We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Rooms, Amenities, and Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental New York Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #171 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Rooms, Amenities, and Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

So I will start by saying that I think of most NYC hotels as 4 star locations because of the crammed rooms...this place had smaller rooms as well, but for some reason I didn't mind so much. I had a king room which came with a pretty basic bathroom, nice shower with the overhead shower head. the work desk was crammed between the bed and the wall, so was pretty useless. The bed was super comfortable and their AC was amazing. The hotel itself is super nice/plush. Ca Va is very swanky, drawing in more people than just the people staying there. The ACE trains are literally outside the door, and in inclimate weather think you can walk underground to get to all the trains at the time square stop. If you want proximity to times square without being "in" it, this is a great place to be. Not to mention what they've done with Hell's Kitchen in the last 5 years makes the area amazing, no shortage of casual but good restaurants and bars within walking distance there.

Room Tip: If you can get a room in the southwest corner you'd be away from the noise, but i didn't fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmisra41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear RMisra41:

Thank you for your great review! We are so glad you enjoyed our central location, plush bedding, and spa-inspired showers. We appreciate your review, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,194
    1,378
    417
    126
    78
See reviews for
1,259
1,365
204
670
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a rental car upon arrival, which was very confusing as the location to pull up to the curb was directly across the street from the garage which is almost impossible to maneuver with the traffic. We had called to say that we would be arriving at 6pm, however when we arrived my husband was told the room was not ready and we would be entitled to a room upgrade. The gentleman that my husband was then told to check in with was very rude and told my husband the room was ready. It took us 45 minutes to check in
:-( The room was very clean and comfortable. Room service and housekeeping were excellent!!!!
Wifi is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear LisaS1964:

Thank you for posting about your recent stay! We are sorry to hear that you first impressions with parking and our reception were less than optimal. We are glad to hear that your stay improved from there, and we appreciate your kind words about our location and comfort. Thank you for your constructive comments as well, as we will share these with our Executive Team so that we can learn from them and ensure better service in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. We were located on the 4th floor facing the street. I asked for a higher floor but there was nothing available. The room itself was ok with two double beds. The noise level was not as bad as I expected considering the room location. It is located in a good area very close to the theater district and restaurant alley. We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant. The rooms were clean however, our room was not refreshed the second day. They said there was a sign posted on our door stating do not disturb. I find this quite confusing since we made sure that sign was not on our door. When we returned that evening to find no new towels, cups, or made beds we called housekeeping directly. It took two calls and then someone came up but only with towels. He had to return with cups etc. Then later that evening another person came to see what we needed. Obviously the housekeeping area needs better communication. Overall, a good hotel in NYC.

Room Tip: I suggest a room above floor 7 for a better view. Also I joined the hotels' own reward club and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chopin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Chopin77:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your recent stay! We are so glad you enjoyed our central location. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with our housekeeping department. We will review your comments with our management so that we can improve our services. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Another great visit to this lovely hotel close to Times Square. A bowl of fresh seasonal fruit was waiting for me in the room when I arrived. Staff are always courteous, rooms are clean and I felt safe in the neighbourhood. Had a room without the walk-in shower this time, but it was still lovely. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear V B:

Thank you for your great review! We are delighted to hear that you have made the InterContinental New York Times Square your "home away from home". We welcome you to reach out to us at the email below, so that we can update your profile to ensure you get a walk-in shower when you stay! We appreciate your taking time to post about your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The pros are that this hotel is very nicely furnished, has comfortable beds, modern walk-in showers with rain heads, very spacious rooms by NY standards, very quiet hallways and rooms, free wifi (for Plat Ambassador) and pretty good service from the bell hops to the check-in staff. We got an upgrade to the 28th floor, which had a great view uptown and over the Hudson.

The cons are that there seem to be issues with the room keys. We stayed 3 nights and I think we ended up with 4 sets of keys at least and had to call security up to the room twice to open the room for us. Not ideal IMO. The restaurant downstairs is also way overpriced for breakfast, so go to Trattoria Daniella across the way on 8th Ave for an outstanding and much better breakfast. Last but not least, the location will not be for everyone...because this is right by Times Square, getting to and fro this hotel via car can be a bear.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Steffen P:

Thank you for posting about your recent stay! We are so glad you enjoyed our friendly service and modern decor. We apologize for the issues with the room keys, and we be taking steps to ensure this does not happen in the future. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York City.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Location is great but nothing special! It was suprised to me that there is no bath tub in the room. The size of the room is as small as expected. I stayed @ 6th floor and can hear the noise from subway from 5 am untl midnight.

Room Tip: You can get some cheaper and botique hotels in Time Square area. Spending some time on hotel searchi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 櫻桃媽
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your candid feedback. We apologize that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations. We welcome you to reach out to us anytime that we may be of service.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
executiveoffice@icnyts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights via Hotwire. The rate was fantastic ($210) for the hotel, especially since it was 2 blocks from Time Square, in the heart of the Theater District.

Hotwire booked us in a handicap room and there were no other rooms when we arrived so we couldn't get a different room. However, the hotel moved us the next morning - and upgraded is for our "troubles". This was amazing since many hotels treat us less of we buy the room at a discount. The service was amazing.

One suggestion - use the parking lot across the street - it's only $25/night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Tim_Viking:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We believe our dedicated staff are our greatest asset, and we are delighted that you agree. We'll be sure to share your kind words with our team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#220 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#51 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,411 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#153 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#89 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,539 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#333 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#263 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#90 Family Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening July 2010, InterContinental New York hotel ~ a new landmark in Times Square, stands 36 stories offering panoramic views of Manhattan's skyline, Hudson River and Broadway. At 44th Street and Eighth Avenue, it’s convenient to 39 theatres in the Broadway Theater District. Enjoy the onsite French inspired brasserie, from Celebrity Chef Todd English. The InterContinental New York is the place to meet with more than 10,000 square-feet of flexible New York meeting & event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing