We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bijou base in brownstone”
other travelers have booked this property
Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden
King-size bed set-up option Twin beds set-up option
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Garden
King-size bed set-up option
Twin beds set-up option
Kitchen
Dine
Library
Hallway Entry
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Garden
Preparing for Halloween
The prettiest tree on the block
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
New York City, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Spiorog
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bijou base in brownstone”
Reviewed May 28, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I am always nervous when I arrive at holiday accommodation booked on the Internet. Will the reality meet the descriptions and the pictures? In the case of 'A Garden in Chelsea', I need not have worried. Yes it is impossible to absolutely capture the layout of a property in pictures - where the bed is in relation to the eating area etc but I was not disappointed even though it was not exactly as I imagined. Paul met us at the door and showed us the apartment and we had some good chats with Karen during our stay. I could not have come to this city, celebrated in literature, film and song and stayed in an anonymous hotel. Just four nights, not enough time to delve into the wonderful collection of books in the apartment but great authors like Richard Russo, John Irving and Richard Ford jumped out at me. The decor and furnishings and pictures enhanced the feel of the apartment. On a more functional level the shower was great, the bed was comfortable, the kitchenette suitable for light cooking - who has the time for gourmet cooking when in New York and in a neighbourhood packed with great restaurants for every taste and budget. Unfortunately it rained alot during our stay and we were not able to enjoy the Garden until our final evening, but on a longer stay in good weather, what a lovely place to unwind after the sensory overload of the city. There is a good selection of guide books and tourist information leaflets in the apartment. Nights were quiet and restful, any big city noises were distant and barely audible. We did hear footsteps above every so often but that sound was not obtrusive. The subway was nearby but we did manage to walk from Chelsea to most attractions. All in all we enjoyed our stay in 'A Garden in Chelsea'.

Date of stay: May 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Reviewed April 8, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Date of stay: February 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reader35
Perth, Australia
1 review
“A Charming Chelsea Apartment”
Reviewed April 8, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

My daughter and I enjoyed 3 weeks in New York staying at the delightful A Garden in Chelsea. It looked good on the website but is even better in person - stylish, comfortable, and so conveniently located. Karen and Paul are such gracious hosts, always available for any assistance or advice. We moved in, unpacked, and felt at home immediately. It really was the perfect holiday, and we would love a return visit. So much better than a hotel, you really have the experience of living in the city rather than just visiting. Just perfect! Many thanks again to Karen and Paul.

Date of stay: February 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxie11
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful accomodation great location”
Reviewed January 13, 2011 for a stay in September 2010

This was our first trip to New York and we sought this type of accomodation. It was in the right location, in a beautiful tree lined street and we were delighted (after checking in with our friendly host & hostess, Paul & Karen) with the size, layout & in particular the lovely courtyard/garden that it opened onto. There was plenty of space, good facilities & close to both bus & metro transport. During our stay nothing was a trouble to Karen & Paul who made us feel most welcome & gave us some good tips on getting ourselves around New York. We would certainly recommend to our friends & hope to make it back there ourselves one day soon.

Date of stay: September 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewed July 18, 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Date of stay: May 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed June 11, 2010 for a stay in April 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne Australia
Reviewed April 13, 2010 for a stay in March 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2010
Thanks Thora and Ray. Hope to see you in February. Poor Paul is stuck in St. Petersburg. I may not see him until Feb. as well!
K
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing