We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
8
37
43
17
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
37
43
17
46
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 151 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Good location for most travelers and convenient to public transportation, drug stores, restaurants, bars and shopping. New hostel that just changed from Pink in the City--all female to "Jazz on Amsterdam" which is co-ed. FIRST, the hostel needs lockers badly. There is nowhere to lock your gear--computer, camera, extra cash, cards, etc. This is a SECURITY RISK as the building is mixed use and many people in elevators who have access to rooms and bathrooms are not guests and are older males - some who look pretty shabby. SECOND, the basement lounge needs to be able to be reached by the elevator or stairs as the current street level only entry is NOT SAFE for guests. One can't tell who the guests are and who a street person might be! HUMMM! 3) outside of building needs to be better cleaned...during heavy snow, the trash piled up in front of hotel and the trash cans OVERFLOW with trash everyday leading to rats galore. So prepare for some pesky visitors in your bags as mouse and rats are here to stay! Yikes! 4) TOO many smokers on the front steps and along the street to breathe! You can smell the smokers inside the rooms from the air drifting into the windows. Yuck! The smoking outside the building needs to be limited or stopped. Wish people would go across the street to smoke where it doesn't drift into building so badly. 5) Noisy on Weekend nights for first floor rooms. BEWARE! and get an upper floor. Make sure the bathroom drapes are closed as one can see people in other buildings and they can see you naked in the showers!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iScout4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Grate place to stay

It is no longer an all-girl hostel – Jazz Hostels took over, and it is still great.
The location is excellent, very close to subway , rooms a big and comfortable, everything looks new. Bathrooms are very clean

I would definitely come back

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

This is a really great hostel in a very safe and excellent location on the Upper Westside. Busses and Metro within 2-5 minute walking distance. Central Park can also be reached by foot within 15 mins walk. Times Square and Downtown are within 10-25 minutes by Subway. Supermarket right around the corner. Everything very convenient!

Friendly staff and very clean rooms! (NO bedbugs!!!) Brand-new bathrooms, super clean and really large showers, just as I like it! Housekeeping excellent and the front door was 24/7 locked, it was only opened upon ringing the bell and being checked by reception thru a camera lense. Kitchen was great, although I didn't use it ... but I sat there one morning for coffee and felt very comfy. The Lounge in the basement is much more comfy, WiFi excellent downstairs as well ... no need to go outside to enter the basement as it can be accessed by escalator. On another note, the basement door to the street was closed at all times, when I was sitting in the Lounge. So, overall a very safe feeling!

I will definitely stay here again when I'm going back to NYC this year :-)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coriace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

I stayed at Pink in the City for 9 nights in December 2010.
The good:
+ Staff were lovely, very friendly and accomodating.
+ Great location, on the upper west side. Not touristy at all which was just lovely. Very close to all kinds of transport and Central Park.
+ Free wifi makes life easier
+ Kitchen, and lounge room are very modern and a great place to meet other solo travellers.
+ Bed bug free!!!!!!
+ Decent beds, and fairly spacious rooms

The bad:
- Mice. And a lot of them. There are signs everywhere forbidding food in any of the dorm rooms for very good reason. Take the hint people!!
- Housekeeping is not a particular strong point.
- Rooms on the ground floor are exposed to a good deal of noise all night as the kitchen is right across the hall.

Overall, the good outweighs the bad and I would definately stay there again. Location and staff made this place for me.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I just stayed at "Pink in the City' in New York and it was a really great hostel! it is literally around the corner from the subway, and a 24hr CVS (if u wanted to get a late night snack or something and didnt want to go too far) I felt safe travelling home at night (around midnight - 1am) as it is located off Broadway which is a busy street. i was in the 4 bedroom with en suite room, but there was only me and one other girl there for the three nights i stayed. It was very quiet at night and although i brought ear plugs i didnt need them. The room was clean and warm and i really couldnt have asked for anymore at the price!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulaj86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews