We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for lower Manhattan”
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good choice for lower Manhattan”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Good location easy to Soho, Nolita (try Peasant on Elizabeth Street for dinner one night), Little Italy, Chinatown, etc.. Not too far on foot to TriBeCa and the village. Close enough to the subway to get further afield. The room I had (301) wasn't as tiny as I'd expected (other rooms might be different) and the bed was comfy. Staff were friendly and helpful. The vibe is modern and cool without the bags of attitude that spoils more famously branded (and uber-chic) places like the Mondrian up the road. I also stayed at the Mondrian recently (see separate review) and the Nolitan was much better value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    213
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
124
430
77
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at The Nolitan for 9 nights and would highly recommend it. It's a cosy boutique hotel with lots of nice touches. The rooms are a decent size for New York where space is at a premium with very comfortable beds. We took our free copy of the New York Times for coffee and sometimes breakfast in the newly renovated Cantine Parisienne restaurant of a morning. The staff were helpful and friendly arranging a restaurant reservation for us and advice on ATM's, warning chip and pin cards hit and miss in America. Every night there is a complimentary cheese and wine from 5-7pm in the lobby where you can chat to your fellow guests or read a book. The roof terrace affords amazing views of the city and I imagine in Spring/Summer it would be a great place to enjoy a drink. The hotel is situated close to Little Italy, Chinatown, SOHO and the Lower East Side, all interesting neighbourhoods. There are bars and restaurants a plenty on your doorstep.There are several subway stations close by from which to explore the city. Special mention to visit the Lower East Side Tenement museum a 5-10 minute walk away and to walk across the Williamsburg bridge to Williamsburg, Brooklyn. I wouldn't hesitate to say there again.

Room Tip: A corner balcony room would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was very satisfied with my stay at the Nolitan Hotel. The place was very clean and they have all the amenities that I needed at a reasonable price. The location in southern Manhattan was very convenient with the subway only a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJL20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the Nolitan in December for the holidays. I loved the neighborhood, There were some great little bars and so many shops. (You MUST go to the Little Cupcake Bakeshop a block or two away! But I digress..) Chinatown was also directly behind the hotel, so when we left in the morning there were some pungent fish smells! Also very close to Little Italy and all the restaurants. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom was large and spacious, hard to find in NYC! and there was a closet to hang stuff up. We also had access to a little roof deck, which everyone can access, we just happened to have a door from our room. There was some noise with the construction downstairs, I think they were building a restaurant, but we weren't around much during the day so it didn't really bother us and never woke us. They had a nice wine reception which we went to just once. The staff was very helpful when we asked for recommendations, though seemed a bit hesitant at first, perhaps they aren't used to tourists asking for info in that neighborhood. It is rather expensive once you add in all the taxes, but hey, it's NYC and it was the holidays, so oh well!

Room Tip: Not sure about which room is best, just make sure your window is closed. the first night we were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daydreamingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last November for 11 nights and we loved every bit of it. It was exactly how you see it in pictures and though small, it was very clean and had a nice cool vibe to it. Decor was minimal yet trendy and we felt like hipsters! Staff were very friendly and helpful especially in getting us a taxi to the airport during rush hour.

Loved the location and was very pleased we chose this area as opposed to the busy and noisy mid town. It felt safe even on our walks back very late at night. It made us feel a little more local compared to the touristy areas, which was something we really loved.

We had a room facing the main street and honestly we weren't affected by the noise at all.

I would definitely recommend anyone whose looking for a trendy boutique hotel slightly off the beaten track (yet super accessible)!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSY07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from our 4th stay at the Nolitan, and looking forward to our 5th. This little gem of a hotel is located in a great neighborhood - still basically undiscovered by tourists, yet close to the best areas. The rooms are small but kept immaculately clean and the public areas are comfortable, but the best part of the Nolitan is the staff. From housekeeping to the front desk, General Manager Jennifer Villanueva has assembled a terrific cast. Warm, friendly and attentive - these people really care about their guests. A very, very special thanks to Sire and Stephanie, who went above and beyond to take care of us, and to make my husband's birthday special. Thank you so much, and we'll see you soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is clean and modern.The ceilings are concrete and the floors are wood. They have a rain shower with clear glass walls and a separate toilet with its own little room, for life's little emergencies. The layout is great which works out since the space is pretty small. We had a balcony overlooking Kenmare which was nice to watch traffic coming off the Williamsburg bridge and for people watching. The noise wasn't so bad as we were on the 7th floor. The employees of this hotel had to be the friendliest we have ever encountered. We got an early check in, which i had prayed for but didn't expect. They called us the day before our arrival to ask if we needed anything specifically upon check in. They offer free bikes and skateboards while you are a guest at the hotel. They have robes and slippers which are very comfortable.They offer free wifi. They now have a restaurant and bar next to the lobby. The rooftop views are amazing and breathtaking, You could see the WTC and the Williamsburg bridge unobstructed. Its centrally located, smack dab between chinatown,little italy,lower east side,east village,soho and the west village. We only had to take a cab once while we were there.I cant stop recommending this hotel on all fronts. I am definitely going to be staying there again when we go in August.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmatysik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing