We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best room in the middle of NY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Fermin B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Fermin B&B
Ranked #1 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best room in the middle of NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

i stayed at Fermin's aparment for 2 nights, and it satisfied all the expectations. It's really worth it. I'm from Asia, and I've dreamed of staying at NY aparment as I watched a lot from TV programs like Sex and the City. lol Everything is very clean, and the location is good enough.. It was a really great experience to stay there and I will definately stay here again if I have chance.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaeyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
145
304
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

What else is there to add to the reviews of this wonderful bed and breakfast, but to confirm all that has been said before. Bernado had been extremely helpful and flexible before we even came - keeping in touch and responding to our myriad queries about the apartment and travel. He contacted us three days before arrival with advice on reaching him and a number to contact. There is a sense of perfection about the service. The apartment was spacious and cosy, well attended and quiet. Exceptional value in New York. Edgecombe avenue is a quiet road lined with a some lovely buildings, and the area is peaceful and perfectly safe. Travelling into lower Manhattan is a breeze and the subway is quick, safe and runs all night. The advantage of being in this part of Harlem, other than its relative peace, is that you are in the middle of a fascinating neighbourhood, which you might not get to see if you were staying in the usual tourist spots. Above all though, there is Bernado and Maite. They are available every morning to give you excellent tips on what to do and where to eat, beyond the generic advice of guide books and features, and are absolutely responsive to any request. For instance, we wanted to wash some clothes and asked for a plastic bowl. Maite went out and bought one for us the same day. New York is an incredible, inexhaustable, city - and we felt we were leaving far too soon; staying in San Firmin made it seem familiar too, and the leaving was all the sadder for it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Necleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendonk, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Spent 4 great days in NY with wife and 2 teenage daughters .
San Fermin apartment is nice and clean, pictures on the website give you clear idea.
We have to thank Bernardo for the good tips on discovering less known places in the city.
Furthermore he was very helpful getting us our subway tickets. Subway is only 2 min. away on 145 Street and will take you to midtown in 15 min.
Although somewhat cautious about the stay in Harlem before the trip, we must say that we thoroughly enjoyed the neighborhood and can highly recommend San Fermin for people who are looking for a place to stay away from the crowds.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yves D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Staying at San Fermin apartments definitely adds value to a New York City trip. Bernardo and Maité deliver the most useful recommendations. The location is excellent (nearby subway). Harlem is a safe and exciting neighbourhood to stay. The rooms are spacious and very clean. All amenities provided. Great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank etsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokesley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This must be the perfect place to stay in New York. Ease of access to all New York has to offer being just 2 minutes from the subway yet lovely and quiet to sleep away from the crowds. Don't be put off by Harlem it's a taste of the real New York away from the tourist traps. The apartment is brilliant comfortable and clean and the real bonus is Bernardo who gave us great advice every day of places to visit how to get there and meant we saw bits of New York we would never have found on our own. He even let us borrow their Citibikes so we could cycle through Central Park and told us the best place for food so we could picnic in the Spring sun. Don't stay anywhere else if visiting New York well recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nice people, very good appartment, and very nice neighbourghood. Away from the crowds, and just a 15 min. Ride with the Express subway train to downtown Manhattan. A perfect place. We where here for a week, and would be happy to stay here again next time in New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mic93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Marshall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I discovered San Fermin B&B on tripadvisor and even though I was concerned at first at staying in Harlem - I decided to listen to all the excellent reviews that this place had received on tripadvisor. Best decision I had made. All the reviews are correct and you won't be disappointed. The apartment was very clean, chic and the neighbourhood was very quiet and safe and so close to midtown using the subway which was only about a 2 min walk away. Bernado and his wife Maite are simply the best hosts. On the morning after we booked in Bernado personally took us down to the subway to help us purchase our weekly metro pass and then explained the subway. Also every morning they were on hand to help plan our day with really helpful ideas and places to see and eat. Maite, a fellow photographer gave me so much helpful advice as to the best places to photograph this amazing city. Don't look any further just stay here - we will again. Thank you Bernado and Maite!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeanneKanowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#4 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#48 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Fermin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Fermin B&B

Property: San Fermin B&B
Address: 195 Edgecombe Ave, New York City, NY 10030-1142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Harlem's Sugar Hill district in Uper Manhattan a safe and nice neighborhood, in a classic, early 20th-century New York City townhouse built in 1910 with original details. It is a few steps from the Subway station, where you are only 12 minutes from midtown Manhattan (Times Square ) and 2 stops from Central Park.A and D Express Train 24 hours.Subway Transportation from the Airport to our place with the A train. Neighborhood Services: Supermarket,pharmacy,laundry, nice restaurants,coffee places, Jazz Clubs, Gospel Music and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Fermin Bed And Breakfast
San Fermin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing