We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gizmo enjoyed his stay =)”
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #139 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Yonkers, New York
1 review
“Gizmo enjoyed his stay =)”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We wanted to stay in a pet friendly hotel and boy did we find it. Gizmo gives it 2 Paws up...=)

My husband and I were looking for a fun weekend in the city and needed a place that would also accommodate our Gizmo. The staff was very friendly and made us all feel at home.

Hotel Highlights ****
Great stay
Slept great
Comfy mattress
Sexy shower with privacy curtain
Loved the slippers and robe
Pet friendly
Terrific roof top view

Restaurant ****
Fantastic food with healthy options and fresh juices.. I could get delicious salad, fish and tuna tartar and my husband can still get his veal smothered in a cream sauce.

Room Tip: Go to the roof at night. Views of City are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    213
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
124
430
77
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had amazing customer service and great views from the roof. Around $200/night we got a small room with a bathroom, shower, sink, balcony, and desk. The views from the roof are fantastic including the empire state building and the freedom tower. This hotel also does room service from a menu in the room that includes options to order from a local restaurant and have it delivered. There is a 15-20% extra charge for this though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flounder08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I just spent 4 days at the Nolitan and its was far beyond our expectations.From check in to check out the staff was very kind and professional.Our location could not have been any better we had "gimme coffee" and "cafe fiat " around the corner on Mott street very morning and easy access to taxis and the subway. The rooms were always clean and well stocked with toiletries and the restaurant in the lobby was above par as well,and the rooftop deck was the perfect addition to our stay. My only complaint is that the before mentioned deck is not up to par with the rest of the hotel ie. barely any furniture and zero ambience but it has a great view. All in all a great time though and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eriefoodguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington Md.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were supposed to stay at the Nolitan last November but we were defeated by Hurricane Sandy so this July 4th holiday seemed like a great opportunity. A few days before we arrived, Joy called to see if there was anything we needed. When we got there we were given a lovely room with one small problem. The building next door -- a parking garage -- was a having a very loud DJ'ed party for the 4th and our room was literally throbbing with bass. We were so close to the party, they actually invited us over. Nice as that was, it wasn't exactly what we had in mind. Mervin, whom we contacted downstairs, was extremely helpful. He moved us to a room on the other side of the hotel complete with an adorable little balcony. If you like the LES/Nolita as we do, the Nolitan is perfect base of operations. I've stayed at both the Hotel on Rivington and the Thompson LES and the Nolitan beats both. Unless you can afford the steeply-priced Bowery Hotel, the Nolitan would be my choice. It's a short walk to the cool shops on Spring St, the fantastic Whole Foods at Bowery and Houston and any number of great restaurants including Mile End Sandwich on Bond St. and Il Buco on Great Jones St. All in all, the way to do lower Manhattan (and it's close to several subway stops as well if you plan to go to midtown, uptown or Brooklyn.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jivan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Nolitan is a very comfortable small hotel with amazingly helpful staff .The rooms are compact but very well designed and light. The hotel provides little wonderful extras like free wifi, a yoga/pilates mat, universal plug, water with lime at reception,and even an i-pad for free day use . The staff were ready to assist with any issue including accepting and storing lost luggage that was finally delivered by the airline while we were away for a few days. The location is tremendous, quite quiet for New York, yet in between vibrant Little Italy and Soho.The French-style restaurant next door has a lovely breakfast but the system is a little strange in that if you have breakfast included you get a voucher for a certain value from the hotel and then whatever you take from the buffet is added up and charged with that credit used towards it. It was a bit off putting to be watched as we took each item. Despite this, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydlee_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I'm a former east village boy so the location of this hotel is perfect for me but it didn't stop there.....I do not have single complaint about this hotel. The staff is cool, fashionable and nice. The place is clean and my room was made before noon!!!! I hate to share this jem with the rest of the world but they deserve it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkyspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent a weekend night at the hotel with my wife. This is a classic boutique hotel which treats lodgers as valued guests. The front desk and all the staff associates were absolutely the friendliest I've encountered in many years, and I've I've lodged at some very friendly hotels over the years. All service was delivered with a gracious smile and an even more gracious attitude. The French-themed restaurant catered to your every wish - very friendly and accommodating. The view at the top of the hotel was gorgeously panoramic. Shopping for food, clothing, accessories, etc. are all within walking distance. It becomes evident very quickly that the proprietor built the hotel as a place he/she would be glad to spend the night. The fixtures and bathing supplies were superior to those at expensive flag hotels. There's a beautiful umbrella waiting for you in the closet in case it rains. Looking forward to a future stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augoji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#10 of 468 in New York City
440 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#58 of 468 in New York City
451 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#86 of 468 in New York City
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#89 of 468 in New York City
581 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#92 of 468 in New York City
636 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing