We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #134 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Patterson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We loved everything about this hotel, from the modern design to the friendly service. Great location with a fantastic view from the balcony. They thought of everything, we couldn't have been happier with our experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    215
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
125
434
77
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at the Nolitan for three nights. The hotel is modern and new, and caters to a younger dare-I-say hipster crowd (skateboards and iPads available to borrow), at a more affordable price point (usually) than The Standard or other popular boutique hotels.

The room was small, as is typical for NYC but the space is used well. Wood floors, a lot of concrete surfaces and modern furniture. Windows are decent sized but a little high off the ground, giving the room decent light but a little bit more of a boxy feel than the floor-to-ceiling windows at The Standard or The Bowery. Because of the extensive use of wood and concrete, the acoustics on our floor were not great -- you could pretty much hear sounds from many nearby rooms. And on the 4th floor, we did get some street noise.

Service was super helpful and sincerely friendly.

The location is ideal if you're spending most of your time in the Nolita, SoHo, Chinatown, or Lower East Side. Subway access is convenient to the F, 6, B, and D lines -- transfer required for the A/C/E line so other locations are more convenient if you're focused on the west side.

Overall, we'd stay there again so long as the prices continue to be more reasonable than other higher profile hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikelovesutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The nolitan is comfortable, hip,well located, and friendly. The rooms are smallish but very well designed. The beds are terrific with high end linens which were much appreciated. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The gum balls at the front desk were a guilty pleasure. The ny noise wasn't bad but it exists. A great place to stay to explore soho, with many good restaurant choices nearby. I was a female traveling solo and felt perfectly safe.

Room Tip: You don't needs balcony; the rooftop is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

i stayed at the hotel four nights 2 weeks ago. I stayed in a room with balcony at 8th floor.
The room was amazing! Maybe a tad small but very comfortable and beautifully designed. When I walked in, I immediately had a great view over the city, even the big shower does not have walls but glass and I saw the empire state building through it! The bathroom was very clean and well-designed. The bed was extremely comfortable with a beautiful bedhead in marble. The balcony, made of wood and steel, has a beautiful little bench, you could just stay outside for a long time enjoying the view and the life of the neighborhood. You can find in the room a lot of amenities, a beautiful umbrella, a variety of snacks, ultra comfortable bathrobe, beverages at small prices.

The lounge and the rooftop are wonderful. The rooftop, even if it was February, was enjoyable, and offered great views either towards Midtown and Lower Manhattan. There are several benches with ashtrays, ideal if you want to enjoy a cigarette after breakfast. The included continental breakfast is very good and served in the lounge which is very cozy.

The staff was great too. Very kind without being intrusive.
The room services are good, you get a newspaper very early and delicious chocolates for the night.

The location is perfect. It is close to subway stations, so you can get to midtown quickly during the day, but for the night you are already in the best place. At walking distance you can find a lot of great restaurants, cafes and bars. Many of them newly opened and crowded! Nolita is a really great neighborhood and it is the perfect place in order to appreciate New York, especially during the week end.

There are a lot of other small details, difficult to explain, that make this hotel really outstanding. It will be hard not to choose it again when I will be back to New York City.

Room Tip: I really loved the balcony, so my advice is to choose one with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Nolitan is a real gem of a downtown boutique hotel: super chic, minimalist, edgy, as you would expect downtown---yet also warm, comfortable and welcoming. Yes, the rooms are on the smaller side (this is New York, after all! ). but so very stylish, comfortable and well-appointed that you don't mind. I honestly didn't want to leave my corner neighborhood king--it was like a fabulous glass cocoon, especially on a rainy night. And I loved sampling the reasonably-priced gourmet treats in the mini- bar.

And since the hotel opened last summer, the service has really blossomed. It is genuinely friendly and attentive, without being over-bearing, and the entire staff really strives to meet
your every request promptly. How very refreshing, and what a contrast to the usual "attitude" and complete indifference I've experienced at other downtown hotels like the Thompsons.

The location is fantastic, with Little Italy, Soho, Nolita, Noho, Greenwich Village etc within easy walking distance. The shopping is divine and there are countless great restaurants---Emporio, Tartinery, Pulino's, Peasant, Public, Epistrophy, Lombardi's Pizza--- nearby.

All in all, this hotel is a delightful find.

Room Tip: The glass corner rooms are amazing. Lovely views on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakelore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, DE
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We booked through Tablet and had two room this past weekend. The front desk staff is outstanding. They called us two days prior to ask for any special accomodations that we needed. They then went and proceeded to contact our restaurant of choice for that Sat night dinner and told us how to work 'the system'.
The check in was extremly quick.
The rooms, though small for non NYC rooms, were very clean, comfortable with a tremendous view of NYC skyline. The bed was comfortable. The mini bar was very inexpensive ($3-4 for a Corona).
Cant wait till the rooftop bar is open again for drinks 10 stories up with a view of the Trade center and empire state building.
Breakfast was strong coffee and danishes.
Check out was simple and easy. They called a car for us to get back to Penn Station.
Around there is The Smith, yerba, McSorleys, Bleeker Street and Little Italy and Chinatown.
Overall great to be in/near the village.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We first arrived before our room was ready, but we checked our bags, and they told us what room we'd be in, before we headed out to explore the neighborhood. We returned, and they put us in our room (not the same number as they had mentioned at check in), and I was NOT impressed. Really, no room for anything but the bed, with a gorgeous view of...the brick parking garage next door. Needless to say, I was very disappointed given the price that we were paying, and I called down to the front desk to ask what had happened to our original room. We didn't get a full answer, but we did get moved to a room with a view of New York. Not much larger, but at least a view. The lobby is chic and the neighborhood is young and fresh, but I think I'll stay elsewhere when I'm in New York next time.

Room Tip: make sure that you are facing the city and not the parking garage!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 467 in New York City
454 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#64 of 467 in New York City
473 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#92 of 467 in New York City
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#77 of 467 in New York City
877 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
596 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#89 of 467 in New York City
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing