We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Price is Right”
Review of Olympic Diner - CLOSED

Olympic Diner
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Midtown
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“the Price is Right”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Not the game show but the price is right at the Olympic Diner. We had a Julienne salad for lunch, $13, was not the greatest salad I have had, but for THE CITY, and the price , it was okay. Probably will not return, but will not rule it out for a burger during our visit here as I see another review that the burgers at Olympic are good. Will do another review if we venture back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    21
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great budget meal in pricey area”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The digs have seen better days and the staff weren't all that friendly, but the bergers were surprisingly good and substantially cheaper than nearby eateries. If you need an affordable place to eat in the general neighborhood of Times Square, and don't mind the run-down diner look, give this place a try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty, cheap Breakfasts!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had found this diner on Trip Advisor before we came to NYC. It was a minutes walk from our hotel. Although the diner is a little rough around the edges the breakfasts are big and delicious and more importantly very reasonably priced!! Service was always friendly. We cannot say what lunch or dinner was like as we only ever ate breakfast here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hayl341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great, inexpensive breakfast”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you want a taste of authentic day-to-day New York with no frills, the Olympic is worth checking out. Imagine the diner in "Frankie and Johnny" and you'll come pretty close to the Olympic's atmosphere. Yes, the staff can get a little fraught when it's busy but they were generally very friendly. The only time we saw any stroppiness was in the face of possibly the world's most ill-mannered, demanding and ignorant people sitting at the table next to ours and expecting the Waldorf Astoria!
We ate there for six consecutive mornings and were greeted like old friends. The waiters even remembered our order of milk for our toddler without being asked! The coffee is good, the breakfast decent and very cheap- breakfast specials including coffee, juice, toast and a cooked main range from $6 to $9, which I think is a bargain.
If you want style, panache and elegance, look elsewhere (and pay the price). The interior of the Olympic could do with a bit of TLC to be fair but in a way, that just adds to its charm. What matters to us (the food, atmosphere and service) was first rate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NHCFleet_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nl
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had breakfast here one morning since we were staying across the street. The food was very good although the interior was very tired. If you don't mind eating in a place that is a little run down then this is the place for you......you couldn't beat the value! and the coffee was the best we had!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bear0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing