We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #176 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply a great place to stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked the place for a summer holiday with the family and it was a lot about the location, the brand, but also the fact that it is a fairly new hotel. All in all, this hotel is just what you expect. The staff is friendly from Check-In through to the Concierge, the rooms are nice and spacious, especially for New York standards and the whole Hotel environment reflects what you wish for when staying at an InterContinental Hotel.

So why only 4-stars then: I was just amazed how run down some parts of the room were, keeping in mind that the hotel is not that old. In the bathroom there were scratches on the ceiling, spots in the area of the mirror and the shower and while I could expect this from other, older IHG properties, I was just surprised to see this at this place.

Nevertheless, we will go back there anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear SamtheTraveler1:

Thank you for your great review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We believe our dedicated staff truly set us apart, and we appreciate your kind comments. We are terribly sorry that you found the bath area of your guestroom to be in less-than-stellar condition, but we are thankful that you brought this to our attention. We will be sure to have our Engineering department inspect and repair the area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,619
    1,667
    515
    165
    113
See reviews for
1,551
1,662
232
826
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I wanted to take our 10 yr old Daughter to NYC just after Christmas for a few days before returning home to DFW. I checked out many hotels in Time Square area online before booking this hotel. Upon arrival to the hotel we were greated as though we were royalty. The entire stay was that way. The Doormen, Hotel Front Desk, All hotel staff were amazing. We were close to everything, easy access to the subway system or cab / limo service were always just outside the hotel. I would have to say that in all my travels this stay was by far the best experience overall that we have had. I will always stay here when going to NYC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhorton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear MHorton11:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are thrilled that our dedicated team made your family's holiday stay a memorable one. We greatly appreciate being your hotel of choice here in New York City, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed as a family of 5 (adults, and teenage kids) for week and really enjoyed our stay.

The good stuff.

-the staff were great. We are first time travellers to New York and contrary to the reputation of the city, found the staff friendly and eager to help.
-The rooms were of a good standard - very modern in layout, well equipped and very clean. The beds were very comfortable.
-The hotel is well located; a short walk to Time Square and Broadway, but also a little out of the hustle and bustle.
-There are lots of good places to eat within easy walking distance.

Other stuff (not so good)
- the restaurant in the hotel is very expensive (particularly breakfast) so be prepared to go elsewhere.
- the hotel transfer to the airport was outrageously expensive vs. taking a yellow cab. Be warned.
- wireless access is chargeable - really?

So overall very good but it would be nice to feel a bit less exploited on the charges for the not so good stuff.

Room Tip: If you want NY views go high (at least above 14th floor) and get a room on 43st side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbilling64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear dbilling64:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your family's recent stay and for posting a review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location, cleanliness, and service. We do apologize that you found the breakfast and wifi costs to be prohibitive. We are pleased to announce that beginning January 1, 2014 all IHG Rewards members will receive complimentary wifi at all of our properties world-wide. IHG Rewards is free to join, and allows you to earn points on every stay across our portfolio of brands (it was formerly known as Priority Club). We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Being a Long Islander, I sometimes take a staycation to New York City. I've stayed at the Marriott Marquis, the New York Palace, and the Times Square Hilton. The Intercontinental is by far the best of the bunch. The price was right, check-in was efficient, and the staff was friendly. The room was exceptionally clean, with a gorgeous bathroom and THE MOST COMFORTABLE HOTEL BED I've ever slept in. We were upgraded to a sky view King room so we were on the 35th floor with a great view of the city. Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND and the Intercontinental is my new "go to" place when I get away to Manhattan!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Danice:

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We know that New Yorkers expect the best, and we are delighted to hear that we made a great impression! We hope to welcome you back for another stay-cation soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is very elegant, comfortable and well located (if you're into touristy stuff). NOT in the heart of Times Square but a couple of blocks away, giving room for a less crazy environment... but close enough. For burger lovers, Shake Shak is in the same corner if you don't mind the LONG lines.

The room and the bathroom were very spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable. The view form the 30th floor was gorgeous!

The only thing I'd recommend of for the bell boys to smile once in a while. We spoke to several of them and none were smiling or too eager to help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiuska15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Katiuska15:

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and views. Shake Shack is a must-visit. If you are just looking for a shake, go to their "C Line"- it moves much faster! We are sorry to hear that your experience with our bellstaff was not up to standard. We appreciate your feedback and will act accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I'm an Intercontinental Platinum Royal Ambassador I can say this hotel falls way short compared to others in the group. The location is brilliant. However guests pay for the convenience. Pricey and basic. The "suite" is probably 1/6th of the size of most other suites in Johannesburg, Dubai, Sydney and Nairobi. Yet double ot triple the price in comparison in some cases. Yes great view of Times Square area from the too floors but again one pays for it. There aren't too many extras given to top Anbassador members at all.

Pockets of excellent service from the desk staff who are very efficient, bar staff are fantastic too as are some of the concierge an bellhops.

Quite frankly, I was expecting this to be a flagship hotel given it is in NYC!!!! It was a massive disappointment comparatively.

My room also smelt of stale cigarettes. The hotel doesn't even have an ionizer to eliminate the odours. Their solution was room spray which was a temporary fix.

Laundry prices are akin to highway robbery and excessive as is the wifi if you had to pay for it!

After I left NYC I checked into the Intercontinental Festival City in Dubai. There simply is no comparison and it makes the Times Square ICH look like the country cousin. Surprised there was no club intercontinental facility. No additional perks or freebies of any kind.

Need to lift their game substantially.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamL1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear AdamL1972:

Thank you for being a loyal InterContinental Ambassador, and for your candid review of your recent stay. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and service, we do apologize that your stay did not live up to expectations. As with many of our American properties, our hotel does not offer a club lounge, as many of our counterparts in Europe and the Middle East to. We regret if you were not informed of this before your stay. We believe that our prices are competitive with other hotels of our calibur in Midtown Manhattan. We are glad to hear that our counterparts in Dubai are providing you with a memorable stay, and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide a truly InterContinental experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The staff here seems like they can not do enough for a Guest! From the minutes you walk in to when you are leaving they go out of their way to help, They got me a ticket to one of the hottest musicals on Broadway. I ask a bell hop when I should call to have my bags brought down and he said , "he would go and get them and bring them to the baggage room right away," One of them even said, no thank you to a tip. "he said you already gave me a tip" Looking forward to my return visit in two weeks. only one bad thing, breakfast buffet only the day I had breakfast there, but many other place very close to hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theorginalsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Theoriginalsuz:

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are delighted that our team made your recent stay memorable. We do apologize that you did not find our breakfast buffet to be as excellent as the rest of your visit. We do hope you give our restaurant another chance on your next visit, as we do vary the breakfast entrees daily. We look forward to seeing you in two weeks!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,565 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,321 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing