We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #171 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
2 reviews
“Best hotel in New York”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed with my two teenage daughters and husband for 5 nights over Christmas. What a wonderful hotel. The rooms and especially the bathroom was extremely spacious. Not the best view of the building across the way, but I didn't want to pay more for an upgrade. Your not in the room a lot anyway so it was fine. The rooms seemed to have great sound proof walls. Never head anything from outside our the next rooms. The housekeeping staff, the doormen and the concierge were very friendly. The front desk staff could of been a bit more friendlier. Location was perfect. half block away from the heart of times square. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you desire a room with a view then you need to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broad047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear broad047:

Thank you so much for the accolades! We realize there are many choices when it comes to New York City hotels, and we greatly appreciate that you took time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,682
    1,688
    522
    173
    118
See reviews for
1,589
1,678
238
848
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at the InterContinental NY Times Square over the Christmas holiday weekend. The location was perfect for us. Just outside the front door is the entrance to the E train (Subway) and a few blocks away is the Times Square subway station with many more train lines which gives easy public transit access to all parts of NYC. We tend to use the subway system alot in NYC, it's convenient and gets to where we need/want to be. If you prefer to walk to places, this location is also well-suited. Being on W. 44th Street & 8th Avenue it is in the heart of the Theater District, but slightly away from the throngs of people on B'Way.

The staff was terrific. We arrived at about 12noon and not expecting our room to be ready, so when we were told our room was available and we could check-in right away this made us even happier to have choosen this hotel to stay in. The bellman who brought our bags inside, was very friendly, a great ambassador to have greeting guests at the front door!

The guestroom was comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was extremely clean, housekeeping services was quick and efficient.

The lounge at the CaVa restaurant was terrific, nice selections of wines by the glass and the bar staff was pleasant.

I would definitely stay at the InterContinental NY Times Square on future visits to NYC!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LowCountryIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear LowCountryIslander:

Thank you for the 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our location, guestroom comfort, and service. We especially appreciate your comment about our friendly bellmen, and we will be sure to share these with our team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to New York.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Our room was comfortable, modern, and EXTREMELY quiet...and considering its location -- just west of the Theatre District and Times Square -- this was mind-blowing! The bedding was soft; the bathroom was practically overflowing with big, absorbent towels; the staff was pleasant; and the restaurant -- Todd English's Ca Va Brasserie (see my review) -- was outstanding for breakfast, lunch AND dinner. We really are enjoying our stay here at the Intercontinental, and when we return to NYC, we'll certainly book here, again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Bob S:

Thank you so much for the great review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our your stay with us. We agree that our location provides a well-needed respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during our NYC Visit. The staff was friendly and attentive, the room was very comfortable, clean, and modern,and the location was perfect for everything on our agenda. The ambassador club membership gave us an upgrade to a corner room that had a spectacular view. We love the InterContinental Hotels and this one was fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livn4vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Livn4vaca:

Thank you so much for becoming an InterContinental Ambassador and for writing such a great review! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Located on 44th street, it is an easy 5-10 mins walk to most broadway shows and the neon billboards of Broadway. Finding the room on the small side initially (we were staying in a corner deluxe sky room), we soon realized that what we had was a good size by NY standards. The bed was so comfortable that we even over slept on the first day. The room was cozy, the TV big and waking up with the view of the Hudson in the morning, special.The rain shower gently cascading down will refresh you after a day out.
While most of the staff we came into contact carried themselves well professionally, we found the operator especially helpful. Not only was she proactive in anticipating our needs, we could sense the warmth and the pride she took in her work and would like to commend her for being such a fine example for other staff to emulate.
As pointed out by other reviewers, food and drinks in the mini bar was over priced, however, these can easily be overcome with a quick trip to the shops located just a few steps away from the hotel. I also personally found the height of the safe too low for me.
Stay here for the location and to experience a few 5 star trimmings such as a good fitness center, evening turn down service, sound proof rooms, complimentary in room coffee. Stay also out of loyalty to the Ambassador/priority club program. However, guest after luxury, attention to detail, personalised butlers and a total indulgent experience with a character unique to its brand name may be disappointed with this particular property.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafflesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Raffleasia:

Thank you so much for the great review! I will be sure to share your comments with our team, especially our telephone operators. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York City.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful experience at check-in as the agent worked very hard to find us adjoining rooms as we had booked two rooms for our family of four. After many tries she found 2 corner rooms directly across from each other which was acceptable but not adjoining. Great city and Hudson River views from both rooms! Comfortable beds, plush towels and robes made for a wonderful stay. Short walk to theaters and restaurants. This was our 2nd stay and we would choose it again. I should mention that we are members of the ambassador club which adds nice amenities to your stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaColonySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear SeaColonySue:

First and foremost, thank you for being a loyal InterContinental Ambassador! I also thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay. We greatly appreciate your words about our plush bedding, location, and our staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights leaving today. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. The rooms are spacious & modern. The beds are so comfortable I'm not relishing returning to my own!! The shower is amazing & the rooms have tea/coffee facilities. Upon arrival the reception staff were friendly & accommodating, stating that our room on the 11th floor was ready but if we wanted to wait for a little while rooms on the 25th floor would be available. The wait was worth it & we had amazing views. The hotel overall was clean, classy, modern, great location & very festive. The only negative points were that the bar closes quite early, which isn't a massive problem as there are bars nearby. My main gripe is that the doormen are very overbearing & linger around you expecting a tip for just opening a door or wheeling your bag 4 feet to the reception. I understand that tipping is the done thing in NYC & is happily given when earnt, however, the doormen here made me feel uncomfortable on a couple of occasions. Overall though a great hotel which I would happily return too.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CherLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Juscen, Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear CherLondon:

Thank you so much for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, ambiance, and service. I do apologize if the bell or doorstaff seemed overbearing. We strive to offer exemplary service, and your comments help us to do so. We look forward to having you back soon.

Warm regards,

Steve Juscen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 466 in New York City
937 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 466 in New York City
2,324 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#262 of 466 in New York City
4,215 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 466 in New York City
9,483 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 466 in New York City
6,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing