We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really?”

Soldiers Sailors Marines Club
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Soldiers Sailors Marines Club
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have been around, in the U.S. and in Europe and we've stayed in many military lodging facilities, but this takes the cake. It is poorly kept up (i.e.: duct tape on the air conditioner attempting to hold it in the window), an air conditioner that doesn't blow out cool air. It also it is need of a good cleaning. Ok, I know it's New York City, and a wonderful location but I feel that this facility is an insult to the military.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lucille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

It was my first time in New York City and I have to say that staying at this place could not have been a better experience. The room was sparse, but I was only staying there to sleep. The rooms, bathrooms, and showers were immaculate. I really have nothing but good things to say about my stay at the Soldier, Sailor, Airman, and Marine Club and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geekgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is a good value if you're just looking for a place to crash. It is not fancy by any stretch of the imagination, but decent. It is available only to military folks and the living conditions are dorm-like. You are sharing a room with strangers (unless you are lucky to have enough people in your party to get one room for all of you) and you are sharing the bathrooms. The best thing about this hotel is its location, right off the FDR and away from the traffic of midtown Manhattan.

Room Tip: The windows are very thin so you feel the cold and hear all the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lvngstrng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Totally cool place to stay! The old building is nearly 100 years old and is open to members of military, or public service (ie firemen, policemen), reserves, retired, etc. A real gem - tons of character & charm with all the old military pix on the walls, architecture, etc. We were two couples - Gunny & Me, my daughter & her boyfriend.

Okay, it is a little faded; it could do with some updating: it needs new paint, new bedspreads (ours was faded and torn), tile floors in baths need bleached and scrubbed, newer furniture in rooms and common areas) It really looked like nothing had changed since about 1970. There was some junk piled in back corners and rooms.

BUT, that said - it's a great place for the price! Yeah, the room was tiny, but it was clean. Yes, the bathrooms and showers are down the hall and shared, but again, clean. Towels, shampoo, etc provided.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The little canteen in the back of the building offered a vending machine, cold water, ice and plenty of coffee, tea, hot chocolate and bagels every morning. Microwave available if you wanted. TV's and books in the common rooms, wi-fi access plus computers in the 1st floor lounge. Lots of Christmas decor when we were there.

It's in a good location - walking distance to Times Square, Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping - all just a few blocks away. Lots of cool little shops and eateries along the way.

It's not the Ritz, but that's why it's so affordable - they charge by the BED, not the Room (ie - you might share if you're solo - like a European hostel.) We had a lovely time, and would definitely stay again - you can't beat the price in Manhattan!

(It would be nice to see some Veteran's or Police organization adopt this place and put a couple hundred thousand dollars into it to make it the showplace it has the potential to be) Or how about Mayor Bloomberg or Donald Trump? Or Zuckerberg? C'mon guys - For the Vets and public servants!

Room Tip: You just have to take what you get - they rent BEDS, not rooms! But they were very amenable to our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeckAndGunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is for military and their families, as well as police and firefighters. The rooms are substantially cheaper then other hotels in NYC. The rate per person and it is based on rank and age. This hotel does not have an elevator and the family rooms are on the fourth floor. Our family room had six twin beds in it and a desk. There was also a tv with cable and an ac unit in the window. Bathrooms and showers are shared by gender. Each morning in the lobby they provided free coffee and free bagels. There is free wifi in the building and computers and printers on the main floor.

There are two subway stations nearby. There is no parking, but they will give you a coupon at the checkin desk for parking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommyTravels_net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day stay at the club. What a cool place! Very historic, comfortable, and friendly place to stay! I was there with my husband and 14 year old daughter. My husband and I are both retired military so felt very comfortable in this atmosphere. The club is very comparable with a nice BOQ. If you get that, you will know what to expect and won't be disappointed that this isn't a traditional hotel. That being said, they provide bagels, coffee, and oatmeal free for breakfast, great advice on how to get around, a great location just a few blocks from Grand Central Station, the Morgan Library, and the New York Public Library - Main Branch. We felt very safe in MidTown as well and it was relatively quiet. We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have stayed here four times while visiting New York City. If you are simply looking for a place to sleep and qualify to stay, this is a great choice. The location is fantastic - Mid-town, Murray Hill, close to Grand Central and bus lines. I usually travel by myself here and have always considered this area relatively safe. The bathrooms/showers were renovated since my last stay and are more pleasant. I enjoy the library to relax and watch a little TV if I'm in by early evening. I enjoy breakfast at Scotty's down the street which always seems to be bustling during the weekday mornings.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorCaliTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 473 in New York City
5,071 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 473 in New York City
12,060 reviews
Midtown
YOTEL New York
YOTEL New York
#140 of 473 in New York City
11,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#419 of 473 in New York City
562 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 473 in New York City
7,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soldiers Sailors Marines Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soldiers Sailors Marines Club

Address: 283 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3540
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 162 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing