety of house made soups, sandwiches and salads. The soups were amazing and very nice on a colder winter day!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GnaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The mcdonalds of soups”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

this place is a decent soup spot but nothing special, it is also pretty expensive considering all your getting is soup. they do have a lot of variety of soups but its not a place that i have a favorite soup that i keep going back for. the soups are good but not good enough to merit returning weekly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank guapo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Finally.... a wide selection of soup!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was attached to the NYC office for two weeks and was delighted when my colleague introduced this place for lunch. I am lactose intolerant and there are very limited choices of soup that were offered at home. Hence, I was grinning from ear to ear when I saw the selection of soup without dairy contents. The soup was great, they were thick and delicious.

Due to the rush hour, service staff arent helpful. They are pretty impatient and can be quite rude, especially when you need a little time to look at the menu (boards are displayed behind the counter). For visitors, be early and be ready to order.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank li-me-cha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch on a wintry day!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place really hit the spot on a very cold day out with the family. Reasonably priced, delicious soup, free water with lemon - it was perfect for us. Will eat there again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank churchmice_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hale & Hearty Soups also viewed

 

Been to Hale & Hearty Soups? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing