We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe and confortable stay in Harlem”
Review of San Fermin B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Fermin B&B
Ranked #1 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
framura
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A safe and confortable stay in Harlem”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

First let me say Harlem, despite its anachronistic fame, is a safe and nice district, really confortable to visit the city. Near San Fermin there are 4 lines of the subway, 2 minutes walking from the b&b. In 10 minutes you can get to Central Park and upper West Side, in 20 minutes Midtown and Eastside. Bernardo's B&B is situated in a quiet street and it's a confortable and typical house. Rooms are large, provided with bathroom and a little kitchen. For a same level accomodation in Downtown, you could spend triple price!
The owners are kind and well prepared in suggesting you the best and smart way to visit NY.
We'll go back there for sure!!
Andrea e Olivia
lendi.ti@gmail.com

Room Tip: There isn't any pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea_torresani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    42
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
157
313
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Both my wife and I stayed at the San Fermin B&B a full week and our time there was the best. Bernardo and Maite were so helpful and generous with their time in helping us get settled and then helping us with the subway which is literally a block away. We felt very safe the whole time. Its a differnent time now and its quite a beautiful area. We were able to get downtown in about 15mins via the express A train(subway) Bernardo even walked with us to the subway and helped us buy transit passes. Always at the ready with maps and suggestions of places to go and see. At night the neighborhood was quiet and restful. Sandy had blown thru during our time there and we never lost power or had any problems, see their facebook page for storm photos. There is free Wi-Fi so bring your laptops. The room was totally redone and a brand new bathroom has been added. In the kitchenette there is a microwave,toaster,coffee maker, refrig and dishes and silverware. Coffee and Tea were all included. Just a block away is a 24hr market where we stocked up on fruit and breakfast goodies. Again Bernardo and his wife Maite are special people. We just love them and already miss them. Stay here you'll thank me later.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinW354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were really happy with San Fermin - our room was really big and included a small kitchenette and had a separate bedroom. Bernardo was a great host and was really friendly and helpful, offering advice on the local area and New York in general. The B&B is about 5 mins walk to the subway and you can get down to Manhattan in about 20 mins. Don't be put off by staying in Harlem, it was fine and we had no problems at all. It was really quiet at night so we slept really well. I've stayed in Manhattan before when visiting New York but now would not hesitate to stay in Harlem again.

Stay here - you'll save a lot of money as compared to staying in Manhattan, you'll see a different part of New York (we really enjoyed a walk down through Harlem) and it's really well connected so you can get to other parts of NYC really easily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holiday_postcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days in NYC. We liked the area around the San Fermin B&B, quiet, safe, and more importantly out of the hustle and bustle of Central Park/Times Square areas. Our friends were a little skeptical about Harlem - conjuring up negative images of a rough and dirty area - but they couldn't have been more wrong! The subway station is 1 1/2 blocks away from the B&B and it only takes 20 minutes to get toTimes Square. Four lines stop there so you can go almost anywhere without transferring. Our room was not large but it was tastefully appointed with new appliances and fixtures and we were very comfortable. Nice to have microwave, fridge, toaster, coffeemaker (coffee and tea supplied). Free wifi in the room, and access to a computer in the hall for those without laptops. Bernardo was great and made some good suggestions of things for us to do and see. We felt we had a great place to stay at a very reasonable cost - what more could you ask for? Highly recommend it to anyone going to NYC.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I travelled with my family, total 6 persons, and stayed at the upper apartment. We found it very clean and nicely decorated. The 2 double rooms are spacious and the 3rd one is smaller than we expected but ok for children and young people.The area seemed very safe, even in the evening, the street was quiet , supermarket (24 hours open) and subway are close by and it was nice to return "home" at the end of the day. We are gratefull to Bernardo and Maite for all the help they gave us about things to do and how to get to most places. We would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peppers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here for one week with my mom. Bernardo really went out of his way for us. When we arrived, he showed us the pathway, the pharmacy, and helped us buying metro passes. We sat together every morning as he was explaining us the things to see and do, and how to get there. And when we left he helped carrying our suitcases to the metro station.
The room was abolutely gorgeous, very big, with a little kitchenette (fridge, toaster, microwave, coffee and tea,...) and spacious bathroom.
We felkt perfectly safe going out at night. Yes, it's a bit far from the centre but the subway A or D line brings you to Times Square in about 20 minutes. We preferred to pay less for a big apartment in Harlem, then to pay more for a tiny hotelroom in the centre.

If we come back to New York, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PoisonedIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I had a great stay at San Fermin B&B. The room is perfect, spacious, super clean in a typical NYC house--exact how I expected. It is in a nice area of Herlam, The neighbourhood is quiet, clean and safe. San Fermin is very 3 minutes walk to the nearest subway and C-store, and there is a bigger supper market if you walk 2 minutes more. You can very easily access to everywhere, if you like walking, it is only 15-20 minutes walk to central park. It is also very easy to access to Laguardia---by bus (5 dollars) or by taxi (25 dollars). The owner, Bernado and his wife, are super super nice, patient and willing to offer help. If I go back to NYC, this is where I'd like to stay again!

Room Tip: I had a room which was not by window, it was very quite. But i think even the rooms by the window ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepingpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 466 in New York City
1,385 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#395 of 466 in New York City
533 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#59 of 466 in New York City
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,356 reviews
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
618 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 466 in New York City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Fermin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Fermin B&B

Property: San Fermin B&B
Address: 195 Edgecombe Ave, New York City, NY 10030-1142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Harlem's Sugar Hill district in Uper Manhattan a safe and nice neighborhood, in a classic, early 20th-century New York City townhouse built in 1910 with original details. It is a few steps from the Subway station, where you are only 12 minutes from midtown Manhattan (Times Square ) and 2 stops from Central Park.A and D Express Train 24 hours.Subway Transportation from the Airport to our place with the A train. Neighborhood Services: Supermarket,pharmacy,laundry, nice restaurants,coffee places, Jazz Clubs, Gospel Music and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Fermin Bed And Breakfast
San Fermin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing