We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tribute To Terrible Time In American History”

The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.00*
and up
9/11 Memorial Museum Admission
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Small-Group Guided 9/11 Memorial Tour with Museum Tickets
More Info
$109.00*
and up
All-Access 9/11 Experience: Ground Zero Tour, 9/11 Memorial and Museum, One...
Ranked #2 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National September 11 Memorial & Museum is a place of remembrance honoring those who perished in the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 and February 26, 1993. The 9/11 Memorial consists of two massive pools set within the original footprints of the Twin Towers with 30-foot waterfalls cascading down their sides. The nearly 3,000 names of the men, women, and children killed in the attacks are inscribed into bronze parapets surrounding the twin Memorial pools. The 9/11 Memorial is open daily from 7:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. and is free to the public. The 9/11 Memorial Museum displays monumental artifacts linked to the events of 9/11, while presenting intimate stories of loss, compassion, reckoning and recovery that are central to telling the story of the 2001 and 1993 attacks and the aftermath. It also explores the global impact of 9/11 and its continuing significance. The 9/11 Memorial Museum is open Sun - Thu, 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m., last entry at 6:00 p.m. and Fri and Sat, 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m., last entry at 7:00 p.m. Tickets are required. Open Daily.
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent Tribute To Terrible Time In American History”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

During our trip to Super Bowl XLVIII we caught this Memorial. It was very humbling to stand on the ground of such a tragic event in American History. The memorial has been laid out in fantastic way, just wished we could have seen the museum that will be open soon.

To take in what once stood there and then look up to the new Freedom Tour just shows that we persevere. If you are ever in the area you should definitely try to attend and pay your respects.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68,999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52,968
    12,184
    2,957
    578
    312
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“after so long not finished?”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Long queue in the heat. not much finished. The reflection pools are good but museum not open.....so not really much to see except for pools and survivor tree!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 54clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We went there in february without making reservation. There was no queue to get in. It is FREE but everybody had to make a donation. Advised to donate $5 / $10. We were two and I donated ten dollars with my credit card. We had to ask for memorial wristbands you meant to get for a donation. The ticket person said rudely 'for ten dollars you get one' i found it rude as we were two people and each of us would like to have it for a memory.

Memorial itself is very inspiring and beautiful idea/design.
Definitely must do when in NYC

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank karlej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Touching”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Nice memorial for all the victims of the 9/11. At the place where once were the Twin Towers, not there are 2 huuuge fountains with the names of the people that died inscribed around the fountains. It's free, but you'll still need tickets to enter. The only thing I disliked is the enormous lines because of the security procedures. They check you like 100 times before you enter.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginija R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just...powerful...”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

America has by far the most amazing memorials I've ever seen and this is no exception.
I personally live on the other side of the world and didn't know anyone personally involved in the tragedy, however you cannot hear the stories and see this memorial and not be moved.

It's a beautiful legacy for those who were victims and is just such a powerful memorial.
We were able to chat with one of the volunteers who was there and learnt more about the architecture and design of the memorial and the ideas behind it which was really interesting.

If you see a volunteer, go up and have a chat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank leahcar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing