We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #43 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I took my niece to New York as a college graduation gift. We went to see Broadway shows and the Chatwal was in the perfect location--walking distance to all the theaters and the subway in Times Square. All the staff was friendly and helpful starting from when we arrived at 2AM to holding our bags after we checked out but before we left for the airport four days later. The room was lovely and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor in the back and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vlb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    164
    60
    27
    23
See reviews for
178
512
59
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is an amazing hotel! Positioned close to the hubub of Times Square...literally yards away...this place is a haven of tranquility. It is a stylish building, with equally stylish rooms and bathrooms. The quality of the fixtures and fittings is beyond reproach, and the whole place is extremely comfortable. The food in the restaurant is of equally high quality, and the breakfasts have to be seen (Eaten??) to be believed! The staff in the hotel are always willing to go the extra yard to ensure the comfort of guests...in our case we were particularly impressed with the concierge, Juan, and the Director of Butler Services, Brandon Short.
The ability of this hotel to provide us with a quiet, comfortable, and stylish place to call home during our stay in New York City has really enhanced our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKH245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We appreciate you taking a moment to share your thoughtful review of your recent stay. It was a delight to read all of your positive words about your visit, from our luxurious guest rooms to the fabulous service from our staff. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to Juan, Brandon, and the whole team. If we may be of service on your next New York visit, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manger
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Wonderful location - extremely close to Times Square. The staff is extremely accommodating, especially Brandon Short (butler). The room decor was quite trendy and the shower was amazing. Only wished the room had been ready earlier than the 4:00 check-in time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind review of your recent stay. We're glad to hear that you found everything so enjoyable, and we'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Brandon! We do apologize that you were not able to check in earlier. As a future reference, guests are always welcome to call ahead and request an earlier check in time; we're happy to make accommodations whenever possible. We certainly hope you'll keep us in mind on your next visit to New York.

Sincerely,
Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was a most disappointing experience. That said, I will say that the staff are all very friendly and do their utmost...to an extent. The hotel now has a policy that they put a hold on $200/day to cover incidentals. This tripped my fraud control on my VISA account, which was shut down, and it took an hour to resolve it. I have never been to a hotel where they anticipate you are going to spend money on incidentals and therefore prepare for that. I guess they have gotten burned, but it cost me a lot of time and grief.

The bathtub drain did not work, the shower was quite inferior; among other things there is no shower door so water gets all over the floor. The sink was bizarre, it has a ledge and the water spattered all over (I'm sure it was supposed to look modern and hip, but it did not function well) and there was no counter space.

This is considered a luxury hotel and was expensive. I chose it because my girlfriend (platonic) and I were going to celebrate many years of friendship, and we needed a two-bedded room in the heart of the theater district. The location was fabulous.

But I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Ms. H.,

Thank you for your review and for starting out on such a kind note. Our staff is out biggest asset and I am proud that they handled your concerns in such professional and caring fashion.

Please know that the policy of authorizing a certain amount of funds on your credit card to allow for charges to your room is absolutely customary in domestic luxury hotels and certainly standard in all full service hotels in New York City. What is unusual is that this authorization (similar to when renting a car), triggered a fraud alert by your bank. We were quick to assist in resolving this matter and even connected your bank representative to you to clarify the technical aspect of this authorization. For the vast majority of our guests this common authorization, which is released upon departure if not used, goes mostly unnoticed.

With that said we are very sorry that this tainted your stay so much.

Thank you also for your feedback about certain design aspects of our bathrooms. Being created by famed architect Thierry Despont – there may have been an occasional deviation from “form follows function”.

We hope there will be an opportunity for us to impress on another visit to New York City. I have emailed you directly and look forward to being able to speak to you personally.

With best regards

AXEL FISCHER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Haven't had such a good feeling about a hotel in a long time. The amount and detail of personal attention was impressive. We felt so well taken care of. We staued in two connected doors with our 3 children and will certainly be back soon. If anybody has doubts about a stay here with small children I can only recommend to reconsider.

Room Tip: Our rooms were excellent, but without view at all. Next time we would require some sort of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

This lovely boutique Hotel is located just steps away from Times Square, but once you step inside the hustle and bustle soon fades away. The staff is excellent, pleasant and helpful; everyone from the front door to the bar/dining area to the concierge staff and front desk! Everyone truly tries to make you feel special as a guest there. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the bathrooms are what set it apart from all the rest. Exceptional fixtures and shower make the bathroom a delight. If I had one thing to complain about, it would be the bed - just too firm for my taste, but others may find it comfortable. I wish they had Heavenly Beds! Overall we had a fantastic stay at the Chatwal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmiller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience, and it is fantastic to hear that is was an enjoyable visit. As you mentioned, The Chatwal is a luxurious escape in the heart of Midtown, intimate yet dynamic in its design. We are thrilled that you found the service to be excellent and your accommodations delightful -- it's a true treatment to the sophistication and glamor of this five-star hotel. Thank you for raising your concerns regarding our beds, and we will keep this in mind moving forward in our never-ending pursuit of perfection. It was a pleasure to host you at The Chatwal, and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

After this experience, we will never stay any place else. We had booked a room with king bed, etc., but upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite with separate sitting room and two bathrooms. What's not to like?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing