We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bountiful Bliss in a Bustling City”
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #140 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bountiful Bliss in a Bustling City”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Nolitan is a first class hotel, and as soon as you step in the door you are greeted by a warm staff that makes you feel welcome and comfortable. The service is impeccable from the bell hop to the waitstaff at the amazing ellabess restaurant. This hotel is the full package, a home away from home in a modern shell with a bed that will make you want to stay inside and sleep all day. A serene retreat in the city that never sleeps.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JokieWestchester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    213
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
124
430
77
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

From the minute we walked in the lobby we felt at home! The entire staff was friendly and made us feel comfortable. The rooms were extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. Loved the amenities like robe and slippers. Nice complimentary Voss water. The balcony was nice to look out at the neighborhood. The entire hotel had a cool vibe. It's location in Nolita was perfect for enjoying great restaurants and sights nearby. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I came down from New Hampshire for the weekend and stayed at the recently opened Nolitan, in the downtown area of Manhattan known as Nolita (North of Little Italy). The hotel looked good from what I saw on line, but being there was far better, truly a unique experience.

I travel frequently in Europe and this hotel has the details, feel, sensibility and panache of the top boutique Euro hotels one finds in Paris, Barcelona, Rome and Berlin. Virtually every accoutrement was unique - the soap, the cement ceilings, the incredibly bed and pillows with a cashmere throw, the free standing bathtub and of course the view of downtown from the room and a spectacular 360 degree view of Manhattan from the roof garden.

The service was amiable without being intrusive - intuitive is a good word - and it was hard to believe the Nolitan has only been open for a couple of weeks. Free bicycles, a stint and the local health club and many extras make one feel well cared for and special.

The location is perfect, at the epicenter of Nolita - with boutique shops (virtually no chain stores) of every kind along Elizabeth, Mott and Mulberry. Restaurants of every stripe abound in the area, but the best may be the one in the Nolitan, "Ellabess" simply gorgeous decor and wonderful food. The Hotel is also just above the heart of Chinatown, which provides a nice contrast to the trendy Nolitan pathways and the nearby SoHo megashops. The entire area provides hours of interesting walking.

Room Tip: I would book early, but all the rooms seem great. Some with corner views, others with terraces, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flutewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Hip cool spot just opened, special touches with night turn down. Valet & bell staff are exceptional. Rooms are NYC chic, love the hardwood floors with area rugs, concrete ceilings. Comfortable bed, not hard or soft, bright natural lighting. So much in walking distance, Little Italy, So-Ho, Chinatown, restaurants clubs. Love the "fishbowl" shower where you can watch tv from there. I will return to this hotel on my next biz trip to Manhattan

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbmuscle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My stay at The Nolitan was absolutely perfect. From the moment I arrived I was greeted by smiling friendly faces. Throughout my stay every single member of the staff was extremely attentive. The check-in process was quick and painless. The room exceeded my expectations, it was evident that every single detail was well thought out. I personally loved the bath & body products from Red Flower, the ipod/iphone dock, the cashmere throw and the complimentary copy of the NYTimes to name a few.

Another highlight of the hotel is the location which provides some spectacular views. Make sure to visit the rooftop! Step right out and you'll find yourself right in the heart of Nolita and a few quick steps from SoHo & Chinatown. I was able to take a quick jog to the Hudson for a morning run the next day.

Also, recommend Ellabess right at the hotel. While I wasn't able to go there for dinner, breakfast was absolutely delicious! Everything I tried was amazing!

While I was only able to spend one night, I felt right at home. The only bad about my stay was having to leave!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandragp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Our stay at the Nolitan Hotel was an experience like no other. The attention to detail from the face of the structure to the toiletry packaging, was impeccable and first class. The hotel itself has a modern, clean-cut feel while still feeling like a cozy home away from home, with small touches like a red absolutely divine and smooth to the touch throw, daily NY Times delivery and a bowl of fresh, crisp apples waiting for you at the front desk. We just melted into the bedding and pillows at the end of our eventful day strolling through the streets of Nolita. It was the kind of sleep you can only dream of. From the before dinner relaxing on the balcony of our room, taking in the amazing view, to our midnight rendezvous up the elevator and out onto the rooftop, allowing a panoramic view of the midnight NYC skyline, the scenery and unique views from the Nolitan were truly an amazing treat. 
We were treated like royalty from the moment the door man let us into the hotel, introducing himself and shaking our hands, to the deligful front desk check-in and tour of the amenities in our room and amazing turn-down service, including a card left on your pillow hilighting the weather forecast for the following day-another example of how the staff strives to care for your every need, leaving only one job for you-Enjoy, relax and truly experience the life of a Nolitan!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JetSetter1435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Hotel just opened. Since it's in Nolita, we found it to be located within close walking distance to the stores and restaurants we love. Our room was on the ninth floor w/balcony facing uptown - great views. Room was thoughtfully laid out with attention to detail. Loved the concrete ceilings, glass shower, venetian plaster, wood floors, and just right bed. Couldn't catch dinner in the hotel restaurant (ellabess) just too busy. But we managed breakfast there and it had a real wow factor including the $10 to $14 price range. Can't wait to go back. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank copnyct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#10 of 468 in New York City
440 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#59 of 468 in New York City
453 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 468 in New York City
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#87 of 468 in New York City
581 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#91 of 468 in New York City
636 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing