We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated Coolness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #115 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Understated Coolness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Nolitan is no doubt an up scale designer boutique hotel… but in an understated and low key way. It doesn’t scream at you but welcomes you with its style and thoughtful and refined touches. This is a hotel where you want your city slicker friends to meet you at so they know you are in the know.

The service is friendly from the moment you walk in. There are touches everywhere, from the apples at the checkin desk, the welcome package with discounts from local Nolita retailers, to the throwback bicycles for free guest’s use, to the a great stylish lobby and seating area to await your uptown business acquaintances or friends.

The views from our room (and I think most rooms since the hotel faces north) are incredible, full Manhattan skyline with a great unobstructed view of the Empire State Building. The rooms are a cross between industrial and minimalist chic, full of nice amenities, a yoga mat, slippers, robes, flat screen TV, etc. Room were just enough space and had turn down service. The bed was super comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. There was even free wi-fi which for some reason I had trouble getting onto so the front desk immediately came up to my room and fumbled with my laptop and made it work.

The hotel is in an excellent location within walking distance of most downtown spots. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, Ellabess, which serves new American cuisine. The food was refreshing and seasonal for the summer. Service was attentive. Especially memorable was their version of the clam chowder, which is “deconstructed” and featured raw clams.

Our entire stay at the Nolitan was stress free. And at the end, we felt we had stayed at a hotel that will very shortly be the talk of the town among the in crowd.

Room Tip: Save one night for dinner at Ellabess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank join_me_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    211
    46
    23
    14
See reviews for
121
426
77
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Joy the one who helps you book the rooms is excellent at her job and is more than just a person on the other line...check in was good we were early and they got us in by 2pm....then I got a text from chase that they put a 150 dollar hold on my debit card I think I should have been told at check in especially since it was a debit card....the room was awesome, really clean modern and fun. They even refreshed the room while we were out for dinner but the slamming if the door next to us by the help was unprofessional though I must note it was during the day and they did not start again til about 830am again.... The staff though were really nice and helpful but we came back to hotel for a drink and asked the bartender if he was still serving and then the night doorman came running after us and said no bar is closed and he was not nice at all no smiles no help no jokes and took care of traffic up the street better than hotel guests but the day doorman I think Felix was amazing and delightful. The only other issue now is my entire stay was credited and I have no charge so before work tomorrow I have to go to chase and find out what is going on....I would return because it was sooo clean and location and day time staff but I will book with third party like hotels.com and then give credit card for their 150 dollar hold since the billing is obviously screwy........But it was one of the nicest places in nyc

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katiejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Nolitan is a first class hotel, and as soon as you step in the door you are greeted by a warm staff that makes you feel welcome and comfortable. The service is impeccable from the bell hop to the waitstaff at the amazing ellabess restaurant. This hotel is the full package, a home away from home in a modern shell with a bed that will make you want to stay inside and sleep all day. A serene retreat in the city that never sleeps.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JokieWestchester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

From the minute we walked in the lobby we felt at home! The entire staff was friendly and made us feel comfortable. The rooms were extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. Loved the amenities like robe and slippers. Nice complimentary Voss water. The balcony was nice to look out at the neighborhood. The entire hotel had a cool vibe. It's location in Nolita was perfect for enjoying great restaurants and sights nearby. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

I came down from New Hampshire for the weekend and stayed at the recently opened Nolitan, in the downtown area of Manhattan known as Nolita (North of Little Italy). The hotel looked good from what I saw on line, but being there was far better, truly a unique experience.

I travel frequently in Europe and this hotel has the details, feel, sensibility and panache of the top boutique Euro hotels one finds in Paris, Barcelona, Rome and Berlin. Virtually every accoutrement was unique - the soap, the cement ceilings, the incredibly bed and pillows with a cashmere throw, the free standing bathtub and of course the view of downtown from the room and a spectacular 360 degree view of Manhattan from the roof garden.

The service was amiable without being intrusive - intuitive is a good word - and it was hard to believe the Nolitan has only been open for a couple of weeks. Free bicycles, a stint and the local health club and many extras make one feel well cared for and special.

The location is perfect, at the epicenter of Nolita - with boutique shops (virtually no chain stores) of every kind along Elizabeth, Mott and Mulberry. Restaurants of every stripe abound in the area, but the best may be the one in the Nolitan, "Ellabess" simply gorgeous decor and wonderful food. The Hotel is also just above the heart of Chinatown, which provides a nice contrast to the trendy Nolitan pathways and the nearby SoHo megashops. The entire area provides hours of interesting walking.

Room Tip: I would book early, but all the rooms seem great. Some with corner views, others with terraces, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flutewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Hip cool spot just opened, special touches with night turn down. Valet & bell staff are exceptional. Rooms are NYC chic, love the hardwood floors with area rugs, concrete ceilings. Comfortable bed, not hard or soft, bright natural lighting. So much in walking distance, Little Italy, So-Ho, Chinatown, restaurants clubs. Love the "fishbowl" shower where you can watch tv from there. I will return to this hotel on my next biz trip to Manhattan

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbmuscle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

My stay at The Nolitan was absolutely perfect. From the moment I arrived I was greeted by smiling friendly faces. Throughout my stay every single member of the staff was extremely attentive. The check-in process was quick and painless. The room exceeded my expectations, it was evident that every single detail was well thought out. I personally loved the bath & body products from Red Flower, the ipod/iphone dock, the cashmere throw and the complimentary copy of the NYTimes to name a few.

Another highlight of the hotel is the location which provides some spectacular views. Make sure to visit the rooftop! Step right out and you'll find yourself right in the heart of Nolita and a few quick steps from SoHo & Chinatown. I was able to take a quick jog to the Hudson for a morning run the next day.

Also, recommend Ellabess right at the hotel. While I wasn't able to go there for dinner, breakfast was absolutely delicious! Everything I tried was amazing!

While I was only able to spend one night, I felt right at home. The only bad about my stay was having to leave!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandragp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing