We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Game changer for reluctant NY visitor”
other travelers have booked this property
Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden
King-size bed set-up option Twin beds set-up option
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Garden
King-size bed set-up option
Twin beds set-up option
Kitchen
Dine
Library
Hallway Entry
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Garden
Preparing for Halloween
The prettiest tree on the block
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
New York City, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
AscotVale...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Game changer for reluctant NY visitor”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I was reluctant to visit New York until our friends recommended staying at a Garden In Chelsea.( perhaps I'd been watching too many US crime shows) Safe ,walking distance to restaurants, the Chelsea market , a couple of subway stops from all the delights of Broadway the myriad of mind blowing museums and art galleries in Manhattan. For Australian readers it felt safer than staying in Carlton but with more convenient public transport and more variety of eating options . Karen and Paul our delightful hosts helped us with great clear directions and were able to give advice on restaurants and the best shows to see.The accommodation was roomy and very comfortable.Highly recommended

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
878Nicole
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Best place to stay”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great place to stay in a very central location. Very peaceful spot in Chelsea, providing a relaxing stay in busy NYC. There are great restaurants nearby providing plenty of choice. The owners Karen & Paul were extremely helpful in all aspects with this place proving to be a gem. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet street, but not far from anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffie
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect small apartment in quiet street”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Comfortable place, friendly owners, handy for grocery shops and restaurants, everything you need really. The area has been gentrifying, due to High Line nearby, so it wouldn't be for you if you were looking for urban grit.

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenaac
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from this gem in Chelsea after spending a week with an old school friend of 40 years. I looked at lots of places but chose this one based on the pictures, location and reviews. I was not disappointed.
The location is in a beautiful street lined with trees and it has its own private garden.
We were in the basement yet plenty of natural light and would imagine it is lovely in the summer with the doors and windows open. It is fully furnished with everything you could possibly need and indeed you could cook if you wanted to but why would you when you are surrounded by some wonderful local restaurants. There are deli's galore, bakers, galleries and even cleaners who do your laundry the same day and you pay by the pound( weight).
The High Line is down the road as is the Chelsea Pier where we went on a sailing trip down the river and had great views of Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty. The Chelsea Markets are a short walk as is the subway.
The bathroom is very spacious for New York and very new. The apartment is very clean and nicely furnished,
Karen, the owner is so easy to communicate with and every detail is attended to promptly. As well as that, she is very friendly and helpful and knows everything about the area and will help you with any arrangements you need to make.
Having stayed in hotels in New York, I much prefer this and have already booked for another visit with my husband later in the year.

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMouton
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally met our expectations”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Having read the reviews for A Garden in Chelsea on Tripadvisor, we arrived with the expectation of an excellent stay! We were not disappointed - Paul sat waiting for us on the steps when we arrived and helped with the luggage. Our apartment was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Karen was very helpful with printing theatre tickets and arranging taxi transport to JFK. The Chelsea area has many very good restaurants and close proximity to the subway makes for reaching any destination in New York with ease. I can highly recommend A Garden in Chelsea for people wanting a home from home experience

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Reviewed November 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sweden
Reviewed November 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing