We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #174 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at the Intercontinental Times Square. The room was large, clean and quiet with a beautiful view of the skyscrapers (Sky View room). All the staff (front desk, room, restaurant) was very friendly.
The location is perfect. The metro access is at a few meters of the hotel lobby and Times Square only at one block.

We really enjoy our stay and will certainly return at the Intercontinental

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yokozuna_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,998 - 4,004 of 5,577 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

Everything about the hotel was fabulous. The location is two blocks from Times Square and next to Subway. Rooms are beautifully appointed, and not that small by NY standards. The beds and bedding are super comfortable. The bathroom is gorgeous with lovely fluffy towels and plenty of them, and plenty of hot water. The staff were all really friendly, especially the door men who were always chatty and gave us a 'welcome back ladies' every time we came back. The front desk staff are really efficient. The bar/lounge is great. There's a open/real fire in the lounge and a bar in the Todd English Ca Va restaurant, which is always busy and gave the hotel a real buzz. Everything was fabulous and I would go back again in a heart beat. I oriiginally booked to stay at the Pearl Hotel which has a good rating on this site, but there is no bar or restaurant, so you have your hotel room and that's it. This has more to offer and was a better price. Although Intercontinental is a large chain, this place felt very personal and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovinEveryMinute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

As a Priority Club Platinum Ambassador member, I was looking forward to my first stay at this hotel. I have been staying at another IHG property, Staybridge Suites, several blocks south and believe it is a better value. True, the lobby and overall atmosphere of this hotel is nicer and the rooms somewhat swankier, but I was disappointed by the service. The InterContinental web site states that "Refreshments will always be waiting in your room upon arrival, with mineral water replenished daily" for Platinum Ambassador members; however, that was not the case. When I called reception to ask them to send as it was getting late, I was told it would come shortly (arrived two hours later).

The room had nice neutral colors and the large screen television and computer (which I could not get to work). For those who may be looking for one, there is no bathtub (which seems to be the case in most new hotel construction, unfortunately). The bed was very comfortable and blackout curtains were helpful, but earplugs might be good to lessen the 8th Avenue street noise.

I agree with the reviewer below who had a bad experience upon checkout. I inquired about a charge for a toll-free call I made (that did not even go through) and had a look of disdain. The service was not personable and I was disappointed overall. What sets apart a five star property is superior service and unfortunately, in this case, that was missing.

I find it ironic that I have received a warmer welcome at other IHG properties (Hotel Indigo, Staybridge Suites, Holiday Inn, etc.). Overall, i was disappointed.

On the plus side, the subway station is right down the block and the Central Parking a few doors down the hotel is convenient and a good value at $22 with the voucher provided by the hotel.

I'll stay there again to give it another shot.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meanchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCARE at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Dear Meanchat,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at InterContinental New York Times Square. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on business several times, each time staff is always helpful and willing to accomodate its guests. I belong to the Priority Club Program and currently hold the Royal Ambassador status, if you stay at this hotel you must join because the perks are fantastic!! I'm always upgraded to a a suite on the corner which faces 8th avenue-lovely view. I also get unlimited mini bar access-drinks only, not dry snacks. They also have delicious chocolates that they give to all guests when they do turndown service in the evenings. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and well designed. They provide Gilchrest and Soames bath products, which smells and feels great. Unfortunately the gym is a bit hard to find, its tucked away in a corner but when you find it its well worth it, lots of machines and very spacious. The best part of teh hotel is that its right across the street from from Theatre district. The A train is literally next door, so you have access to major transportation hub. This station is also ADA accessable-which is rare in NYC. They have elevators and ramps, so this hotel is perfect for the disabled or elderly.

Room Tip: Stay in the corner rooms (1610, 2010 ect.) lovely view of the theatre district.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawntell314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Typical big city, big brand hotel with modern clean and well appointed rooms. The location is convenient for Times Square although it is a short walk away - just right if you don't want to be on Times Square (noise, light, overcrowding & hordes of aimlessly milling people) but close enough to get their without hassle.

Enjoyed being close to convenience stores, nice places to eat - we particularly enjoyed a creperie for breakfast a block away and the Shake Shack downstairs. Also visit Juniors around the corner for cheesecake.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Intercontinental Times Squre was a beautiful hotel to stay at. The staff were very helpful and friendly - every time you walk outside the chaps out there always have a polite greeting, day or night. The beds were beautifully comfortable (by far the most comfortable of our trip), the place was clean and well-supplied with a mini-bar/fridge etc. My only issue was that the fridge was stocked full with quite expensive drinks (a can of soft drink was $5 I think - in the US that's really quite expensive!) which left no room if you wanted to bring your own water/drinks. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a higher floor and had an incredible view!! Loved it!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Ok, using my husband's Triple A Card I was able to get a single King size room for $170. When I arrived for my one day trip to enjoy a couple of Broadway Plays, the young man at the desk was kind to upgrade my room without me requesting it. He moved me from the 3rd floor to the 33rd floor. OMG! I had a splendid view of the Hudson River. There were slippers and a robe available. The lotion, soap and shampoos were lush and fancy. And my Lord, the Todd English Restaurant was wonderful. My favorite item on the menu was the irish cream coffe ice cream with chocolate syrup. I suggest this hotel especially if you are going to visit Broadway or Time Square. Every Broadway venue is in walking distance.
I've stayed at the Intercontinental in Chicago but because of my room with a view, the NYC stay was best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade if possible. The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank TruthBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 471 in New York City
1,322 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#186 of 471 in New York City
2,865 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 471 in New York City
7,459 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#115 of 471 in New York City
7,116 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#200 of 471 in New York City
9,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $197 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, HotelPower, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing