We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“InterContinental Times Square - Second Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #172 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“InterContinental Times Square - Second Stay”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here for the second time in November 2011 and we were not as impressed. We had a double room on the 23rd floor, a free upgrade. The upgrade is nice, but it's only a higher floor, nothing else. The room was the same, good design, but a little bit worn down. Housekeeping was not stellar, missed a few things. What really ruined the stay this time was the service. We had to wait a while after the stated check-in time, even though we arrived early to drop off our luggage, which was especially inconvenient because my son was feeling ill. There was a Platinum member welcome amenity, but it was smaller than last year, probably due to budget cuts. When we were checking out, the receptionist, LaToya, I believe, was incredibly rude to us. We had some extra charges from the mini bar that we certainly didn't use and we asked her to remove them. At this point, she implied that it was our own faults and that we had done something wrong and that we didn't know how to use an automatic minibar. This exit rubbed us the wrong way, as did the fact that we stood for maybe ten minutes at the bellhop stand before anyone asked us if we wanted our luggage. The location of the hotel is okay, eighth ave is a little seedy, but the subway is right there. The beds got new sheets since our last stay, and they weren't as comfortable, I noticed. The staff here needs an improvement to be the luxury hotel they want to be.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAD_ORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,672
    1,687
    521
    172
    118
See reviews for
1,584
1,678
236
845
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
long island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Top hotel. Just stayed there 1/20/2012. Very clean, excellent location ( saw rock of ages ). Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms beautiful. $200 bucks a night an excellent value this close to Times Square and such a beautiful hotel. Highly reccommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth wa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We were travelling with our 2 sons & stayed for 9 nights over Christmas & New Year, which was a very exciting time to be in NYC. We found the hotel to be modern, clean & classy ! I requested a higher floor & received an upgrade due to being an Ambassador Member.
I was surprised upon arriving at the hotel that we weren't assisted with our bags by the bellman, we had to carry all our bags through the reception by ourselves & after travelling all day, we were exhausted. Then when we completed check-in, we were asked if we needed help with our bags, whereas I would have expected this to be automatic rather than an option. This was the only minor issue we had, everything else was fine.
The location is awesome, just enough distance from Times Square to get away from it all, if you need a break. Right next door to Shake Shack, which our kids loved !! A short walk from the Hudson River too, in the opposite direction to Times Square.
The staff were very professional, the room was cleaned on time every day & the room was beautiful! Amazing views !!
There was also great communication with us prior to our stay by the hotel, which I really appreciated. We will definitely stay here again !!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidayforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the IC for two nights, January 12 to 14. We had a room with two beds and upon arrival I requested a room on a higher floor and was immediately and very pleasantly upgraded. Service in general was excellent and staff were very accommodating and helpful in answering our many questions. The room was beautifully decorated in earth tones which made it very warm and pleasant. My only criticism is that the cost of internet in the room was over-inflated at $12.95 per day, a rather prohibitive cost for the amount of time I actually used it. All-in-all, for the time of the year (and I suspect the rates jump in higher seasons), we got very good value for the money and we would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are lovely and very, very quiet. We stayed in 3324.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed here while taking a seminar and I loved it. The location was convenient and times square was just a few minutes walk away. The hotel is modern and looks great. The room had a great view of New York and the bed was very comfortable. The room size was also very nice. New appliances, the bathroom was clean and elegant. The staff was attentive, friendly and helpful. Overall, the place provided a fresh, exciting, innovative feeling-love that.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DVE64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed here at the beginning of January with 3 other girlfriends. We initially booked a room on one of the lower floors but were sent to the 20th floor upon check-in. The room is small, like others have mentioned, but that is to be expected in NYC. If it had only been 2 of us, the room would likely have been a pretty standard size. The bathroom was pretty big which was REALLY nice with 4 girls. :-) And the place was very clean! We had a view of the river, which was nice too! There is no bathtub in the standard room but the rainshower is great! We called down several times for extra towels and K-cups and were always accommodated quickly. Our safe wasn't working one morning and security came up to open it for us.
The decor was very modern both in the room and in the lobby. The hotel was very quiet and there were only like 10 rooms max per floor, which was nice. I liked that the hotel wasn't ridiculously big like others that I've stayed at in NYC.
Now for the MAIN reason you should pick this hotel: the LOCATION! First of all, there is a Shake Shack underneath the hotel (you have to walk outside to access it) and Shake Shack is amazing. We ate there twice - first and last stop in NYC. Second, you're SO CLOSE to the subway. The subway entrance provides access to the E, A, C, S, 1, 2, 3, N, Q, and R (and maybe the 7?). Some of these are a bit of a walk (like a couple of blocks) but it's nice to walk underground via the subway passageway if it's too chilly out. The A, C, and E are right at the hotel so no walk is necessary for these lines. I cannot tell you how convenient it was to basically jump on any subway line directly from our hotel (the only lines requiring a transfer for us were the 4, 5, and 6 which we picked up at Grand Central Station via the S). Third, you're really in the middle of everything but without the constant chaos that is Times Square. We were steps from many of the Broadway theatres. I will 100% stay here again as it's nicer than other hotels I've been at in NYC (and I've even stayed in a NYC "suite" at another known chain hotel).
My only complaint would be for better signage in the elevator area as not all of the elevators go to the 20th floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Was on the 33rd floor, corner room so I had an insane view with windows on 2 sides. Ask to be placed as high as possible. I heard the rooms are smaller but it was perfect. The bed was so comfy I didn't want to fall asleep :)

Staff were all very nice.

Right beside times square.

Room Tip: Go high! Ask for a corner unit if you can. Better view ( a view actually )
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thecrossler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 466 in New York City
919 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#178 of 466 in New York City
2,295 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#264 of 466 in New York City
4,210 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 466 in New York City
6,695 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 466 in New York City
9,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing