We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity in Times Square” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental New York Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #185 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
102 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Serenity in Times Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I wouldn't have thought possible, but it is possible to find peace and quiet and get a good night's rest near Times Square. The Intercontinental is sort of this Zen-like hotel in the middle of the Times Square action. I personally hate this part of the city, but was pleasantly surprised with the room and sleep quality. Definitely worth a stay, and while the neighborhood lacks charm, it is quite central and the hotel extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear jdr27:

Thank you for the rave review! We are delighted that we were able to provide an oasis in our bustling city. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,523
    1,607
    505
    160
    107
See reviews for
1,499
1,595
230
791
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stay 2 night weekend in the hotel, it's not my first visit but this time I was disappointed. Let start from the room that was not ready on my arrive time (about 15:00) the mention that I got upgrade room and it will be ready later as guest is still there, normally I had to get temporary room. Continue with the concierge on Friday evening we asked for restaurant recommendation we got a name we asked may can call the restaurant to check for table we got no need go it will be empty, we walk there there was a Que of 15 people (1 hour list), the waiter in the restaurant ask us why we didn't call to book a place :(.
When we left we were in harry and we left in the room 2 items in the safe and one sweater on the floor near the bad, yes it's our fault that we forgot it. We realize about the sweater one day later, we went to the hotel and notice they didn't found it (how can it be, someone had to clean the room and had to arrange the bed strange), 2 days after we notice we left the other 2 items (it was on the safe that we left open and again yes our fault to forget it) we did not surprised these were not found as well more strange (one item had good value and the other was useless to whom who found it).

In total can't recommend this hotel even that I'm Royal Ambassador in IHG (it's the top 1% of the intercontinental guest the higher level of IHG members)!

If you looking for nice room in good place it's the place but for that you can find 10's of them around and in better price and location, if you looking for full great package ;(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YardM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Yard M:

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to offer a sincere apology that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations. I am not in the habit of making excuses, as that would appear that I am trying to excuse what happened, and I am not. I know that you have spoken with our Director of Security regarding misplaced items. I do hope that you will allow us to show you a true InterContinental experience. Should your travels bring you to New York City, we would welcome the chance to reaffirm your faith in the InterContinental New York Times Square.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My Dad and I stayed at the Intercontinential for 4 nights in a twin room on the 14th floor. Check-in was quick and seamless and the door-men helpful and warm. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom had a good sized shower. Any requests were responded to quickly and efficiently. Most importantly given the hotel's location the room was very quiet. We had room service one evening which was good quality. We did find a diner for breakfast - The Westway diner. Out of the front of the hotel, turn left, left again and its right there. It was clean, good value and servd us well for breakfast each morning. A very good experience would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDebsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear LondonDebsUK:

Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our guestrooms, comfort, and service. We are glad you were able to enjoy our cuisine, as well as the Westway Diner. No trip to New York is complete without a diner visit! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Hotel last week with my wife and 2 teenage daughters and had a great time.

Hotel is clean,spacious,modern and great view (room 1714) The location is perfect, the facilities were everything we needed. All staff we encountered were polite and couldn't do enough for us.
Concierge was very helpful with great advice on best tours and getting show tickets.
Courtesy brollies supplied on a rainy Friday.
Spoilt for choice with regards to local restaurants and shops. Went to 5 Napkins Burger Bar and the burgers were amazing. Smiths bar for great breakfast and pre dinner drinks in hotel bar was relaxing and a great experience. Shake shack so close and must be good as queues every time we passed!
Third visit to NY and still only scratched the surface of NYC. Oh well we will have to return once more and would certainly stay at the hotel once again.
You have to experience it for yourself. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear SteveLManchester:

Thank you for the rave review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay. We believe our staff is our greatest asset, and we appreciate your kind comments about our team. We must agree that there is no shortage of wonderful dining options nearby! Shake Shack deserves the hype and we hope you have a chance to visit on your next visit. Insider tip: try going in the late afternoon or late evening, when the crowds are a bit lighter. Their shakes and custards are extraordinary! We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Previous trips to NY we've stayed at the Sofitel and Andaz on 5th, but were doing this trip on more of a budget with the kids.
Intercontinental Times Square was a let down from the moment we arrived. Exited our cab to hear blasting techno music being played by the valets. As we were arriving early morning on an overnight flight we had booked an extra night to ensure an early checkin. The room we booked for our 5 night stay was not ready and the extra night room - which we called ahead to ensure would be the same room as we had already booked for the entire stay, wasn't ready and they downgraded us. The front desk manager was apologetic, but I know they just double-sold our premium room for the night, and we were left with no option but to take the downgrade. Once our 'real' room was ready they did move our luggage while we were out, but it was a hassle to unpack then repack. The manager called us after the room was ready and gave us 50% off the first night.
Room on mid 20's floor facing 8th Avenue was really noisy. No double glazing here and you could even hear people yelling from street level. Soap dish is broken in shower so anything you put in it just tips out. $12.95/ day for wifi is ridiculous. Coffee machine is a nice touch, but only two little long life creamers for 4 cups of coffee is stingy. Beds were really comfortable, too bad it was so noisy.
This is obviously a hotel that caters to the business conference crowd and it shows.

Room Tip: High floor not facing 8th Ave would be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Intrepidtravels:

Thank you for your candid feedback. I try not to offer excuses or lengthy explanations for why we don't get things right 100% of the time...it always comes across sounding like I am trying to legitimize the failure. I will offer my sincere apology for your experience. You should have been checked in to the rooms that you reserved. We will review our protocols to ensure we do not repeat this situation. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our guestrooms and the in-room Keurig coffee makers. I hope you come back another time and give us a chance to reaffirm your faith in us. Please contact our Executive Office the next time your travels bring you to New York City, so that we may ensure that your stay is flawless.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed 4-nights last week at this hotel. The service was excellent. We received an upgraded corner sky-view room as one was available - at no additional cost. The doormen and guest relations staff were very attentive and helpful in many ways. The room was decent size for NY, but very comfortable and all the amenities. Would absolutely recommend this hotel to others and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Skyview room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pico613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Pico613:

Thank you for your great review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our location, guestroom size, and our service. We will be sure to share your comments with our team! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in early March. Hotel is in a amazing location walkable (or short cab ride) to everything and a few minutes walk to Times Square and other attractions. Hotel is beautiful, with large clean rooms, fantastic showers and bathrooms, great views and an amazing bed. I would stay here again and again if in mid town.

Room Tip: Todd English Restaurant in hotel was just..ok. Service was indifferent Nice room with views f the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisloris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Chrisloris:

Thank you for the rave review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are sorry that your service experience in Ca Va was not as exceptional as the rest of your stay. We thank you for your feedback and will use your comments in our ongoing training. We look forward to welcoming you the next time your travels bring you to New York City!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,369 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,034 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#90 Family Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing