We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #44 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Okatie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary Weekend”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We normally stay at the Marriott Marquis when we travel to NY. Out of many trips over the past 10 years we decided to try a new hotel for our Anniversary. I researched Trip Advisor and found The Chatwal.

Positives:
- Off the beaten path (noise), but a minute walk to Broadway and all the shops, restaurants and theater district. We walked and never moved our car and never needed a cab. Went to Mary Poppins and Addams Family with dinner at The Lambs Club (in The Chatwal) and AJ Maxwells.
- Feels like home in the midst of a busy impersonal city.
- Extremely clean and I looked. No finger prints, not dust, no hairs, no trash, paper, etc. Everything was perfect. The housekeeping staff deserves big kudo's.
- Lance asked us for the purpose of our visit and while out to lunch flowers were delivered to our room from the Operations Director Mr. Petkovic. Although the flowers today are now a week old, they still look beautiful. This was unexpected and just an example of their service.
- My husband likes early morning coffee. Lance offered to bring up a coffee system. This was delivered quickly. My husband didn't end up using it because the bed was so comfortable he slept past his normal wake-up time so we just went to The Lambs Club for breakfast. We appreciate the extra effort to satisfy my husband's coffee fix, but were pleasantly surprised how quiet the room was which allowed for a long peaceful sleep.
- Turndown service was very nice as well.
- The upscale technical amenities were very nice, but see more details about that below. Our favorites were the TV in the bathroom, the heated toliet seat, and the quick room entry (just wave your key card in front of your door).
- A surprise was the exercise facility, swimming pool and spa. Who knew such a lovely small hotel would have these amenities.

Could be better:
- The technology was confusing and often didn't work. Example: The remote for the bathroom TV is switched. The volume control is the channel changer and the channel changer is the volume control. We had one lamp that we could get to turn off. We pressed every button possible and it never shut off so we had to use towels to untwist very hot light bulbs. We did not report the issue because these were minor inconveniences.
- The standard room was very small and my husband and I are not big people. I wish the bathroom shower was a tad smaller and the vanity a tad larger. The sink face takes up the majority of the vanity area which makes it difficult to have any tolietries or hair dryer on the vanity. The vanity was "open" so we had to put stuff on the floor to get ready because there is no place to put anything.
- The toliet is automated with a lot of fancy attachments. Our favorite was the heated seat. However, the toliet area is narrow and the toliet seat very low. For tall people, your knees are in your chest trying to use the toliet.
- The room had a backgrammon board. We use to love to play backgammon so we decided to take the game to the upstairs bar area and play a few games before our show. Unfortunately, we forgot how to play and there were no instructions in the game. Luckily my husband had his smartphone so we could look up the instructions; however, it would have been nice for a laminated instruction card to have been included with the game for those of us who haven't played in a while.

Key pointers:
- Reserve with breakfast included. Breakfast is very good at The Lambs Club, but expensive in comparison. If you reserve the room take the breakfast option. It is well worth it.
- Reserve early if you want a dinner at The Lambs Club. They take reservations 30 days in advance. The meal was reasonably priced for NY. In fact our dinner at AJ Maxwells was $30 more and not any better. Drinking is expensive in NY, so we decided to only drink one of the two nights because a bottle of wine was $80 and it wasn't anything special. A glass was way to expensive so the bottle is a better value, but the wine menu has very few options under $50 a bottle. We aren't cheap people and live in DC area so expensive doesn't scare us off; however, we did think the drink menu for the bar associated with The Lambs Club was over priced. I think they could increase their bar revenue if their prices were more reasonable. We would have endulged more had the pricing been more reasonable.
- Valet parking is $60 a day and $60 every time you want to move the car. However, the garage that your car is parked in is right next to the hotel and is 1/2 the price. If you don't need valet parking or luggage help from the car, just self park and save the money.
- Don't reserve a balcony room. We didn't and I was so glad. Unless you like bird poop on your head, don't waste your money. The internal balcony rooms are bird infested and look out on to nothing - old building windows and window air conditioning units.
- For those familiar with NY, this hotel is across from the Millenium Hotel. When walking on Broadway when you see The Millenium - turn and The Chatwal is across the street.
- If you like Virgils BBQ, it is next door as well as a Subway and a small market. There is also a drug store on 6th Ave in the opposite direction from Broadway.
- You can walk everywhere. Don't waste your money on taxis.

You will not be disappointed. Try The Chatwal.

Thanks to everyone at The Chatwal for making our anniversary weekend very nice and special.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConnieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    170
    64
    28
    24
See reviews for
186
533
61
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Wow is the only word I can think of. We arrived at the hotel in a complete state because of resoning what we were going to do first with my friends. Then as soon as we were first greeted by this divine acomplishment wow was the only word that any of us could say! Would I recommend this Hotel to a friend? Yes with a capital Y. I cannot begin to tell you all what a fabulos Hotel this really is, they have everything, everything! And being me myself I have been to many fine, fine luxurious hotels but this Hotel tops them all, I seriously cannot think of anything this Hotel does not include, what a luxurious stay, and may i say thankyou to all of the staff and everyone who had taken their time to please people like us (laughs) as we are not merely pleased, but have been obliged to have stayed at this fabulous Hotel, thankyou and muchas gracias Xxx

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxury082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed at the Chatwal for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The setting oozes glamour and our room was spacious, comfortable but also hi-tech and equipped with everything you need, you can even borrow laptops and ask your private butler to iron your shirts. The staff also understand the importance of attention to detail and it is this and the service on offer that set this hotel apart as a truly fantastic hotel. The staff are amazing, so accommodating and helpful and we felt it was really important to them that we were looked after at all times. We would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a completely hedonistic trip to New York, a real treat.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pstevo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

My wife and I were fortunate enough to discover this great hotel when we stayed there for four nights earlier this month.
If you are looking for a glitzy five star hotel from one of the international chains then this hotel isn't for you.
If, however, you enjoy staying at top quality, boutique style hotels where the staff treat you like a real person, then The Chatwal is perfect.
The Chatwal is ideally located less than half a block from Time Square. Notwithstanding this, it is located on a very quiet street. The hotel is surrounded by some very nice casual and reasonably priced restaurants. Everything else in Manhattan is a short cab ride away.
I can't recommend this hotel more highly whether you are traveling for business or having a romantic trip away with your partner.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brizzietraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2011

From the moment we were greeted in the lobby , Oscar made us feel special. Because we made our reservations through our Virtuoso travel agent I think, we were upgraded to a junior suite; it was amazing.We were delighted. to feel so pampered. We have stayed in some lovely places over the past few years.This is right up there with the best! First, I must mention the staff.Helpful doesn't do them justice-from housekeeping, the front desk, the concieirge.-each person was not only helpful,they went the extra mile. For example, we met a movie star in the lobby & were invited to join them for tea; I asked the person at the front desk later what movies they were in & a they printed a list of their movies. It made it fun for us the next day that we were knowledgeable when we met again. We spent 4 days at The Chatwal. The decor was wonderful. I loved the area in the room that opened up with lights for putting on make-up. I never have enough light. The bed I was told is very special-really comfortable. Concidering that we were in NYC, we never heard a sound from the street; we were on the 4th floor. The bathroom was a real treat- the shower was large enough for a party. It was defiinitely a shower! The bathroom had a television in the mirror-very nice & unexpected.. We chose after the first day to have breakfast in our room so that we didn't have to rush to the Lamb's Club. I loved the presentation of the yogurt/granola; the small pastries were wonderful.My husband enjoyed the Irish oatmeal. We eat vegetarian & we had lots to choose from.We did not have any dinners there, but I heard many other guests rave about the dinner & lunches. In fact, I met a woman in the lobby after we had checked out who had flown in from Michigan for lunch, because of an article she had read in People magazine! Amazing. The location of this hotel was perfect for our needs, as we wanted to be near the theaters. Did I mention the hotel limo that dropped us at our shows? If it is available ,the driver was ready to go. Over all our experience was lovely. We would hope to return some time in the spring. Sue & Kal Fine

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I had a great experience at Chatwal. The small suite was perfect in every detail. The staff was efficent, curtious and helpful. Lost something in the hotel bar. The staff found it the next day, wallet intact, and kindly returned it by overnight mail. I have found it difficult to locate hotels in New York that I really like but I really like the Chatal in every way.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhmlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Chatwal Hotel for 4 nights at the beginning ok December.
The hotel is a good surprise, the staff very gentle and in a perfect location for those who want to stay near everything. We had a kind discount and we stayed at the producer suite, a spacious room with a marvellous terrace.
The only deception was the breakfast. We had it at the hotel restaurant-bar and we couldn’t believe in the huge difference of the service. Waiters were not in a good mood, constant delays on bringing the food and little attention to the client’s needs. What a bad way to start the day and what a pity for such a lovely hotel. The Chatwal deserves better and definitely must have to change this!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#70 of 468 in New York City
1,831 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#57 of 468 in New York City
3,158 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#124 of 468 in New York City
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,430 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#32 of 468 in New York City
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Starwood, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelPower, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing