We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An important place in the world's history”

The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.00*
and up
9/11 Memorial Museum Admission
Ranked #2 of 1,078 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National September 11 Memorial & Museum is a place of remembrance honoring those who perished in the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 and February 26, 1993. The 9/11 Memorial consists of two massive pools set within the original footprints of the Twin Towers with 30-foot waterfalls cascading down their sides. The nearly 3,000 names of the men, women, and children killed in the attacks are inscribed into bronze parapets surrounding the twin Memorial pools. The 9/11 Memorial is open daily from 7:30 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. and is free to the public. The 9/11 Memorial Museum displays monumental artifacts linked to the events of 9/11, while presenting intimate stories of loss, compassion, reckoning and recovery that are central to telling the story of the 2001 and 1993 attacks and the aftermath. It also explores the global impact of 9/11 and its continuing significance. The 9/11 Memorial Museum is open Sun - Thu, 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m., last entry at 6:00 p.m. and Fri and Sat, 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m., last entry at 7:00 p.m. Tickets are required. Open Daily.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
309 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An important place in the world's history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'm sure everyone remembers where they were when the news came though of the first plane crashing into the first tower, and how we all felt. I often think about what the world was like before 9/11 - as I do a lot of air travel and security requirements have changed significantly.

For me, the visit to the 9/11 memorial site was really important, as it made me more aware of the event itself, the sheer number of people who lost their lives, and the changes that we have had to make to our every-day lives to accommodate terrorism.

It is difficult to provide a description of the site as my view will be different to others, as everyone goes into the site with a different emotional thought. So it is best to leave it you, to absorb the moment and reflect.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark&Rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49,531
    11,552
    2,829
    556
    289
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
172 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An Open Space But Busy & Hectic Too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The lines to get into the memorial were hectic and not organized. Highly recommend getting reserved tix online. That moved our party straight through to the reserved line.
The memorial site itself is large. The waterfalls in place of the buildings are astounding. The victims names are sobering. The volunteer guides were very interesting and had real-life stories of that horrible day. A must see is the survivor tree.
The plaza itself was pretty busy so it wasn't as sobering as one might find if there were more solitude.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank happymallqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flowood, ms
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful and memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a must see in NYC. It gets very crowded so try to go during the week or early in the day. If you stay at the Hilton millennium you get a perfect view of the memorial...If not, get your ticket across from the church and wait in line!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank frc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A must see for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everyone became a New Yorker on 9-11. We must not forget what happened. It took all morning to get in, but was well worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
251 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The logistics of handling so many people including a security check point was handled exceptionally well. My compliments to the operators. If you are looking for a name or a company directory, the computers on the east and west sides are great. I found the person that I was looking for very quickly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobtheBuilder39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing