We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“InterContinental Times Square - Jan. 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #175 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“InterContinental Times Square - Jan. 2014”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Overall, we were once again please with the hotel. The location is convenient as it is near, but not in Times Square. The rooms are pretty big and nicely appointed. Most of the staff members we've interacted with have been very friendly. They give upgrades and fruit/chocolate to Platinum members, which is a nice touch. The gym isn't as good as you might expect and the breakfast buffet is a complete ripoff (even for this part of the city), and people seemed to be cheating the system. We paid a really low rate that we got just before the stay - pay attention to the website, the rates often go down as the stay approaches. This is just something small, but they need to better explain how the elevators work as we saw many people dumbfounded by them. There's been a bit of wear and tear, but I'd still definitely recommend the InterContinental.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room, ones in the high 20s (24, 26, etc.) have views of the city and the Hudson...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAD_ORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear IAD_ORD:

Thank you for being a loyal guest here at the InterContinental New York Times Square! We are thrilled to be your hotel of choice here in the city. Thank you for your constructive comments. We will share these with the appropriate managers, so that we can continue to improve our services. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,618
    1,666
    515
    165
    113
See reviews for
1,550
1,662
232
826
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dalla,s Tx
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stay here time and time again for business trips. I love the beds, they are super comfy, the street noise is not too bad, the elevators are quick, the hotel restaurant and bar are nice, the staff if professional. I have never been disappointed yet with a stay at this hotel. it's a great location for visitors, and it is around the corner from Shake Shack which is a must. I highly recommend this hotel for a comfy and reasonably priced stay near Times Square. I will be back here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors = less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallasiteonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Dallasiteonbusiness:

Thank you for your rave review! We know that discerning business travelers like yourself have a myriad of choices when it comes to luxury hotels, and we truly appreciate being your "home away from home" here in Manhattan. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here January 2 thru the 7th.
- THE GOOD -
Fantastic location - Walked to restaurants and theaters...
Contemporary furnished rooms
Nice sized room especially for New York
Excellent Rain Shower Shower
Bright lighting
InterContinental Ambassador Recognition
Wonderful bottle of Italian Champagne
Chocolate covered strawberries, fruit bowl, delicious snack items.
Staff always used my name when answering my calls
- THE NOT-SO-GOOD
Internet - Horrendously SLOW. I repeatedly measured both basic and high speed service. It never measured faster than .34 MB?sec.... That's 340 kb/second... totally unacceptable... 1.5MB/sec is the minimal acceptable.... I am returning to New York in March... but the slow internet has me thinking twice about this hotel in spite of the wonderful location and service.

Concierge - One of the worst experiences I have ever encountered.
After waiting ten minutes in line the gentleman provided totally false and misleading information.
He said "Motown" was sold out. In fact there were tons of tickets available.
He said he could not obtain show tickets any where near their face value. His sources provided tickets at two to three times face value. He must be getting a kickback. There were tickets available online for ALL SHOWS at very reasonable prices.
When I asked for directions to tourist attraction he quickly scribbled lines on a small map of Manhattan... The Four Seasons, Trump, Marriott concierges ALL provided computer print outs with precise turn by turn or step by step instructions.

Front Desk - I asked for a corner room with a view of Times Square. Young woman told me my room was larger and had an excellent view of Times Square. My actually room was a standard room with an excellent view of Manhattan but NOT Times Square

In summary this is a very attractive hotel with excellent service and a wonderful location. However, if you rely on internet and concierge services think twice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Stephen P.:

Thank you for being a loyal InterContinental Ambassador, and for posting about your recent stay! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, guestrooms, and amenities. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. We will be reviewing your comments with the appropriate managers to ensure this does not occur in the future. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future, so that we can provide a flawless stay.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Sitting on top of a subway exit, this hotel gives you zero distance to access subway trains at the 42 St-Port Authority station. From there, getting anywhere in the city is a no-brainer. Arriving from JFK airport is easy. E trains take you directly to the hotel from Airtrain Jamaica.
Times square is just steps away. Metropolitan living is all around you. Shops, eateries, theaters, pharmacists, bars, nightlife, people, chaos, you name it. Truly a city that never sleeps. Why stay anywhere else? This is where to feel the heartbeat of this crazily lively city.
The room I stayed in was quite small, as in most NYC hotels. It could have made me feel claustrophobic if not with the big floor-to-ceiling glass windows. Higher floors could get a broader sky view and bright sunlight on a good day. I could not flaw anything about the room as it was well cleaned and maintained during my stay. Staff members had little interaction with me besides the check-in and check-out processes. Hotels in the US, upscale or not, often lack the warm welcome and doing-more-to-help kind of service. Anyway, this hotel's strong suit is its location and this really can't be beat.

Room Tip: Higher floors with broader sky view and brighter sunlight to make you feel less claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livetutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Livetutravel:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for 1 night. We stayed on the 22nd floor. The view was awesome. The room is typical NYC size - small but very clean and modern. Bathroom was huge and very modern. The room had 2 double beds which was a bit small for us (2 adults, 2 kids). We live in NJ and know the area well so we didn't use any of the concierge or other services. We walked everywhere. Being on 8th ave is much better than on 7th or Broadway which is very very busy and hectic. Overall, a modern and clean hotel at a great location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mom2rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mom2rk:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central location, cleanliness, and spa-inspired bathrooms. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It is the perfect location in town, I stayed there with friends for 4 days in one of our visiting trips to the city, all the things you could possibly want are just there, yet the noise and the crowds of times square are not on that street which makes it more than perfect. The staff is very nice and the concierge service is very helpful, they made our dinner reservations in the most exclusive restaurants in town. Drinks at the hotel lounge were really good but i might say a little overpriced. Room service and cleaning were fine, again staff is very nice and respectful. If you are in town either business or vacations it is definitely one of the greatest locations in town to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a good view and less noisy room try to get one on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdithAguirree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Edith:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your recent stay, and for your great review! Our Concierge team are the best around, and we are so glad that you got to enjoy a taste of our neighborhood. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Yes, the Intercontinental is blessed with a great location - right in the heart of NYC, near to all theaters, and to many, many restaurants. And yes, as an Intercontinental, this is a beautiful hotel. But what really makes this hotel great is the staff -- to a person, they are incredibly gracious and welcoming! We have stayed here many times, and the result is always the same -- sensational! From Lucy, the reservation coordinator, to the front desk staff who call when one's room is ready, to the fearless bell men who jump into the street to hail a cab, each individual goes above and beyond to ensure a terrific stay! It's a true pleasure to stay here!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Japhen9609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Japhen:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that Lucy and our dedicated staff helped to make your recent stay a memorable one. Thank you for taking time to post about your stay, and we will be sure to share your comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,543 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,288 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing