We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #170 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Summit, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Made arrangements for my parents to stay there for their 50th wedding anniversary and they were well taken care of! Service was outstanding. Room was perfect. Comfortable and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear TJ410:

Thank your for spending your 50th anniversary with us! We are delighted that we made your stay memorable. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,682
    1,688
    522
    173
    118
See reviews for
1,589
1,678
238
848
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Good business and tourist hotel. Rooms are well furnished and the bathroom great even though small, as NYC hotels generally are. Food is pretty average. One of my favourite New York diners - Brooklyn Diner is just a block away, whatever you do don't order desert.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sam161:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square and for posting about your recent stay! We are glad that you enjoyed our location and guestroom layout. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location you are right next to an underground station and the ( fabulous) Shake Shack. Its also one block away from the main action at Times Sq.
Tried to ask for a room with a view but didnt get an upgrade and had a room over looking the parking lot at the front of the hotel on the 4th floor. Not very exciting and also very noisy at night. Ended up changing room , as I couldnt sleep the 1st night.Was offered a new room at the back of the hotel , overlooking nothing but at least quiet. If you are in a superior room you will only get to 7th floor so you need to be lucky with upgrade or pay more!! You are also in a separate lift !!
Hotel doesnt really have any facilities and gym was pretty poor. Only one restaurant and small bar. Internet is very expensive and not even free in lobby . Starbucks across the road helps with free wifi . Concierge were helpful in any request for local info.
Be careful of bell boys trying to upgrade you to a SUV. I ended up taking taking a car one night and at least was told the fee before hand .However on my day of departure had a bit of a scene when I asked for a yellow cab to JFK and they still tried to get me into a private car at about 3 times the price!. Obviously on the take.
All in all had a good stay , rooms and bathrooms were very tastefully decorated but a few sour tastes left in the mouth .Would stay there again though.

Room Tip: If you cant afford a room with a view ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Doug161:

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do apologize that your experience with our door staff did not reflect our high standards. We will certainly use your comments as a tool to improve our training procedures, and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back for a flawless stay!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel wasn't bad the first time, I just wasn't impressed. This time it was different. They're caring more, talking more, greeting you more and doing it to everyone! This was a wonderful stay. My best advice is reserve the room you want. Each room delivers exactly what it promises. Be specific about your needs and they'll do their best to exceed them. The bar was fun, the staff attentive and the food really, really good. This is our new go-to hotel in NYC. See, the second time is a charm!

Room Tip: depends on what you like. be hesitant to ask for an east facing room - the lights are bright and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jacksondc:

Thank you for the great review! We are delighted to have you as a loyal guest. Our team is constantly striving to provide the best service, and we appreciate your comments. We look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next stay!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent a lot of money to stay here so we could walk to just about everything we wanted to do in NYC. This is an expensive area, so the room was expensive, but the room, staff, etc. were all great. We never waited for an elevator for more than a second or two.

Rather than stay at a cheaper place and spend a ton of time on subways or trying to park I suggest you bite the bullet and pay to stay at a nice place like this right near Times Square. Dozens of nice restaurants around also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Rob B:

Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree that our location is ideal- we are only steps from Broadway shows, every type of cuisine you can imagine on Restaurant Row, and so much more. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked a stay as our daughter requested to eat donuts in NYC for her birthday. I used my Priority Club points to book our evening in Times Square. I called the morning of to let them know why we were coming to NYC and to ask for a nice room with a view. We parked across the street in the self parking lot. The attendant was very friendly. The check-in staff was also very friendly. When we got to our room, we had an amazing view of the river from the 36th floor. The hotel also made arrangements to have a tasty 'Happy Birthday" chocolate mousse cake waiting for our daughter. The mattresses and pillows were extremely comfortable. I don't think we have slept so well in a hotel in a long time. The bathroom was very spacious and clean. The shower was huge. The hotel is situated only a couple blocks off of Times Square. All in all, an absolute amazing hotel stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EyeLoveFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear EyeLoveFood:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your daughter's birthday celebration! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that her special day was a memorable one, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin , NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I procrastinated so long in booking a hotel because there are so many and I really wanted to find the perfect hotel to make my niece's first trip to NYC a truly memorable one.

I am SO happy that I chose the Intercontinental Times Square! The room was very clean and amazing. The rain shower was awesome and worth it and the beds were so comfortable it was hard to get out of bed! The staff was friendly and very helpful.

The location is perfect, very close to Times Square and the theaters.

This hotel is in the top 3 of the very BEST places I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: If you are looking for view, choose the Deluxe rooms and request a high floor! You won't be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Tara N:

Thank you so much for the rave review! Our staff is dedicated to making your stay a memorable one. We are so happy to hear that you and your niece had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 466 in New York City
937 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#183 of 466 in New York City
2,324 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#263 of 466 in New York City
4,215 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 466 in New York City
9,483 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 466 in New York City
6,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing