We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock of Ages - CLOSED

Rock of Ages
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We went to this play with 5 teenagers and 3 adults. One of the adults was threatening to "sing along with all of her favorite songs." We were all mortified and told her so. As it turns out, the cast actually wants you to sing along! Who knew? The play is actually presented more like a live rock concert, with a party atmosphere. It was the most fun! I only wish we had had the foresight to dress up in '80's garb, like one group of women we saw on the way out. The cast all came out after and spent time signing autographs and taking pictures. They were great!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQinHou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    941
    243
    83
    21
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rock of Ages :-(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Had a great seat -- front row of balcony. Let me be honest -- two friends of mine told me they loved the show and it was great... Somehow it didn't cut it (and I love Broadway). It reminded me of a very good high school play. And to be very honest -- everyone in the show was very talented -- and girl lead really should be a country music star (she was awesome)... but the show and story just didn't cut it with me.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfingMagazineLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, md
Level Contributor
137 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not for young children but funny, sassy and sexy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

I didn't personally go to this show but our two adult children went while we were in NYC. They are children of the 80's and loved it!!! Great singing, dancing, very smart and funny. However, the show is not suitable for children.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank tarapatiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

If you are a fan of the 80s this is your show. Many 80s references, great songs and they come around with beer during the performance (only broadway show that I know that does that)

Helpful?
3 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Blown Away!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

The show was fantastic..we must have been lucky because the cast performance was unbelievable..each actor/singer was great the storyline is fun and funny..if you like rock and roll you mus see this show..

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank PickyNewY0rker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock of Ages also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing