We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good position, very nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #106 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good position, very nice staff”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

As said - it is a trendy hotel, in the best area of nyc with very neighbourly staff. We stayed there for seven nights: very safe and professional, and the staff know nyc very well (arranged rangers-tickets for madison sq g.).
The room felt very nice, not to small for two people. We had an ordinary room at 5th floor - did hear the traffic outside, but that didnt botter me - i´m usually sensitive for sounds, but the vague sound from traffic actually made me drowsy.
Though, you will hear when people are passing by in the hallway. But as soon as the entered their room, you will not hear them.
The breakfast is: tea/coffee, yoghurt and bagel with cream cheese and jelly. Nothing more nothing less. It could be worse.
My advice: unless you really really bothered with the gentle sound of nyc-traffic - stay at the Nolitan! It is a really nice place where you get to know a magnificent and genuin part of nyc (bars, restaurants, boutiques). Nolitan is personally and professional, with a very good vibe.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    212
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
122
430
77
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A fabulous haven in a great city - the Nolitan is a must for your short NYC break. Great service from their very committed staff. Excelent transport links - Book it, it's worth it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We liked this hotel for a number of reasons. It is small so you don't feel like a number and the staff was very friendly and helpful. While the room was a little small (it is New York), it had a great view of the Empire State Bldg., Crysler Bldg., etc.. Our only complaint was the fan for the heater/ac was loud so we turned it off and opened the balcony door. We were on the 8th floor with a balcony, and the roof deck is awesome. It's a great neighborhood and close to so many things. We were in midtown one day and thanked ourselves for not staying up there. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money to get a high floor and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I was so happy with my stay at The Nolitan. The property is very nice - nothing over-the-top; everything functional, well designed, clean asthetics, beautiful wood. The service was exceptional. Plus it is in a very cool neighbor. It's not the Ritz, but I would much rather stay at the Nolitan again. And I look forward to it!

Room Tip: My room was on the street but it was fine, and I'm a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Wonderful new boutique hotel...staff couldn't have been any better..helpful in every way, from recommendations to directions to professionalism with ever present friendly and cheerful dispositions. Service was perfect without being intrusive or stuffy. Location is great...easy walk to Nolita, SoHo, Little Italy, East Village and a short walk to subway access for greater distances. Light continental breakfast included is plenty to hold you over until lunch. The rooms are so nicely laid out and apportioned that the size was not a factor at all. The bed was very comfortable and simple, contemporary decorating was perfect. Upon check-in, we were even asked what time we would like to have our room cleaned each day. Special touches included a hand-written note, a bag of pistachios and chocolate upon check-in, special turn down chocolates on our pillows each night accompanied by a weather forecast for the following day. The tenth floor roof-top is a beautiful place to spend a sunset or to view the city at night. The hotel is very quiet, which is a welcome reprieve to the noise and hustle and bustle of most sections of NYC. Our room was located directly across from the elevator and we were not bothered by noise even one time during our stay. We will definitely stay at the Nolitan when we return to New York and highly recommend it to all!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel32037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

good localization in Soho! Staff was really caring and helpfull in a lot of ways. Room was perfect and the bed, incredibly comfortable. COmplimentary continental breakfast is ok and if you want some different choices, there are plenty nearby the hotel!
I would stay at Nolitan again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I am from New Jersey now living in California. While looking for a hotel to stay at for Spring Break we found the Nolitan. We spent two nights and loved it. The people who work there are extremely friendly and helpful. Ben at the front desk made us feel like family. The doorman showed my photographer husband the roof one night and he took photos of the panoramic view. Our room (with a king bed) was good size by New York standards and beautifully appointed. There was even a yoga mat in the closet for our use. The continental breakfast was delicious. There are free bikes and skateboards to get around the neighborhood. But most of all the hotel's design and location are what we carried away with us. It is a beautiful building that blends with its surroundings. I remember this area when I was growing up and it was sketchy and unsafe. Now there are great shops, wonderful restaurants (try Public). We walked through Chinatown to the Financial District over to Tribeca up to Soho and back to the hotel. After staying in Midtown the first part of the week, Nolita is a refreshing change. I can't say enough about how wonderful this hotel is and they deserve all the praise they are getting.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#7 of 467 in New York City
424 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#35 of 467 in New York City
372 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#80 of 467 in New York City
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#83 of 467 in New York City
760 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
494 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#87 of 467 in New York City
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing