We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic, Delicious and Cheap!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xi'an Famous Foods

Xi'an Famous Foods
Ranked #1,363 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Fast Food, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic, Delicious and Cheap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This place has great food. We had the spicy lamb burger and the lamb noodle soup. Both were fantastic! And a great price value, especially for New York City. The lamb burger was only 3.50 and it filed me up! The inside of the place is small, but food comes out quickly so the is plenty of turnover and places to sit

Helpful?
Thank III_owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    67
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Real Hand Ripped Noodles on the Upper West Side!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

The noodles here are fresh, chewy, delicious! The price is right too! AND, now there is a shop right on the upper west side! Can things get any better?? But really, go to Xi'an. You will love there noodles (and their other offerings as well)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clifford K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Must-do for the Noodles!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is not a fancy place by any means. If you love noodles and appreciate fresh noodles and spice, you would enjoy this joint. It is however a hole in the wall with very limited communal seating. The menu is limited but the dishes will not disappoint if you choose well. Tip: there is a lamb face salad on the menu that literally serves up every part including the eyeballs of the lamb. If you don't care for "bizarre" foods, stick with pork or lamb noodles, soup or dry; both are good. To get a seat, go before or after rush hour (before noon and after 2 for lunch) and (before 6 pm for dinner) for any meal of the day. Forewarning: you are not coming here for the ambience but for a good low key meal, communal style. Stay away from the single restroom stall that they have. Its tiny beyond NYC standards and almost disgusting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LL608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
296 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I want to their East village place…
Had a pork "Zha Jiang" noodels, and a Jasmine Tea - it was OK.
Nothing more than that - the noodles were a bit chewy to my taste - its a fast food little place, nothing to say for the atmosphere, there are pictures of the food on the wall, what you see is what you get…
Don't expect too much...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not my cup of noodles”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Tried Xi'an today at the 24 W. 45th Street location. It was nice to try something different and I can tell that many people love this restaurant; it was nearly full as soon as it opened at 11 a.m. I tried the pork and noodle soup. The flavors were good and I liked the spice profile, but the pork in my bowl was very fatty and was tough to eat. If I went back I would probably try something with lamb. The inside of the restaurant is uncomfortable and is definitely a tough place to eat if you are in a group of more than two people. The interior feels like you are eating inside a giant restroom because of the tile and colors. It's probably a better take-out place. I think I get why so many food critics have given this place rave reviews, but it wasn't really for me. I do think this place has very fair prices and I am totally willing to sacrifice things like restaurant decor for a fair price. They had a fun music playlist too. Oh, and make sure you bring cash - no cards accepted.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FRIENDinPA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an Famous Foods also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an Famous Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing