We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel awesome view from rooftop deck”
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #136 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Fabulous boutique hotel awesome view from rooftop deck”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Room was a good size for a NYC hotel in this area. Rooms are contemporary industrial feel but felt plenty of room for two people for a couple nights. The service is excellent. This hotel has an awesome rooftop deck with great views. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetovaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    215
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
126
434
77
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Room was average size but had great bathroom, window could be opened a little, nice when the AC didnt cut it sometimes. Front desk staff very helpful, didnt know their ipads (to rent FOC) didnt have a SIM card in them. Free bike rental as well, exactly what I was looking for to explore NYC the active way.

Room Tip: The higher the quieter, and not facing kenmare street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prime01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Nolitan hotel for 5 nights as the first part of a NY trip. The hotel is small and contemporary in a good area surrounded by cafes restaurants boutiques etc. It's major downfall is it's location on a busy street between two sets of traffic lights and opposite some Chinese fresh produce warehouse which has noisy road train trucks unloading during the very early hours every night. Despite a giant sign on the warehouse wall telling the truckers to switch their engines off they ignored it. Even with earplugs it was impossible to sleep the whole night.
The hotel rooms are small and it's difficult to find space to open a suitcase. The first night I ordered room service. My roast chicken dinner arrived in a plastic dish with a plastic knife and fork. In my tired and jetlagged state it was impossible to eat a roast chicken with a plastic knife. A VERY expensive waste of almost $30. All in all I don't really understand why this hotel gets such good reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goingnutsinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. With respect to the noise, unfortunately, on occasion, drivers do not turn off their engine which exposes you to a greater hum and for that we apologize. To compensate, in addition to the earplugs, we offer sound/white noise systems as well. Additionally, if available, we offer quieter rooms on our east side that can be reserved upon request. As for the room service, I regret that you may have been misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. The in-room dining menus are from various restaurants in the neighborhood and are provided as a supplementary form of room service until the hotel restaurant begins service in September. While our bellmen do pick up and deliver the items, they are served take out style. Upon request, we would be more than happy to provide a traditional place setting.
We would like to see if there is anything we can do to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact me at jennifer@nolitanhotel.com or 212.925.2555.

Warm regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The reviews were right on this one. The service was wonderful. Very helpful young staff. Neighborhood is close to everything in soho and close enough to walk to the village. Subway stops easy and nearby for everything else. Really comfy beds. Clean decent size rooms for New york. Noise wasn't an issue for us. We loved this little hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomexicoinmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. Reading that a guest loves the hotel always makes me smile; thank you. From location to service, I am so happy we met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Nolitan for 4 nights and it was our first stay in NY. The hotel is quite modern and the staff at the front desk were friendly and made you feel welcome.

The rooms are modern and clean although a quite small, but hey your in NY and to be honest we were only in the room for sleep and rest. The bathroom was clean and modern with all the perks. Although the rooms are quite dark and not a lot if light.

The hotel is a couple of blocks away from Little Italy and about 15 minutes walk to the heart if Soho and the shopping along broadway. It's also about a 20 minute walk to the start of the Highline which you can take to the meat packing district. Cabs cost on average around $15 to get to Times Square, meat packing district, broadway and walk to discover other places.

After a long day it was nice to come back to the hotel for canapés and drinks at 5pm, which just added to the experience. Just sitting in the foyer and chatting with the other guests.

Overall we had a great experience at The Nolitan, a good place to stay for few days if you want to check out the Soho district and escape the hustle and bustle of NY. A good base for few days especially for couples.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z0p0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your first visit to New York City! I am so happy you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks in the hot summer. Very well positioned for tourists. Hundreds of restaurants within a few blocks, Little Italy around the corner, 3 blocks to SOHO or the East Village, subway close by, free wifi, friendly and comfortable, clean and trendy. Not a glamorous neighborhood setting but rather a real feel of living in a NY neighborhood. Does not feel touristy. Not pretentious at all. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannyfeelgoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for making The Nolitan your true home away from home. I was delighted to read that you appreciated the location and had a wonderful hotel experience. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

First we loved the location and the fact that there's 24h parking right across the street. The lower floors might be a little noisy if you're not use to it (New York never sleeps) but it's nothing earplugs can't fix. The rooms were well furnished, clean and the bed comfortable. We got upgraded to a room with balcony and that's something every Montrealer is sure to appreciate. Overall very satisfied and a big thumbs up to the staff who did a great job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 466 in New York City
455 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#61 of 466 in New York City
474 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#88 of 466 in New York City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#79 of 466 in New York City
880 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 466 in New York City
599 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#87 of 466 in New York City
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing