We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Nolitan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$177
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$297
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$166
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$173
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$375
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$305
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveler rating
674
228
49
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
674
228
49
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswilliamsburg bridgekenmare streetbalcony roomlower east sidenew yorkroof terracewine and cheeserooms are smallmanhattan skylinethe empire state buildingstreet noisewalking distancerestaurants and shopsturn down servicelittle touchesevery eveningcontinental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 993 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Nolitan has stepped right out of the pages of a glossy fashion magazine and then rooted itself in the heart and soul of its neighbourhood.

First things first, Kenmare Street is busy but from our cityscape balcony room on the 8th floor there was no noise problem at all. The rooms are stylish and modern, probably average in size but light and airy and with great Manhattan views.

Things we missed were free bottled water and the option of making a good cup of coffee in the room. But nice Nolitan touches include free wine and cheese daily, 5-7pm and a complimentary copy of the weekly Time Out New York magazine, so you can do the city like a local.

The neighbourhood is fantastic. Across the street, on and around Mott, Elizabeth and Prince, are great independent shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. Down the street on Orchard are superb small art galleries. You have plentiful access to subway stops plus you can hire a bike for free from the hotel.

New York can be impersonal and overwhelming. Avoid Midtown as an area to stay at all costs. The Nolitan and Nolita give you a boutique hotel of character and a neighbourhood of warmth, personality and manageability.

Special thanks to Stephanie, Jordan and George of the Nolitan, who were helpful, efficient and friendly - just all-round nice human beings.

Recommended.

Room Tip: 8th floor has no noise-pollution issues. Also, ask not to have a room directly opposite the lift.
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dalston-calling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Nolitan in August (2 couples and an infant) and we had a neighborhood balcony room and a neighborhood corner room. We really enjoyed our stay, and would not hesitate to return to this hotel next time we are in NYC.

Since we traveled with an infant, we had different requests to be made upfront (water kettle, pack and play etc.). We also had to pre-arrange other things like some flowers, gifts, etc., and we had some items from on-line shopping shipped to the hotel. This meant a lot of correspondence with the hotel, but everything was handled very well by Joy, thanks again for all the help!

We really liked the rooms, and you could tell that a lot of thought has gone into the design and layout of the rooms. Rooms in NYC are notoriously small, but the small details at the Nolitan, like the drawers under the bed, narrow desks, glass shower cubicle, floor to ceiling windows, slim furniture, and very minimalistic design, gave the rooms an airy feeling and the impression of a room larger than it actually was. Very well done indeed.

The hotel has a fresh, clean and cool ambiance, and it really felt like the design elements of the hotel was embedded in every detail, all the way to staff appearance. Staff was really friendly, relaxed and very accommodating, suggested to take the wine and cheese to the rooftop, picked up pizzas for us one evening, all in all a very "complete" experience.

The location is very good, 5-10 min. to SoHo, Chinatown, Little Italy and Subway stations. There is a 24/7 Duane Reed and a Wholefoods Market close by, and a lot of small quirky shops, cafes, bars and restaurants in the streets surrounding the hotel, very "local and cosy" feeling.

The rooftop is a great asset for this hotel and although it is probably going to be really nice when they get a bar going up there, it was nice to have the rooftop almost like your own private terrace.

As others have mentioned, Kenmare street is not a quiet street, NYC has traffic everywhere and I usually do not mind some street noise, but here we are talking about huge trucks passing by and some of them delivering goods in the early morning for some food whole seller across the street.
That said, I suspect that the main problem is the door to the small balcony, since the corner room we also had (on the same floor) was very quiet.

Once again, thanks to The Nolitan and all the staff for a wonderful stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Kenmare is noise, avoid the balcony rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had fantastic time staying at the nolitan hotel all the staff we spoke with were extremely friendly and helpful, in fact they couldn't do enough for you. Complimentary wine and nibbles whilst sitting on the roof garden was terrific, what a view to look at. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone travelling to NY.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If I could stay at the Nolitan every time i come to NYC, I will. It has everything you could want in a hotel. The decor is minimal and modern, and many of the rooms have balconies. The rooftop is amazing and open to all of the guests. The staff is so friendly and welcoming that you almost do a double take and wonder if you actually are still in NY. They welcomed me back the last time I stayed with them like they missed me. It was really sweet. We brought our niece to NY as a graduation present.Joy, from the Nolitan, called a few days beforehand to ask if there was anything else we needed before we arrived. Its small personal touches like that which really elevate the Nolitan above many other hotels. We stayed in the Nolitan Suite, which was on the 8th floor and had a great floor to ceiling view of the Williamsburg Bridge. The room was very spacious and the couch pulled out into a sofa bed which they set up for our niece that night during turndown while we were out. They have bikes that you can rent for free from them and take a tour of the city. Its located a few blocks from the subway which will take you wherever youd like. The Lower East Side, The East Village and Soho are all right there on your door step. And at the end of the day, you get to come back to The Nolitan, which has one of the most comfortable beds I've ever encountered. I never count down the days until i can sleep on my tempurpedic at home. The bedding itself is luxurious and soft. The rooms are an average size for NYC. I would rent the suite every time i came to NYC but as I am not independently wealthy, I will stick with a cityscape balcony, which is totally affordable. All in all, theres no downside to the Nolitan,
I just wish they had a Nolitan every place I visited.

Room Tip: The Nolitan Suite was gigantic.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmatysik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for returning to stay with us again; we're so happy that you had wonderful stay. We appreciate the glowing review and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
All the best,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

trust me when i tell you i never write reviews, good,bad,or ugly, don't have time. however i was moved to tell of my experience because they got it right without me asking. yes the room was very comfortable from every angle. i want the pillows the mattress the linens the lighting the hvac vents in the perfect location the faucet in the right place. i want the smell to be just right from the lobby to the elevator, to the room. i don't want to see stains anywhere on the carpet the mirror especially on the glassware or bedspread. they hit a home run with me because they did their job before i arrived not after a complaint. its your business, i should not have to tell you that. see you next time for sure when i'm in nyc. sis rita

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback; it means a lot to us. We pride ourselves on attention to detail so I was thrilled to read that we thoroughly met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews