We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, clean, cool, above all”
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #140 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The design is far more superior, modern, clean most of all its confortable people that work there are kind and the best I have ever seen compared to other hotels in new york city definitely above all other hotel I have seen

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ben4367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 957 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

I'm sorry to have to give this hotel a poor rating as some things were great like the view, the ambience and the staff at all levels. Good location, wonderful roof terrace.
The Major problem is the traffic noise. We were on the top 9th floor and hardly slept in 4 nights. The hotel is near a busy junction and New York drivers are madly in love with their horns. They blast them constantly if they think someone is slow, in their way and the list goes on. The first night was impossible and be aware the traffic never stops in 24 hours. We got earplugs which I hate and even they did not block it completely.
The next issue is internet connection. Despite checking with the hotel before booking as we needed it for work and calls it hardly worked. Many calls to the desk to get it reset gave you a 50% chance but even when it worked it was so slow it drove you mad. Others complained or sat in the lobby to connect. The lan hardwire in the room did not work either.
Beware cold weather too if you don't like noise as the heaters make a real racket.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DGoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a layover in NY before heading to Europe, and stayed at The Nolitan since we found a deal on LivingSocial. Best decision! The staff was wonderful, and surprised us with a bottle of champagne in the room since it was our Anniversary. They made sure to tell us to go up to the roof at sunset to see the view. We went and picked up some pizza and a bottle of wine, and had a wonderful, quiet dinner with the buildings of NY surrounding us. Location was great, and we can't wait to stay here again some day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Knowing that we wanted to be close to alot of our favourite restaurants and people for a couple of nights, we checked in to the Nolitan and were not disappointed. Understated but professional service, sleek rooms, and we were lucky to have a fantastic cityscape view northward from our balcony. Steps from Soho, Noho, West Village, LES, so a great place to stay for those wanting to be in lower Manhattan.

Room Tip: 905 was great, with a fantastic view northward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huzzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We picked this hotel because it got such good ratings, and weren't disappointed in the slightest. Everything was extremely clean and welcoming. The staff was absolutely amazing and provided us with impeccable service. The food at the restaurant was great, the room was comfortable and quiet and the housekeeper who cleaned our room did an outstanding job, even provided us with a little card with the weather report for the following day. Stay at the nolitan you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk. They will do everything they can to make your stay awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was the first time that we stayed downtown and loved the location; It's an easy walk to all the surrounding neighborhoods:Little Italy, Soho,& Greenwich. The hotel is a clean, modern boutique hotel and the staff is just terrific; Dilan, Stephanie, Ian & Andy were professional, very helpful & friendly. The restaurant in the hotel was quite good for a quick breakfast, lunch and even a nightcap at night; We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CNP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at Nolitan for five nights as a pre-christmas getaway and I really enjoyed the stay. Nolitan is a nice, relatively small boutique hotel with some nice touches (free wine and cheese in the evening, cool concierge services and the rooftop!). The rooms have a modern edge (that I basically loved) to them without losing the comfort needed after a hard day/night out. The neighbourhood was the best part – there is an endless array of interesting spots and small restaurants to be discovered. A serious option for a stylish urban stay in a more interesting milieu than midtown.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are probably quieter – Kenmare street is quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eeviiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 469 in New York City
480 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 469 in New York City
702 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#73 of 469 in New York City
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#208 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#153 of 469 in New York City
1,319 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#76 of 469 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $245 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing